We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent concept”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
Ranked #22 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent concept”
Reviewed 12 May 2012

As a traveller from outside of Johannesburg staying in a hotel that allows me to walk to the office is one of the best ideas since sliced bread. I don't have to face traffic nor attempt to drive in city center myself.

The hotel is clean and beautiful decorated. Staff friendly and the Twist restaurant has the BEST chicken wrap I have ever had before. In my opinion this hotel is for business travellers that need to visit the corporate offices in that area. I have walked to the office now many times and did not feel unsafe once. As a business traveller has no need for evening entertainment.

Just one failure of attention to detail in the rooms: there are no electrical plug close to a mirror and as a female going to a corporate work environment that is frustrating. And with my last visit this past week the staff could not assist with a round two point plug for the hair dryer in the room. The hotel has ten of these adapters and they were all issued to rooms. Silly problem since ther rest of the setup is so classy. Not a good enough reason not to use the hotel again, but I will go better prepared next time :).

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawoelsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMapungubwe, General Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, 29 September 2014
Dear Dawoelsen,

Warmest Greetings from the Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel!

Thank you for your constructive feedback!

We are happy to confirm that we have taken your comments into account with regards to the electric points and will be making some adjustments soon in order to improve the guest experience.

I trust you made the complimenatry wifi and complimentary hotel shuttle within a 5km radius!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Wayne Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    79
    25
    11
    7
See reviews for
21
60
28
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

I was sceptic to be located in the inner city of Johannesburg. These were no go areas a couple of years ago. What a surprise to see the regeneration of the area that took place. I thought I was stuck there on a weekend after a hectic week of business in the city. How wrong I could be. Excellent food market on Saturday and Sunday. Easy to reach as the hotel offers a free shuttle to these markets. The Historical Inner City walk was a 2 hour leisure walk through the inner city on a Sunday moring just after breakfast. Well worth it!

Room Tip: Room 323 must be the best. Corner unit with double windows. Very quiet, close to the lift. Sunny in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Safari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMapungubwe, General Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, 29 September 2014
Dear Safari,

Warmest Greetings from the Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel!

Thank you for your pleasant review!

It is exciting to see all the fantastic work happening within the CBD. Johannesburg is truly a remarkable city with its culture, history and warm welcome.

When you in town again, please make sure of our tailor made CBD tours.


Kindest Regards'
Wayne Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Very centrally located in the heart of Johannesburg, this hotel is ideal for business trips. Located literally accross the street from the Anglo American head office and BHP billiton only two blocks away, it is more than suitable for secondments or meetings here.

Pop around the corner for an awesome sushi bar, and some after work drinks.
This hotel also offers a shuttle service to all major attractions and airports and is the ideal location for having year end functions and parties. Very zhoosh!

The food was great, especially the fresh omelettes they serve every morning, definitely treat yourself to that.
The dry-cleaning was the best I have ever seen and very professionally done.
The apartments are very well appointed, clean and all the finishes are still brand new.

A group of friends and I are considering staying here when the Kings of Leon tour South Africa, for their Johannesburg concert.

Enjoyed my stay tremendously!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MejMoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMapungubwe, General Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, 29 September 2014
Dear Mejmoot,

Warmest Greetings from the Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel!

We are delighted to see you enjoyed your stay and found all the hotel facilities to your satisfaction.

As you mentioned the Hotel is located near to all the large co-operations but also the trendy fashion district and various theaters.

The complimentary hotel shuttle and wifi is a must for all guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel in the near future.

Kindest Regards'
Wayne Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Stayed for two nights at The Mapungubwe on my reason trip to JHB. Very nice business hotel, nice decor. Very friendly and helpful staff. Would recommend to anyone looking to stay in JHB CBD. Reasonably priced

Room Tip: Rooms are above averages size. Lots of space
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johann k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMapungubwe, General Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, 15 January 2016
Dear Johann k

Warmest greetings from Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel!

We would like to thank you for your kind review.

We strive to deliver exceptional service at the hotel and also encourage each staff member to make every guest experience remarkable and comfortable.

When you visit the hotel again make sure to use our complimentary shuttle service to visit the new trendy Food and Craft market, The Sheds@1Fox, which is just around the corner from our hotel. This market will introduce you to a variety of food, beverages and live entertainment to keep the social vibe in the air.

My team and I are looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Wayne Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Nice Looking Hotel, but service was terrible. The front desk guy was the biggest moron on the face of the planet. He didn't know anything about the city. And we went during the World Cup and you would think they would be accomodating to tourists. Hotel is in a terrible, unsafe location. We arrived late for check in and the entire staff was sleeping, including the security guard!!! We had to wake them up

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank osubuckeye415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMapungubwe, General Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, 20 January 2016
Dear osubuckeye415

Warmest greetings from the Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel.

We would like to thank you for the review.

We would like to inform you that the past year Faircity went through a complete new face lift together with a brand new focus, Service By Design! We strive to deliver to each guest visiting our property service through excellence and a remarkable stay during their time with us.

We will be delighted to have you visit the hotel again and to improve on the experience you gained during your time with us in the past.

My team and I are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Wayne Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

First trip to Joburg! If I return I would rather stay in Sandton instead. The hotel is located in an area which does not look and feel safe at all. At night it is not recommendable to walk further than around the block. Anyway, there is not much to see in mid town Johannesburg. Nothing at all!!! The rooms are ok in size but totally outdated. The main an only restaurant is fine. Staff is friendly and service oriented. Food is OK ...nothing to rave about. I wish I had stayed in Sandton where there are much better hotels and it looks and feels different: safe, nice, clean, many more things to do and see!!! Too bad I did not choose different, nevertheless we did go to Sandton and we had a great time there although we did did not stay, we had a chance to visit some hotels and there...there is a much better story to be told. Mapumgubwe was clean and the entire staff did everything within their means to serve me well. That was about all.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vigilanteviajero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMapungubwe, General Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, 20 January 2016
Dear vigilanteviajero

Warmest greetings from the Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel! A melting pot of culture and history.

Thank you for your kind review.

We are excited to be part of the growing New Town Fashion district in Johannesburg. This part of town offers a lot of history, trendy food and craft markets, museums and a lot of other attractions for our guests to visit.

When you are at the hotel again please make sure to ask our Faircity Friend more about our special tailor made day tours we offer to give our guests the ultimate experience during their stay.

My team and I are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Wayne Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgia
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2011

We felt so welcome, from the front desk,housekeeping and specially the drivers..We loved the breakfast every day and the restaurant TWIST, WAS FANTASTIC. They also have a bar,
THE VAULT, where we enjoy great wine tastings and met wonderful people.
i would recommend this hotel to my friends and family.

Room Tip: all the rooms are like suites, with a kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ednita23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.3 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#20 of 66 in Johannesburg
394 reviews
0.6 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Newtown
City Lodge Hotel Newtown
#32 of 66 in Johannesburg
18 reviews
5.7 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 66 in Johannesburg
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Premiere Classe Suites
Premiere Classe Suites
#30 of 66 in Johannesburg
169 reviews
4.4 mi away
Valverde Country Hotel
Valverde Country Hotel
#23 of 66 in Johannesburg
191 reviews
1.6 mi away
Palm Continental Hotel - Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments

Property: Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
Address: Corner Marshall & Ferreira Street | Marshalltown, Johannesburg 2107, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4-star property is set in the Johannesburg inner city in close proximity to the business district, FNB Stadium and Ellis / Coca Cola Park. The spacious studios and apartments at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments features and African design and includes on-site parking, fitness centre, flat screen TV and a large seating areas. A 24 hour reception desk is available. The hotel features 24 hour security and CCTV cameras.A free WiFi and internet connectivity and inner city shuttle service is offered to all guests.The Marshall at Mapungubwe (on site restaurant) serves a buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner, while a variety of drinks are available at the bar.Johannesburg's OR Tambo International Airport is 24 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing