We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice guest house in great Melville location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Space Guest House
Ranked #187 of 291 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Very nice guest house in great Melville location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2011

This place was very good. It is right on 5th in Melville (which is a street full of bars, bookstores, restaurants, etc), one of the really nice safe bohemian districts in JBurg. There are two buildings (one each side of 5th ave). The properties are fenced and locked (usual in JBurg). My suite had a separate bedroom and bathroom, and also a living room with sofa, TV, and a mini kitchenette thing with microwave, plates, sink, cutlery etc. Furniture was nice, stylish, everything was very clean. Staff were great, friendly, very obliging, obviously without the polish of a major hotel, but then this isn't Sandton...

Airport pickup was on time and efficient, internet worked well.

My suite was set in a very pretty garden compound. Very peaceful, shady.

Breakfast could have been better. It is served in a french cafe at the end of the block. I ordered an omlette. I didn't finish it because it wasn't that great...It was just OK but kind of was a let down after all the other stuff...

Melville was fun, as always.
I

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markie_Mark115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    13
    2
    0
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
16
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buford, Georgia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2011

The Space Guest House is in an excellent neighborhood in Joburg.
It is very secure. At no time did I worry about security.
We stayed in a suite which was very spacious, had a nice kitchenette with cutlery, fridge, and microwave. The bed was great, very cozy and comfortable.
Breakfast is available at a near by French cafe which was very good. I would for sure make sure you include breakfast in your stay.
The 3 disappointing things were
1. Had to pay for wireless internet
2. Was a little pricey
3. Far from the airport
Mellville is very hip and trendy. There are numerous great restaurants and night clubs located within walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2010

The Space House was great, roomy apartment style accommodation right on 7th St which was a great, safe street. Ruby was helpful and Melville and the Space House exceeded all our expectations. Breakfast was excellent too!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Waz_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2010

I was amazed at the quality of this place. It's clean, very modern and perfect for all travellers. Melville is a safe part of the city and very convenient for the city centre.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toffeeman1878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogotá, Colombia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2010

I've stayed here twice and it's been very nice. The Internet is fast (especially for Johannesburg standards) and rooms are perfectly clean and new, plus the people at service are very nice. Just once there was some noise in the property next door (some concert of some kind) but the rest was great. Plus there are all these very nice restaurants nearby which make the stay so nice. Additional to that, you have a great breakfast at the cafe next door which is included in the room rate.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlosfpardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mt. orab, ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2010

If your looking for a place to unwind away fom the airport this is for you. We have lovely and roomy accomadations including a kitchenette with microwave and refrigerator.
I would recommend arranging transportation from the airport to their place which they are glad to do. We didn't and ended up paying $80.00 .
The Space Guest house is in an artsy neighborhood which you can walk around in with no problem. Ask if anyone knows Nino, an owner of some of the places around there. , quite a character!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marygrace4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2010

I have no complaints.The reception was welcoming and check-in efficient. Room modern and spacious with large bathroom and walk-in shower. The security is good and we felt safe at all times. There is enough space within the hotel compound for parking 2 cars. Breakfast was at the Illy cafe 2mins walk away.
Along the main road are plenty of bars and restaurants- would recommend The Loft for a nice evening meal. Thankfully, inside hotel not noisy at all.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoneySmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Agterplaas B&B
Agterplaas B&B
#1 of 98 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.0 mi away
84 on Fourth Guest House
84 on Fourth Guest House
#5 of 291 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.0 mi away
12 Stars Lifestyle Apartments
12 Stars Lifestyle Apartments
#35 of 98 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lucky Bean Guesthouse
Lucky Bean Guesthouse
#3 of 291 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thulani Lodge
Thulani Lodge
#169 of 291 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.0 mi away
Saffron Guest House
Saffron Guest House
#28 of 291 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Space Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Space Guest House

Property: The Space Guest House
Address: 93 4th Avenue | Melville, Johannesburg 2192, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #187 of 291 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Space Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Space Guest House is centrally located in the heart of trendy Melville, close to SABC, Media 24 and the University of Johannesburg. The guest house is on Melville’s vibrant main road which boasts a variety of top restaurants, cocktail lounges, galleries, boutiques, bookstores and coffee shops.The Space Guest House is also close to the main highways and centres of Johannesburg, the closest being Rosebank, Parkhurst and Greenside, as well as many of the city’s tourist attractions, including the Apartheid Museum, Constitutional Court and the Nelson Mandela Bridge.Modern, stylish and contemporary bedrooms have private entrances and many comforts, including shared satellite TV and bar fridge. Full breakfasts are served. Other facilities include ADSL Internet access in each room, laundry and airport transfers and arranging of tours.Safe and secure parking is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Space Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing