We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great location, really friendly hosts”

JeanJean Guesthouse & Conference Centre
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Johannesburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
JeanJean Guesthouse & Conference Centre
Ranked #182 of 300 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 May 2013

My wife and I were really happy with our stay at the JeanJean Guesthouse. Our suite was really well-appointed, with heaps of space, and a sunny balcony. The house-keeping was immaculate, and the breakfasts were also extremely good -- plenty of food and coffee, and they cooked especially for my vegan diet. Also, they drove us around to restaurants, shops and sights, and nothing was too much too ask of them. We loved it. Mark & Linda, Sydney, Australia.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (17)
There are newer reviews for JeanJean Guesthouse & Conference Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 17 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2012

We have stayed at JeanJean Guesthouse for two December holidays in a row now and the service is better at each stay. JeanJean is truely a great place for great value

The staff are very friendly and go out of their way to make you feel at home. The food is exceptionally good and the rooms are the best!

Excellent Jean and thank you Anton for all the extra cups of coffee at breakfast! We will see you again soon!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great with stunning views, but the suites are a little more spacious!
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2010

As one of the organisers for the `South African national chess championship event, I booked accommodation for 24 people for a 10 day stay during December 2010. The members of our group were very disappointed with our stay for a number of reasons.

1. We booked for dinners along with the initial booking, one of the reasons why we chose to stay at this particular guesthouse, but was told the day before we arrived, that they will not serve us dinner.
2. When `i requested to add guests to the booking, `i was told by Dr Jean that she is not prepared to add or make changes to the booking.
3. There are not enough parking available on the premises for all the rooms and cars had to park three in a row as a result one had to request other guests to remove their cars to be able to get out.
4.Some families had children (7years old) who wanted to stay near the parents, were accommodated in another house despite the specific request to put the families together, which Dr Jean promised to do when we made the booking.
5. The one room couldn't lock, this was never fixed during our stay although we did mention it.
6. The first day there was not enough breakfast for all. We had watery scrambled eggs for four days in a row, diluted fruit juice and different flavours of yoghurt mixed together. When we complained about the eggs, we were then served fried eggs for the next few days, which were dry and tasteless because it were kept warm on hot tray.
8. On complaining about damp bedding we were told to open the windows upon which we then requested to either change the bedding for dry ones or to be moved to another room. This request, however was denied although there were rooms which were unoccupied. She then did change the bedding.

Although we stayed at a discounted rate as a group, I personally feel that this is not the way any guest should be treated regardless the discounted rate. All the members of the group experienced this guesthouse as a hostile place with a host who does not care enough about her guest's needs. As a result, the entire group moved out to another guesthouse after seven days, although our initial booking was for ten days.

Except for the inadequate parking space, all other problems could have been sorted out, had the host been more accommodating, understanding and friendly. After this experience, I, as events organiser for the South African national chess championships, will certainly not recommend this particular guesthouse to any other person.

The rooms are all beautifully decorated with everything a guest may need. But our experience with the service and our treatment by the host made us feel unwelcome.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Judyrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2008

We stayed at the Jean Jean Guesthouse in May of last year. Everything about the stay exceeded our expectations. The food, the service, the beds, the quality of the linens were all top notch.
located in melville, it is one of the few places in Jo'burg that you can walk to and from restaurants. Jean is an excellent host and will make you dinner if you don't want to go out. I highly recommend staying here

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank cherylsewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
2.3 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
6.8 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 66 in Johannesburg
331 reviews
12.8 mi away
AirportInn & Suites Isando
AirportInn & Suites Isando
#43 of 66 in Johannesburg
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Motel Mi Pi CHi
Motel Mi Pi CHi
#14 of 66 in Johannesburg
240 reviews
3.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
3.6 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#27 of 66 in Johannesburg
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JeanJean Guesthouse & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JeanJean Guesthouse & Conference Centre

Address: 2 Winchester Street | Melville, Johannesburg 2092, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #182 of 300 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range: £44 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JeanJean makes a statement of modern, classical excellence, combined with personalized attention to detail - a home away from home. Our luxury 5 star guesthouse is ideally suited to satisfy the most discerning business and leasure traveler. All our rooms are air conditioned, with en-suite bathrooms (shower & bath), quality furniture & bed linnen, a mini bar, satelite television, ADSL, Wi-Fi, workstations, radio, tea/coffee making facilities. Secure parking. Conference facilities. Dinner by arrangement. Private wine selection. Special venues: cocktail parties, ladies' breakfasts, etc. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing