We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to unwind after shopping ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Walnut Grove

Walnut Grove
Ranked #34 of 1,172 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: An exciting new eating concept in the heart of Sandton City. Come and dine under the shade of our family tree and one of Africa's largest chandeliers.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place to unwind after shopping ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Walnut Grove is my absolute favorite place to grab a coffee after an afternoon of shopping. Last night I decided to try out something to eat on the menu! The house white wine is pretty decent and the wraps are really good too. Waiters are friendly and the venue also has free WiFi

Helpful?
3 Thank CandiAdrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElleAth, Owner at Walnut Grove, responded to this review, 14 October 2014
Thank you for writing such a lovely review. We are pleased to hear that you are happy with our waiters and the free wi-fi we offer in store. We look forward to having you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    112
    25
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Management, great service the place to be.!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Great cakes, superb atmosphere, excellent coffee, food is served in the most exceptional way with eye blowing designs...
Management is of top level, staff are fast and adequate always willing to attend to needs and customer requirements not many places like this around well done to guys, thank you to my waiter Roy and the Manager Andreas You made my wife and i extremely happy enough to say you are our favorite restaurant.!

Helpful?
3 Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElleAth, Owner at Walnut Grove, responded to this review, 14 October 2014
Thanks so much for writing us such a positive review. Reading this to our staff helps push our commitment to good customer experience forward. I hope you will be visiting us again soon. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandton
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“FOOD POISONING FROM STINKY OLD RICE”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We used to be regulars at Walnut Grove, but with their literally bad food and don't-care attitude regarding customer complaints, we will NEVER eat there again and we will be sure to tell everyone we know to stay away.

We were a party of 4 and waited over 40 minutes for our food to arrive even though it was a quiet evening. When the food finally arrived, we thought the rice that came with 3 of the dishes smelt a little off but thought perhaps that was how it was seasoned to taste and ate our meals.

That evening those of us who had rice got food poisoning so there is nothing else to conclude except that the rice was really off like we had suspected.

We were passing by the restaurant two days later and went to complain about the incident but they did not take responsibility. THEY JUST DON'T CARE!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Marvin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElleAth, Owner at Walnut Grove, responded to this review, 2 October 2014
While we are grateful you have taken the time to write a review for us we do believe that this review is fraudulent. We are currently under a full investigation as no-one could back up your claim of poisoned rice. We had a number of guests that day eat the rice without any complaints. The owners and managers do not recall anyone coming to the restaurant to complain about the rice.

We will be contacting Tripadvisor about this complaint.

Regards
Team Walnut Grove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A nice place for a coffee chat”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

I was here with my colleague for a peaceful ambience to discuss work,work and only work. Though I did have some initial problem connecting to the free wifi.Everything else seem to be very well organised.I had a glass of hot chocolate, and it came with a freebie-yummy tiny velvet cupcake. I love the ambience of the place.Very well done interior decor!It is located in the sandton mall, not far away from work so I believe it is a place I would always choose to go to, for quick meetings :)

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aiba12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElleAth, Owner at Walnut Grove, responded to this review, 14 October 2014
Thanks so much for your lovely review and we are so glad you liked the freebie cupcake that came with your hot drink. We hope to have you visit us again soon so that we can try push the three stars you gave us to the five stars we strive for! Thanks again and we look forward to hosting you in the future,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
156 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“The portions are humongous – Luckily its tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We’re been there a few times, and each time the portions seem to be getting bigger and bigger. There is sometimes a small cue, but they quickly arrange a seat for you which is great. The staff are friendly, never seen the management, not entirely a bad thing though.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 8mmSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Walnut Grove also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
 
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Walnut Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing