We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
Ranked #22 of 67 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stayed in Mapungubwe for 2 'stopover'-nights. We aprreciated the spacious rooms and their facilities, the friendly staff and fine restaurant. It's also a very good location to explore Johannesburg.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martens I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMapungubwe, Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Martens I,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. We are very pleased you had a great stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

157 - 163 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2013

It is a rare find to locate a hotel as splendid as this one. First of all, it is extremely stylish and well designed. The rooms are chic and spacious. The whole hotel is shines with cleanliness and the staff exemplify quality service. The buffet breakfast is a very high end with a great selection of hot and cold food. I would totally recommend this gem of a hotel to anyone looking for a first class experience for a very reasonable rate.

Room Tip: Inside rooms look over an interior courtyard and pool. Security is present in all areas of the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyle_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monique C, Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear Lyle_WA,
Thank you once again for your feedback on Tripadvisor. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the comfort and cleanliness of our rooms as well as our great food. We are looking forward to welcome you back to our hotel soon. Yours in hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Stayed there for three weeks (without the weekend).
It a nice hotel w/ very large rooms. Nice personal with good service. They are always willing to help you. The gym was ok. If you have to work in the neighborhood, this is a good choise.

Room Tip: Rooms on the inside are probably much more quite, however the view will be limited. Hotel taxi servi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kees v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMapungubwe, General Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Good afternoon Kees, V,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel. You are right in that the inward facing rooms are quieter. We also offer patio units, security conscious rooms (CCTV in the hallways) and one bed execs should you require more space for a longer stay.

Looking forward to welcome you back !

Many regards,

Carel Pienaar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We had a great weekend exploring Johannesburg with Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartmens as our base camp! I will definitely recommend Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments hotel to anybody who is looking for stylish place to stay in Johannesburg CBD.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouisBurger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMapungubwe, General Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

Good morning Mr Burger,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel. I will convey your positive comments to our team.

Looking forward to welcome you back in the near future !

Regards,

Carel Pienaar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We stayed her for 1 night in May after a 4 week road trip through South Africa, Namibia and Botswana. The rooms are fantastic and you get a very good service. The rooms are spacious and real apartments, even as you stay in the hotel.

Shuttle service is great for travel around JHB.

The complimentary breakfast is also good. Although specifically for SA, not Europeans.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ewald56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMapungubwe, General Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Good afternoon Ewald,

It was great to have met you during your stay in Johannesburg. Glad we could have made you stay enjoyable. Looking forward to welcome you back in the future.

Carel Pienaar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

The hotel is ideally located for business travellers who has to do business in the CBD of Johannesburg, e.g the mining Head Offices. The hotel rooms are large with a "lounge" area, small kitchen, bathroom and bedroom. The linen is clean. The restaurant serves excellent meals and the staff is freindly and helpful. During the day security guards are stationed on the corners of the street making it safe in the immediate surroudings. Even though there are no supermarket there is a small Woolworths food close by for those who would want to prepapre there own food and there is also a free shuttle service available from the hotel to one or two selected malls in the suburbs. By staying at this hotel which enable you to walk to the businesses close by, beat being stuck in the traffic at peak hour.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amclean2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMapungubwe, General Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2013

Dear Alicestine,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the quality of your stay. Our main focus is on the businesses in JoBurg City Centre, although we get a fair number of tourists that visits the city's attractions.

I am looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Many regards,

Carel Pienaar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in September. The staff are exceptionally helpful and cheerfull, automatically dispelling the notion that Jozi downtown hotels are nothing to write home about. Cassius (front desk) was a cool funny dude, who was happy to impart with his extensive knowledge on how best we spend each day and what to look out for.

The rooms were spacious, the buffet meals were VERY well cooked and would rival hotel meals in some of London's finest hotels!!. The hotel runs a complimentary bus service to key parts of downtown, i think it would help if these times are published in advance so all clientele could plan around the scheduled times as we found ourselves spending copious amounts of time awaiting the shuttle services arrival/departure.

All in all a good stay and would recommend this to anyone who whats to see the real Joburg CBD part of town.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mistah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMapungubwe, General Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2012

Good morning Mr LOng,

Thank you for your review. Feedback is vital for us in order to improve and take our product forward. JoBurg city centre is in a process of revival and more and more tourists are comming back to town. We are trying to meet this need with improved info at the hotel, a free city shuttle and recently launched our own tour department which can assist with all your tour needs. We hope this will improve the experience we offer. Your comments about the scheduling is appreciated and I am sure we will incorporate this in 2013.

Looking forward to welcome you back.

Many regards,

Carel Pienaar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.3 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#26 of 67 in Johannesburg
460 reviews
0.7 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Newtown
City Lodge Hotel Newtown
#33 of 67 in Johannesburg
19 reviews
1.8 mi away
Palm Continental Hotel - Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Premiere Classe Suites
Premiere Classe Suites
#30 of 67 in Johannesburg
187 reviews
7.6 mi away
Westpoint Executive Suites
Westpoint Executive Suites
#18 of 67 in Johannesburg
208 reviews
3.1 mi away
Riverbend Country House
Riverbend Country House
#48 of 67 in Johannesburg
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments

Address: Corner Marshall & Ferreira Street | Marshalltown, Johannesburg 2107, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 67 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range: £47 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4-star property is set in the Johannesburg inner city in close proximity to the business district, FNB Stadium and Ellis / Coca Cola Park. The spacious studios and apartments at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments features and African design and includes on-site parking, fitness centre, flat screen TV and a large seating areas. A 24 hour reception desk is available. The hotel features 24 hour security and CCTV cameras.A free WiFi and internet connectivity and inner city shuttle service is offered to all guests.The Marshall at Mapungubwe (on site restaurant) serves a buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner, while a variety of drinks are available at the bar.Johannesburg's OR Tambo International Airport is 24 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing