We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant overnight stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shumba Valley Lodge
Ranked #52 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Brilliant overnight stay!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I had the pleasure of spending a night at this venue for a conference and and get together. I was super impressed with all aspects of the venue. Staff were pretty exceptional and the food was great! Bottom line is we (our company) had a really great time. Rooms were well appointed, albeit that not much sleep was had! A special mention must go to Natalie, who personally ran me to the airport at no cost, after finding myself a tad stranded, with my colleagues still snoring their heads off! I highly recommend, especially for the conference type venue, corporates, etc... Thank You!

Room Tip: The property is quite expansive, so if a little stroll is not your cup of tea, I suggest that you as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    9
    24
    11
    3
See reviews for
5
15
2
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I was at Shumba last week for a conference with my bank. We really enjoyed everything. Food is good and staff is very friendly. I will be back again and next time I want to take my family because it is also the perfect weekend get away.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wouterv1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Venue & Location : Easy to find (via road), and accommodating in terms of group size.
Staff : So helpful and very friendly.
Meals : Food was good and even did a braai for the group and they cater for all dietary requirements.
Conference : Very accommodating and assist with all our requirements (even on short notice)
Grounds : Very clean and neat
Rooms : Impressed with the size and equipped with all the necessities
Already had 2 conferences at Shumba Valley this year (2014) and planning our next conference with them.

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FunctionCoordinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Shumba is a gem not far from JHB and also very much in range of Pretoria. I took my family there for a weekend and we really had a good time. Friendly staff, good food and nice spacious rooms. Everything was well arranged and with conference facilities on site I will really consider using them for our next conference. Well done to everybody at Shumba.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clint Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Locust Grove, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Spent 2 nights at this venue and the phone never worked. Was supposed to get wake up calls but never did. Reported it but issue never got resolved. The shower glass was not sealed with no warning signs. Luckily, I happened to touch it, lightly, before I got in the shower and realized that it was not sealed, an accident waiting to happen. Water always flooded the floor. Air conditioner worked sometimes. Front desk staff was not very friendly, need more training. Not enough variety in the food. Some food items appeared to be leftovers.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vera J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SVL2013, General Manager at Shumba Valley Lodge, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Vera J

Thank you for your feedback.

We appreciate the feedback that you have sent to us and will be working on rectifying and training the staff to alleviate these problems from happening again.

The Shumba Valley Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accra, Ghana
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Quite a nice venue, Jerry in particular was most helpful.
We were there for 3 days, the food was recycled too often with little change in the menu. The food ran out at the dinner buffet. Breakfast can't be guaranteed as that also ran out more than once.
The bar was not well stocked, 3 nights in a row, ran out of all the beers despite out requests and recommendations as to what the group favoured. One would expect better value and product for the prices one paid at the bar and restaurant.
Very disappointed, we shall not be back.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank DorianZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SVL2013, General Manager at Shumba Valley Lodge, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Dorian ZZ

I would like to thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your stay with us.

My sincere apologies for your stay not being what you expected. I am most perturbed by the problems that you experienced and will take these matters up with my respective management HOD's.

Your review is appreciated and thank you for letting us know where we can improve our service to our clients.


Your in hospitality
Paulo and the Shumba Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Johannesburg hotels

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Just came back from a stay at Shumba Lodge. I was very impressed with the level of service, the hospitality and the room. We stayed in one of the private suites with private pool and it was beautiful, so serene and quite, it was amazing! It was incredible that it was so quite, we were thoroughly relaxed. All the staff from the reservations team( especially Patricia & Thembi) to the waiters in the restaurant were all friendly and really efficient, true African hospitality at it's best! The private suite was lovely, we felt really spoilt! It was really good value for money and I will definitely go back anytime I need a break away.

Room Tip: Choose the private suite with private pool, really worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee-Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SVL2013, General Manager at Shumba Valley Lodge, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Lee-Ann

Thank you for your wonderful response.

It is always a pleasure getting positive feedback and that you have highlighted Patricia, Thembi and the restaurant staff as being exceptional in preforming their duties.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Paulo and the Shumba Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
2.8 mi away
Zulu Nyala Country Manor
Zulu Nyala Country Manor
#1 of 1 in Chartwell
175 reviews
6.4 mi away
Avianto
Avianto
#2 of 5 in Muldersdrift
212 reviews
5.3 mi away
Riverbend Country House
Riverbend Country House
#40 of 66 in Johannesburg
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Lanseria Country Estate
Lanseria Country Estate
#1 of 1 in Lanseria
98 reviews
12.9 mi away
The Venue Country Hotel
The Venue Country Hotel
#3 of 3 in Hartbeespoort
13 reviews
20.1 mi away
Kassaboera Lodge
Kassaboera Lodge
#1 of 1 in Schoemansville
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shumba Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shumba Valley Lodge

Property: Shumba Valley Lodge
Address: R511, Malibongwe Drive Extension | Lanseria, Johannesburg 1748, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Shumba Valley Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shumba Valley Hotel Lodge is ideally located for conference, leisure and business travellers who seek the tranquillity of the countryside, whilst being within easy distance from both Johannesburg and Pretoria. Shumba Valley Lodge is situated in Lanseria, one of Johannesburg's the northern suburbs. It is the ideal accommodation and conference venue for businesses in the northern Johannesburg suburbs of Sandton, Fourways, Lone Hill and Randburg. It is equally conveniently placed for access to Roodepoort, Krugersdorp, Midrand and Pretoria; so if looking for accommodation or a conference venue in these areas consider the Shumba Valley Lodge hotel.Lanseria Airport is a mere 5 minutes drive from Shumba Valley Lodge and a 45 minute drive from Johannesburg’s OR Tambo International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shumba Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shumba Valley Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing