We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful venue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Valverde Country Hotel
Ranked #23 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a wonderful venue”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

My husband and I have had many a wonderful dinner at the Fat Olive and wonderful, lazy weekend brunches in the gorgeous Valverde gardens. I would highly recommend Valverde for any corporate, intimate family or wedding functions. The staff are extremely friendly and hospitable and the food is amazing. Well done to all involved!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    39
    7
    6
    9
See reviews for
37
77
5
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Our wedding was held at Valverde on 26 August 2012.

We booked, paid our deposit and then Blessing got in touch with us to make all the arrangements. Blessing really was a Blessing to us :)

We had hardly any stress while planning our wedding. We were invited to food tastings, to tours of the venue, we even qualified for one of their specials which enabled some of our guests to spend the night there free of cost.

On one of our trips to the venue, I think it was to taste the food, I left my car's headlights on, needless to say when I returned to the car my battery had died. One of the security guards there helped to push my car, hoping that it would start and when that didn't help he found another battery for me so that we could get my car going.

Their staff go above and beyond to try and accomodate you. This was also proven by one of the waiters who made it his proirity to keep tabs on myself and my husband all evening to make sure that we had food and drinks.

One of the things I thought the guests would have something to say about was the food (you know you always have one or two guests that have something negative to say). All of our guests commented that the food was wonderful, the venue was gorgeous and the decor was amazing.

I am so happy with my wedding experience at Valverde and to anyone thinking of creating their own wedding memories, I recommend it highly!

Jet Campbell

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Had an absolute awesome time with family and friends for our wedding and we going back for
Our anniversary. People that attended the wedding still rave about the place whenever we see them :)
Would def recommend with no hesitation. Everything is professional and is done with good business ethics. Place is very tranquil, convenient and the food is Devine :) staff is pleasant to deal with

M Ngobeni

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Legowa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
1 review
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Our son got married there in July 2013. The service was excellent! Beautiful venue! I defnitely have to mention the excellent food! A large group of the guests stayed over and we were very impressed with the rooms. It was quite cold so we were happy that there were electrical blankets on the beds. I will only recommend that you do not host team building with youngsters who were running around the garden the same time that the wedding took place in the garden. We gladly recommend the venue.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Magda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Having recently spent the night at the beautiful Valverde Country Hotel, I can highly recommend it to anyone wanting restful stay out in the country. It is also a perfect venue for those wanting to overnight close to Lanseria Airport.

The staff are ultra friendly and efficient, and the rooms clean and comfy. The food is also very good, and the chef most obliging!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My wife and I spent a few days at Valverde. The staff was helpful and friendly, and we enjoyed the attention we got in every detail. The food was excellent and plentiful. Our bedroom was immaculate and spacious. The gardens are stunning. We took lots of pictures. The location is ideal - very close to Lanseria, but tranquil and in the countryside. We would definitely come back here and recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sdu-ecr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Our wedding was held at Valverde on 20 April 2013, and it poured with rain the previous day as well as the morning of 20th. Pam and Barbara went out of their way to make our wedding day special and set up the Rose Room which I must confess turned out to be a better alternative. The guest were very impressed with the beautiful venue and friendly staff. The food was excellent and will highly recomment them.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Desiree D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
4.4 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
4.6 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#21 of 66 in Johannesburg
399 reviews
6.6 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 66 in Johannesburg
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Riverbend Country House
Riverbend Country House
#41 of 66 in Johannesburg
24 reviews
4.6 mi away
Premiere Classe Suites
Premiere Classe Suites
#30 of 66 in Johannesburg
169 reviews
10.0 mi away
Thaba Eco Hotel
Thaba Eco Hotel
#11 of 66 in Johannesburg
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valverde Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valverde Country Hotel

Property: Valverde Country Hotel
Address: Plot 5 Lammermoor | Beyers Naude Ext, Johannesburg 1748, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Valverde Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valverde is a unique eco hotel near Lanseria offering weddings, conferences, functions and accommodation in 25 country-style rooms. The personal touch and treatment that our customers receive makes Valverde a truly distinctive choice. We are very proud of being one of the most eco friendly hotels in the country. who are we? Wedding venue, conference centre, function venue, country hotel, country restaurant and spa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Valverde Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing