We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT ECLECTIC ATMOSPHERE”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Arts on Main

Arts on Main
Ranked #12 of 171 things to do in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
137 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“GREAT ECLECTIC ATMOSPHERE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Definitely a place to spend some time! From the food to the art galleries, Ethiopian coffee, micro brewers and designer things. The wall outside with the map of Africa and option to add comments, is cute, enjoyed immensely

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    90
    22
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great place to spend a day!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

This is a wonderful place to spend a day or half a day! I was invited by friends to visit this market. I was not intusiastic when I was told that we will spend a day in a market. I could not imagine what we will be doing there for a day. Anyway, before that visit I did not see myself as a market person but as I love my friends I decided to accept the invitation. Now I am glad that I went... What a fantastic experience and a wonderful day with friends!!! I enjoyed the market very much, had lunch there and walked the streets. Oh! I also amateurishly we played drums. If you are a tourist and scared of Johannesburg city, this is definitely a place not to miss!!! It is safe, friendly and fun!!! You will meet people from all over the world, different nationalities and cultures!!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aloysie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“JHB centre night entertainment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Parking is a bit of a nightmare.

I had a great time at the restaurant and having a good look around all the stalls. Its so nice to see the whole community pitching in to make a great place to visit. From a place that was generally not a good idea to visit at night it has become a centre attraction.

we will definitely be back!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Slick3349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A Wedding at Arts On Main”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We went to a wedding on Arts on Main last year - it was amazing. The look and feel was very trendy and worked very well for a large function. The food was great and well presented and the huge 'hall' was beautifully decorated. This was definitely a wedding with a difference. The look and feel of the buildings and atmosphere was great. We had safe parking and could walk down the street with no worries.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ulla33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Much ado about nothing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Arts on Main is another expensive and pretentious tourist trap...it does not offer anything original. The restaurants and cafes are overpriced and service is extremely poor and the shops are unreasonably priced. The same items can be bought at a much cheaper pricer elsewhere. Security is a problem and there is not much to the "arts"...not worth a visit

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Monadevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Arts on Main also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Arts on Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing