We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad service and average food.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Piatto Cresta

Piatto Cresta
Ranked #924 of 1,185 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
219 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Bad service and average food.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

Went here over a year back and was very disappointed. The food was very average but the service has disgusting! The staff seemed to have an attitude problem and it out a damper on the whole evening. Needless to say, we haven't been back since.

Helpful?
Thank Kirsten Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    10
    9
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Poor service, rude owners, disgusting food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

The owner had a table near us, proceeded to ask to see a waiter that arrived late for her shift and promptly fired her, with a raised voice and in the public eye. When I complained that the food didn't taste fresh and tasted funny, the manager came over and said the food comes from head office...yuk frozen from head office! Over priced, bad service and no respect to customers. This is the third incident I have had at this so called restaurant. Never going there again.

Helpful?
Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Poor service, limited food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012

Went for dinner on a Wednesday, early December. Place about half full. Our first choice menu options from previous visits were no longer available and we battled to find alternatives. My Castle Lite came in a Stella Artois glass. We ordered salad starters and main course. About an hour later our mains arrived. We declined these and asked for our salads. These came evenutally (with an apology), then when we were half way through the starters the mains arrived again! My pasta was unremarkable and the chicken on my wife's kebab looked like it had been cut from the chicken with an axe - huge ragged chunks of chicken meat!

At this stage we cut our losses, paid our bill and left. Will cross this off the list for future outings.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PhilipWhitfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg , South Africa
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

Not to busy - actually a bit too slow . Food is good - service acceptable. Not a great atmosphere but ok if you need to just eat something in the mall.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bathawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

This is my "go to" restaurant in Cresta. They have great cocktails and generous portions of food. If its a nice day, you can sit outside and for cooler evenings the inside seats / booths are great. I had a birthday party in one of their private rooms a little while ago and it was stunning.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank LaChelle_2304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Piatto Cresta also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Piatto Cresta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing