We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Saffron Guest House
Ranked #35 of 296 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for just one night. Friendly welcome in a very nice decorated and clean room. Location is good, next to a couple of restaurants - we ate in Lucky Bean; good food - and bars. Breakfast in cafe on 100 meters was very good - omelettes, fresh fruit, etc. Also on just a short driving distance to several attractions - Apartheidsmuseum, FNB stadium, Gold Reef City. Parking was private, though a little small, so not always enough space. Wi-fi and tv worked well. Only minor was the cold, despite the heater and the electric blanket. Overall very comfortable for a stay in Johannesburg/Melville.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jordy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    29
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
25
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I stayed 6 nights at Saffron and would do it again. Calm and safe place. Very nice and helpful staff (Emily is great) and a delicious breakfast.
At my arrival the wifi didn't work. The owner fixed it immediately and it worked from that on.
Perfect place to stay and explore Joburg.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lars F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2014

2 of us stayed at Saffron in separate rooms. We were both very pleased with the cleanliness of the rooms and the very helpful friendly staff. When returning to Johannesburg I would not look anywhere else to stay as this is perfect. The breakfast at the close cafe included in the price was also very good.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a covered outside courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngieSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

My wife and I were visiting from the USA and had the opportunity to stay at this wonderful place. We thoroughly enjoyed the accommodations and the breakfast. A convenient place to make as a home base as you explore Johannesburg. Hosts were awesome.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

My stay in Johannesburg was made am absolute pleasure staying in Saffron guest house, the room was nicely appointed and had everything I needed. Breakfast was brilliant and staff were extremely helpful. Would stay there again happily.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freemeadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East London
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

7th Street in Melville is always a place to be at, so what a pleasure to fund Saffron with big size room, kitchens facilities and just good service all round, the parking arrangements were a big tricky but manageable. Lovely we pot, breakfast organized at the Cafe up the road.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liyabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abidjan
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

There are not many rooms here but the place is well kept. They have suites with kitchen facilities. For the price, a family can stay and be happy. I love the decoration and the lights of the rooms.

There is a guy called Yannick 'Nick", who works there. He speaks French

Room Tip: There are no telephones in the rooms. So make sure everything in the rooms works right after you che...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NnennaWestAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.0 mi away
84 on Fourth Guest House
84 on Fourth Guest House
#4 of 296 in Johannesburg
153 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ginnegaap Guesthouse
Ginnegaap Guesthouse
#14 of 296 in Johannesburg
222 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sleepy Gecko Guesthouse
Sleepy Gecko Guesthouse
#62 of 296 in Johannesburg
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Arum Place Guest House
Arum Place Guest House
#2 of 296 in Johannesburg
197 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Melville Turret Guest House
The Melville Turret Guest House
#48 of 296 in Johannesburg
57 reviews
0.1 mi away
Agterplaas B&B
Agterplaas B&B
#1 of 115 in Johannesburg
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saffron Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saffron Guest House

Property: Saffron Guest House
Address: Cnr of 7th 5th Street | Melville, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 296 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Saffron Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saffron Guest House is centrally located in the heart of trendy Melville, close to SABC, Media 24 and the University of Johannesburg. The guest house is on Melville’s vibrant 7th street, which boasts a variety of top restaurants, cocktail lounges, galleries, boutiques, bookstores and coffee shops.Saffron Guest House is close to the main highways and centres of Johannesburg, the closest being Rosebank, Parkhurst and Greenside, as well as many of the city’s tourist attractions, including the Apartheid Museum, Constitutional Court and the Nelson Mandela Bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Saffron Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing