We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“affordable and clean”
Review of SUN1 Southgate

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Johannesburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
SUN1 Southgate
Ranked #44 of 67 Hotels in Johannesburg
Reviewed 30 January 2013

nice place for a short stay, small, smart and clean toilet. aircons working perfectly, simply breakfast, and lots n lots of shopping therapy across the road. absolutely fab. would recommend anyone who wants to enjoy shopping in southgate.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Puso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2012

Me and my wife was booked at the F1 for about 2 weeks every day we re booked ,till it just had to be for one silly idiot that said why are we staying so long try d to make fun of us in front of his frnd .the next day We try d to book told us they were fully booked so we had to make another plan.while we were waiting for our transport about 3 people walked in and booked on the spot I asked one of them did they book in advance replied no it was the 1st time coming there ,so why were we turned down after wasting all that money at the formula 1 in south gate. Ill call it racist but thanx to a guy called Lucky I will let every 1 no in south africa What service you guys give . My tell 0732982559

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Weza11in
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

It is an idea place for short stay, after the indaba 2012, we moved to this hotel for 2 nights stay.
it is neat and clean.everything in the hotel is unique except that it is small.it is not ideal for long stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank battravelsIlorin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Excellent hotel for the money you give. Opt Formula 1 Hotel for a short stay, very good for travellers, Small, clean well maintained rooms and toilet. Good friendly staff and located at heart of city. Very cheap for the facility offered. Most I liked is the ecofriendly lighting system which looks advanced and works/looks very good.

Room Tip: Looking for value for money, then take this
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank review121180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2011

We moved to this place for two nights after a horrible bed bug experience at a place nearby. The rooms were a little small, but very cute, though the sink was across the room from the bathroom. There was no door to the shower, and our bathroom door must have not been completely sealed, because water got all over the floor in front of the bathroom. Everybody was very nice and very accommodating to us, even though we were a group of 20 booking last minute. Breakfast was always kept stocked even with other guests coming in and out as well.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wlf07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2010

My two sons and I stayed at this hotel in July and again in August. Both times were for 1 night as we caught connecting flights the next morning. The room was small but we only needed a place to stay so for 399 ZAR it was great value. The additional cost breakfast was OK, but .. there was a lot of sugary foodstuffs. However, the breakfast certainly carried us along to the airport better than THREE empty stomachs would have.

The rooms was clean with enough soap and towels for the 3 of us. Cramped, but good. I would stay there again as the 2 different experiences staying there were both good :-)

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tmac100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2009

Formula 1 in Southgate is very well located near Johannesburg's major international airport. The rooms are really small although they do accommodate up to three people, but the small space has been so diligently used that you hardly notice it! The room I stayed in was clean, and well air conditioned, but what I really liked about the place was how technologically advanced it is compared to most motels. Light switches are conveniently placed just above the bed's head board and with a simple touch or two you can moderate how dim or bright you want your room to be. The taps are also "techy" and you don't have to turn on any light at the sink. The light switches on automatically eveytime you approach the sink!
I enjoyed my time there, but I found the price (five hundred and something rands at the time) to be slightly hefty. Especially since breakfast wasn't included. If it weren't for the faulty coffee machine, and the lack of breakfast (they were under renuvations at the time), and the not-so-affordable price, I'd give it a 5/5.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank WanderlustVillager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
2.2 mi away
Road Lodge Southgate
Road Lodge Southgate
#43 of 67 in Johannesburg
17 reviews
7.4 mi away
SUN1 Berea
SUN1 Berea
#34 of 67 in Johannesburg
18 reviews
15.9 mi away
AirportInn & Suites Isando
AirportInn & Suites Isando
#35 of 67 in Johannesburg
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#10 of 67 in Johannesburg
357 reviews
4.1 mi away
Palm Continental Hotel - Johannesburg
22.3 mi away
Mercure Johannesburg Midrand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUN1 Southgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUN1 Southgate

Address: Cnr Colombine and Rifle Range Street | Southgate, Johannesburg 2111, South Africa (Formerly Formula 1 Johannesburg Southgate)
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 67 Hotels in Johannesburg
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SUN1 Southgate hotel provides comfortable accommodation close to Soccer City that can accommodate up to 3 guests sharing, all at affordable rates that are hard to beat in Southgate, Johannesburg. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Formula 1 Johannesburg Southgate Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing