We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Beautiful Valverde”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Valverde Country Hotel
Ranked #22 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2014

A home away from home. I enjoy having meetings with clients in a peaceful enviroment and the spa treatments are great.
Definitely not to be missed, i would recommend Valverde for your next celebration.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Candace888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

An amazing venue and an awesome experience. The whole concept behind the business is exceptional because you can see the full aquaponic centre in action. A fantastic place to see going green in action and I would absolutely recommend Valverde Country Hotel to escape the hustle and bustle of city life. A serene setting with a great vibe and friendly staff.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank MarisaDS_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Valverde is our go-to place almost every weekend. We have tried many places in the area and always end up returning to Valverde. The outside dining area, which is surrounded by gardens, is a great place to grab a meal. Set facing away from the road and complimented with fantastic food - I highly recommend Valverde for a weekend getaway

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cjgrsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

About Valverde and what works:

We booked Valverde for a night with friends , we both have 2 kids under 7 .
As working parents we wanted a change of scenery and it was much anticipated and needed.
It is very close to home , just 5 minutes from Lanseria airport.
The rooms are old but spacious , high ceilinged thatch ,and the 2 extra single beds fit in really well, they don’t look cramped at all.
The four poster main beds are huge and the linens of good quality.
They made sure there were enough towels.
The gardens are lovely and their green initiatives laudable, solar geysers , aquaponic gardens , waste recycling..
The little wishing well in a sea of lavender must have been used for many a photo opportunity ,and the chapel and marquis looked lovely , I think weddings here will be great.
They are truly kid -friendly and nobody minded the children playing all over the property, and riding their bikes, we truly appreciated this.
They set tables on the lawn and dining in the day is al fresco. Very lovely in the beautiful winter sunshine.
Memory who served us when we arrived was very good and as it was Father's Day they gave the Dad's a very good quality glass of cognac.
They have a kids play area.
I see the bikers and cyclists also like Valverde as they were out in force on Sunday.
They have an active , interactive facebook page and the owners seem very involved and responsive
They are well priced.
The baby sitter Princess was on time and took charge , we felt comfortable leaving the children in our room with her.

What really must be addressed: Food and Beverage/ Staff

I was at pains when I booked to ask if the children’s dinner could be included ,and Ruth confirmed in writing that we had pre-paid dinner for all 8 of us.
I went down at 18h30 to confirm what time dinner opened ,and to see what we could order for the children.
You can imagine how surprised I was when the waitress advised that nobody knew we had kids with us !( the 4 single beds added to our rack rate and in our rooms belie that fact , not to mention that we had been in residence since 13h00 )
They don’t have a children’s menu at all.
In fairness a staff member came up to our room to see how we could try make kids meals of what was on a la carte, but in the end the 4 ate very little.
Also important to note that when we did all go down, the 8 of us, no table had been set for us , even though they must now have been aware of our being in house.
I had also sent a booking request on facebook, and with Ruth on email to set a table of 8.
The service in Salsa Verde was quite worrying.
The barman watched us when we took our seats and then went to the kitchen to chat to the staff , I had to coax him out and back to the bar to get drinks.
It became clear why ,very nervous , not sure what drinks are what and how to make them , we helped him: “that’s Gin , that’s Cinzano etc. “
An attempt to order wine was abandoned.
Once we had settled the children with the sitter, we came to eat the second course and we noticed that the other diners spent time at the till when they wanted to leave.
We discovered why when we left at 21h15.
The barman and waitress have to recapture the order from the manual order book onto the point of sale system , this takes a long time between the two of them, and once again , we went to help , “ click there , that Cinzano , yes Rosso “
The barman also does not know how to use a spirit optic , to let it fill again before dispensing the next tot.
No management on site at all , not one person spoke to us or appeared to be supervising.
This came as a surprise as other reviews speak of a highly engaged management and owner team?
We then thought that maybe there had been a big function the day before ,and the A team were on rest break , to try and explain how the staff behaved.
The theme continued at breakfast today , though because it was self-service we could feed the kids at least who were ravenous from the night before.
Apart from having to alert them the hot milk was finished ,and clear my own plates it was a nice breakfast.
The staff stand in huddles and talk a lot , when I approached them at the bar to fill my son’s water bottle it was done with great reluctance.
Such a pity , we were really rooting for Valverde but after making excuses for them , we came home as soon as we could.
For the first time ever ,I felt I wasted money on a night away.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Faye J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KinoMalaga, Owner at Valverde Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Faye

thanks again for taking the time to write your review, it is greatly appreciated as it is the only way to improve our service.

First of all, what happened with the service at the restaurant is shocking.

The Salsa verde restaurant was closed as they had worked non stop since Wednesday so we decided to ask Mike our second head chef to do the meal. Obviously those waiters and waitresses that worked that shift are not the right ones. A more experience waiter was suppose to be there but he didn't pitch as he was sick and that's where all our troubles started.

I will address this today with all relevant parties to make sure it does never happen again.

regards

JP Valverde

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stumbled upon Valverde by ‘chance’ when we needed a place to overnight close to Johannesburg. This charming establishment provides a cosy, hide-away close to Lanseria airport, but off the busy highways in rural Gauteng. If you perhaps sense a hint of Mediterranean Europe or could imagine that this former farming community once was caught up in the Anglo-Boer War, you will be fascinated by Valverde’s history.
The air of peaceful tranquillity about the place during midweek is best experienced when strolling through the well-tended gardens. Yet it belies the energy that drives Valverde with its many facilities and the owners’ unique passion to run it in an eco-friendly way. We found the owners and staff exceptionally friendly and helpful. The rooms are very spacious, tidy and clean and provided virtually all we needed. The restaurant, although not open every day (closed on Mondays and Tuesdays except for breakfast), offers real value for money, be it breakfast or dinner. The meals were well prepared and delicious, with generous portions. If they are fully booked, they are most helpful to arrange a similar deal for you with some of their neighbours with whom they have a good relationship. We have been back and will come back again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phala_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

They have such friendly staff... excellent service and their restaurant serves the most AMAZING FOOD ♥♥♥ especially their burgers!
Beautiful venue and not too far from home. Will definitely come back soon and recommend this place to anyone trying to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city life. #SoSerene

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Roslind F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

the plus is it is close to Lanseria with a free transfer but next time send a vehicle that has been washed and vacuumed...it was disgusting ....or charge a nominal fee for clean vehicle and roadworthy vehicle.
from then on it was not good and hugely unfortunate that the functions at this venue are not more considerately planned...and they had 3 functions on simultaneously at one point!
we had a drumming session at the same time as there was a wedding...how impactful on the wedding party to have the noise of drums intrude on their most special of days. Next day even worse, a wedding with loud music that thumped through till the early hours of the morning was held so close to a block of the rooms that every delegate who had the misfortune to have a room on that side never got any sleep. Then at just after day break the music boomed out again, this time it was a cycle event!
The staff were kind and helpful but the food was very average. Full marks to the receptionist. (Ruth?) ... she was warm, friendly, helpful, kind and hugely efficient....Valverde you have a star in this lady....but I wouldn't come back

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
20.1 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
20.3 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#26 of 66 in Johannesburg
422 reviews
19.2 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 66 in Johannesburg
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Riverbend Country House
Riverbend Country House
#43 of 66 in Johannesburg
24 reviews
25.6 mi away
Thaba Eco Hotel
Thaba Eco Hotel
#8 of 66 in Johannesburg
274 reviews
16.8 mi away
Premiere Classe Suites
Premiere Classe Suites
#29 of 66 in Johannesburg
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valverde Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valverde Country Hotel

Address: Plot 5 Lammermoor | Beyers Naude Ext, Johannesburg 1748, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range: £44 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Valverde Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valverde is a unique eco hotel near Lanseria offering weddings, conferences, functions and accommodation in 25 country-style rooms. The personal touch and treatment that our customers receive makes Valverde a truly distinctive choice. We are very proud of being one of the most eco friendly hotels in the country. who are we? Wedding venue, conference centre, function venue, country hotel, country restaurant and spa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Valverde Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing