We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
MainStreetWalks Tours
Open today: 00:00 - 23:59
Save
Review Highlights
A great intro to the city!!

Loved this tour! Jazz (our tour guide) was excellent - he knew a lot about the city’s history as... read more

Reviewed 23 February 2019
abwolais
,
New York Mills, New York
via mobile
I loved it

so interesting. a chance to experience a truly special part of Joburg. Great guide with inside... read more

Reviewed 24 October 2018
OkinawaGuyAB
,
Tokyo, Japan
Read all 18 reviews
  
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveller rating
12
2
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
12
2
2
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 18 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

An informative walking tour beginning in Maboneng district. This 4 hour tour showed how the city is being revitalised and brought back to life. Our guide "King" Sephiwe was fantastic. He was energized and witty and obviously loved his city. Would definitely recommend this tour.

Date of experience: November 2017
1  Thank NormaT27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CuriocityHostels, General Manager at MainStreetWalks Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2018

Hi Norman,

Thanks a million for taking the time to review us!

The King will surely receive the compliments.

It is amazing to know that you had an awesome experience and gained knowledge about the City of Gold.

Happy Travels,

Yamkela Z

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017 via mobile

An excellent days outing getting to explore and experience the inner city of Johannesburg, on foot and making use of local transport.
We met our group at the vibey and impressive Curiocity backpackers lodge in Maboneng.
Our guide, Simphiwe, handled the large group with charm. He introduced us to the exciting, inspiring sides of the city of our birth. We were impressed with the efforts in regeneration and the energy of the visionaries behind the turnaround. Jozi is indeed a remarkable place of history, art, humanity, beauty and dire poverty.
I would recommend this outing to anyone spending time in Jozi, whether living here or just visiting, you owe it to yourselves to experience it all.
Thanks King Phiwe, you were great!

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank Peglegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CuriocityHostels, General Manager at MainStreetWalks Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2018

Hi there,

Thanks a million for the fabulous review.

Wonderful to know that you had a fabulous time.

Happy Travels,

Yamkela Z

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

Johannesburg has a reputation for lawlessness and doubtless most tourists to SA never consider walking the streets of the CBD. Main Street Walks offers a fun and engaging tour of a city in gradual transition. We walked from the new developer driven gentrified Maboneng to the grand old Anglo American offices at the other end of the city. Simpiwe is a terrific guide, full of interesting anecdotes and a very positive philosophy on the grittiness of life in his home town. Sadly we couldn't get the view from the Carlton Tower as the power was out!! Highly recommended - never once did I feel unsafe.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Lindsay v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CuriocityHostels, General Manager at MainStreetWalks Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to give us such an amazing review.

I am so glad that you had a opportunity to see our beautiful Joburg from a different view.
I will be sure to pass on the compliments to Phiwe.

Happy Travels

Yamkela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017

We also did the Inner City Walking Tour on 7/21 and thought it was a great way to get to know parts of the city in a short amount of time. So interesting to learn about the development of Maboneng, and learn a few greeting phrases when going to the healer's market. Our guide was obviously well read and intent on connecting with the participants.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank estigon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CuriocityHostels, General Manager at MainStreetWalks Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Hi there,

This is an awesome review. Thank you for taking to review us!

Its so amazing knowing that not only did you enjoy the trip but you gained more knowledge about our thriving and beautiful city.

Hope you hold on to those greeting phrases so that you may make use of them on your next trip to Jozi.

Yamkela Z

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

We did the Inner City tour. We had an absolutely brilliant day exploring the city and seeing how Johannesburg is becoming rejuvenated and modernised. It totally changed my perception of Johannesburg. We had an absolute legend of a tour guide ("King") and he planned out a great itinerary. Highly recommended.

NB It seems that Mainstreetwalks (recommended by Lonely Planet) is now organised by Curiocity Backpackers, so I'd recommend checking out their reviews too if you're interested. This entry doesn't have many reviews and they're mostly negative, which I don't think at all represents the fantastic experience we had.

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank Catherine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CuriocityHostels, General Manager at MainStreetWalks Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Hi there,

Thanks a million for this absolutely amazing review. It is much appreciated.
Tour do not run with Curiocity Hostels.

I am so glad that not only was the tour fun it was also an eye opener that allowed you to change your perspective of our beautiful city!

I will be sure to pass the compliments on to King.

I hope the rest of your travels were amazing. Apologies for the delayed response.

Regards
Yamkela Z

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews