We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank heaven for The Peech”
Review of The Peech Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Peech Hotel
Ranked #3 of 68 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level Contributor
103 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Thank heaven for The Peech”
Reviewed 29 April 2010

We were stranded at this hotel for 9 nights as a result of the volcanic ash fiasco in Europe. Thanks heaven our travel agent found us this place! The attentive nature of the ever so helpful staff (everyone) turned nightmare into, in more normal circumstances, a pleasure. The hotel is clean, safe and comfortable and is convenient for Sandton, Rosebank and Melrose Arch amenities and in season the Wanderers Cricket ground. The in house bistro was of a high quality and reasonably priced and nothing was too much trouble for the team there. We were befriended by the hotel cat (Peeches) and had we stayed any longer I think we would have been given staff badges Thanks to everyone there and congrats to owner, James Peech, who runs a hotel which is deservedly a nominee for best boutique hotel in SA - it's got our vote!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GREENSEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesPeech, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2010
Thank you so much for your review. I appreciate you taking the time to write about us and am glad you had a good stay (and finally got home ok!) Kind regards, James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    108
    12
    8
    1
See reviews for
99
291
39
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2010

Sadly after reading such glowing reports of the hotel we were encouraged to stay at the hotel in mid April for one night whilst passing through Jo'burg on our honeymoon. We wish we hadn't for it left a very bad impression after staying at so many other hotels in Southern African that were so friendly and the staff welcoming.

Whilst the room was beautiful and the overal look of the hotel very appealing, the service was less so. Why did we receive such a cold response from when we arrived to when we left? We didn't know what we had done to receive such rude service to the point that when we left we said "Goodbye" and didn't even get a response. It was 6.30am so it wasn't like there were other guests to distract the front of house team.

Trying to rationalise what we did wrong here perhaps it was because the night before I asked the front desk staff to book us a taxi to the airport the next morning. Thought this was all clear until the next morning when we went to catch the 'taxi' that I found out they had booked their own transport that would have cost 450 rand (versus the 310 rand taxi trip it cost us during peak travel time the day prior). I explained I asked for a taxi and not transport and I received much huffing and sighing from the staff member. After a thousand apologies from me for causing confusion from me, I was left wondering was it really all my fault that this confusion had happened? they made me feel very very very bad for this.

Otherwise perhaps was it because we took up the discounted rate - dinner included package (we were offered by the hotel) that we received such rude service? No one was friendly when we arrived - it was a silent transaction through to trying to claim our free dinner at night.

Sorry nice hotel and lovely eco credentials, but you made us feel very unwelcome. You ruined an otherwise flawless level of service at the other Sth African hotels we stayed at.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AW00dward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesPeech, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2010
Dear Amy, I am absolutely horrified that you had such a bad experience here at the hotel. Please accept my biggest apologies.
You were totally within your right to order your own cab and I apologise for the confusion there - I was not aware that cabs from the street cost R310 but we will certainly look into who we use for our hotel transfers as they charge us the rate of R450.
I am much more disturbed to read about your experience of our service as the mistake around the cab was a mis-understanding but the way it was handled was totally unacceptable. We pride ourselves on our service and normally fare very well (from the previous five star reviews). I have watched what happened that morning and know who was involved and we will deal with it appropriately and put some (much needed) additional training in for the two staff members involved.
Please accept our apologies and I will email you separately to discuss some compensation.
Kind regards, James Peech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, ON
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2010

Stayed at this hotel during an overnight in Joburg at the tail end of my trip. One of the best hotelling experiences I have had anywhere, let alone South Africa. Any traveller will appreciate their personal approach to service satisfaction. The hotel staff were extremely accommodating to my needs, no matter what the request. I also loved the ambiance of the hotel, and the rooms were well appointed.

Congratulations Peech! I will be telling everyone I know to make a point of dropping in on their travels through Johanessburg.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beachtoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesPeech, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2010
Thank you so much for your feedback. I am delighted you enjoyed the hotel and will make sure all the team know. Kind regards, James Peech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bothell, WA, USA
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2010

We traveled to South Africa and Namiba last summer to see our son off as he embarked upon a lengthy study abroad program. From the moment we arrived (with a horrifying amount of baggage that would be needed for the extended study program stay) we were treated as if we were treasured guests. The staff and owner knew what we needed before we did, assisted us in finding just the right activities to enjoy Johannesburg with limited time, and even provided us with tools when our son's wheelchair required some TLC.

The food was wonderful and the staff friendly and extremely helpful. While we ate meals away from the hotel, we soon found that we preferred to eat on site in the relaxing and inviting dining room and patio. We also enjoyed the kitty in the lobby - again making us feel like we were at home in a foreign land. While Africa was a true adventure and we had many memorable experiences, we fondly think of the Peech as a highlight right up there with the other sights, sounds, culture and wildlife.

The Stones

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesPeech, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2010
Thank you so much for your review. The team here will be delighted you had such a good stay and I will be sure to let them all know. Kind regards, James Peech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Normandy, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2010

After a long flight from Europe and before taking off for an extended holiday we were looking for a place that eased us into Africa - this was it! A well managed hotel. We arrived before the normal check-in time (I had mentioned this when booking) and there was a room ready for us. The Bistro was in the process of being remodelled so we ate lunch by the pool - no hardship there!

When booking we had asked the hotel to arrange for an afternoon tour of Soweto with a guide. This worked well - the driver was very good and knowledgeable about the area.

The room was spacious and well designed. There were all the ameneties including Ipod docking station, tea & coffee faciliities and good quality toiletries. The staff were excellent and very happy to help. We will certainlly use the hotel again when using Jo'burg airport.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grand_Quality_Hound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesPeech, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2010
Thank you for your comments. I will pass them on to the team who will be delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards, James Peech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watamu, Kenya
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2010

I travel to Joburg a lot and I have stayed in many different hotels and the Peech is one of my favourites. Its small enough so the service is great. Having breakfast in the garden on a sunny day is a real treat and the rooms are stylish and large and best of all free WIFI at good connection speeds.

I am also very impressed with the hotel's restaurant - very good menu and we've entertained clients here who have been impressed. Overall the Peech offers a stylish stay at very good value. Well done James and the team!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globalsafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesPeech, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2010
Thank you so much for your feed-back. The team here will be thrilled to know you enjoy the hotel (as am I!). Kind regards, James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2010

I wanted to stay in a ecological hotel. That's true, the Peech try to be a green example. Solar thermal Energy on the roof, some compact fluorescent lamp (CFL), no fridge in the room, no plastic bottle for spring water, no lift... but do those ecomical and ecological are enough ?
I notced electrical heating in my bathroom, the airconditonner is still here but most of time it is not necessary.
Execpt my question about the green status. I enjoyed. The place is quiet, peaceful. Only few customers and 16 rooms. Don't expect to swing in the pool; it's only for picture (around 12 square feet)
The team is very refined and sweet. The Peech is a little bit expensive for a green experience in South Africa and rate are close to European levels.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philippev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesPeech, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2010
Thank you for your review and comments. We take all comments to heart and always aim to improve with the feedback from our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
2.0 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 68 in Johannesburg
714 reviews
1.2 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 68 in Johannesburg
391 reviews
2.9 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 68 in Johannesburg
577 reviews
0.6 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#9 of 68 in Johannesburg
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peech Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peech Hotel

Property: The Peech Hotel
Address: 61 North Street | Melrose, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#2 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#2 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#3 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Peech Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the suburb of Melrose, a short stroll from the hustle and bustle of the city, The Peech is an eco-chic boutique hotel with sixteen bedrooms spread across a lush garden and a bistro restaurant. The hotel blends an awareness for the environment and the community with chic surroundings, fresh food and smart design. It has been described as "Contemporary, edgy and Afrocentric" by Conde Nast Traveller and nominated as South Africa's Leading Boutique Hotel for the last five consecutive years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Peech Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peech Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing