We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Curiocity Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

One of my favorite backpackers in SA. Staff make you feel like family right away. Nice space to chill or party if you're so inclined.Clean dorms. Also an excellent opportunity to learn about joburg and the urban regeneration that's going on. It will definitely add something to your SA adventure. Don't miss it!

Ps. Let me know when you guys come to Oslo!

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Per W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bheki D, Owner at Curiocity Backpackers, responded to this review, 17 October 2014
Good Morning

Thank you for staying with us and for such a great review. Will definitely let you know when we are in Oslo. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    45
    12
    4
    5
See reviews for
7
26
81
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

This pocket of downtown Johannesburg has an incredible vibe, and Curiosity is the perfect base from which to explore it! The owner Bheki grew up in the area, knows all it's nooks and crannies, and makes a huge effort to keep the neighbourhood inclusive and integrated even as it gentrifies, which is awesome. Will definitely be back next time I'm in town!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annajhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bheki D, Owner at Curiocity Backpackers, responded to this review, 17 October 2014
Good Morning

Thank you for staying with us and for engaging in diverse subjects in wanting to understand Johannesburg. The city is changing and completely redefining itself for the better. Look forward in hosting you again. light
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester, england
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Great hostel in maboneng in joburg. Friendly and helpful staff, really secure and great value. The rooms were clean and spacious, we had a four bed dorm for three and the beds were really comfy. Lots if hot water and clean showers. Book the Soweto tour with Tebo.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank bethnunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bheki D, Owner at Curiocity Backpackers, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Good Morning

Thank you for the review. Really happy that you got to do the Soweto tour and engage with the Johannesburg landscape.
Looking forward to hosting you again, when you are in Johannesburg..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

My family were looking for sights in Johannesburg. I read a review of these walking tours in the New York Times. Our tour was set at a time and date to suit us. It was inexpensive and private. The tour guide was informative, fun and clearly passionate about the city and regeneration. We saw a side to Johannesburg that we would never experienced including 'local' taxis, Carlton Tower and sights around the central district on foot. For a real insight into Joburg these tours are to be thoroughly recommended. Five stars!!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JBJB79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bheki D, Owner at Curiocity Backpackers, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Good Morning

Thank you for such a positive review and being able to engage with Joburg at its grass root level. You inspire us to create more inspirational adventures.
Looking forward to hosting you again in Johannesburg...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

I am from the US and wanted to visit Joburg during my trip. I was a bit skeptical about staying at this backpackers because I though the neighborhood would be unsafe. When I arrived, I was relieved that the neighborhood attracted a lot of tourists and there were security everywhere to safeguard the WHOLE neighborhood! It was great! The hostel was clean and the owner was super nice! All the employees were extremely pleasant and helpful during my trip. I also met awesome people there. They had a music show at the place the second night I was there and it was fantastic!! I will recommend this place to friends and stay there again next time I am in Joburgh.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bheki D, Owner at Curiocity Backpackers, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Good Morning

Thank you for such a positive review.
We are glad that you stayed with us, and and got to engage with Joburg as is. The city has gone through major positive growth and we are happy that you got to witness the new light that illuminates out of Joburg. Looking forward to hosting you and your friends soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

If you're traveling through Joburg and want a more authentic of the city, think about checking out Curiocity. Great location, great people and always something to do. Located in a very safe, happening part of Johannesburg, you will enjoy your time here and don't need to worry about taking long meter taxi rides all over the place to be where you want to be.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brandonbgomez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
djoekebes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

I visited Curiocity Backpackers in April this year and had the best time ever! I wasn’t planning on staying in Joburg for a long time, but Curiocity changed my mind. I ended up staying more than four weeks.. Besides being a very clean, funky and modern hostel, it’s also a place where travellers and local people come together. The staff is very helpful and personal. You don’t feel like you’re just passing through.
There is always something to do in or around Curiocity. Maboneng, the area where Curiocity is located is a very lively, creative area with a lot of restaurants, shops and galleries. Curiocity itself organizes many activities like pub crawls, city tours and awesome gigs of poets, musicians, dancers or others artists. There is no time to be bored!
I would recommend everyone to spend at least one night at Curiocity and give Joburg a chance. I bet you will have a pleasant surprise!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djoekebes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
1.5 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
1.3 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#27 of 68 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
2.9 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 68 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 68 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
9.3 mi away
Lebo's Soweto Backpackers
Lebo's Soweto Backpackers
#3 of 98 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Curiocity Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Curiocity Backpackers

Property: Curiocity Backpackers
Address: 302 Fox Street | Maboneng, Johannesburg 2094, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 98 Speciality Lodging in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Curiocity Backpackers 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Developed for curious urbanites from all over the world looking to experience Johannesburg hidden treasures, Curiocity invites you to explore an undiscovered world in the heart of one of Johannesburg's oldest suburbs. Situated in the vibrant cultural neighbourhood; Maboneng. Curiocity not only offers you a guided experience through Johannesburg's inner city, but also offers you the opportunity to experience Johannesburg like a local with direct access to the people and happenings of the community. Located in walking distance from a number of independent eateries, quirky retail and entertainment hotspots, you'll never be short of things to do during your stay. From underground hangouts to Africa's tallest building, the best of urban Johannesburg lies at our doorstep waiting to be discovered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Curiocity Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing