We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Year-end Function Fun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
Ranked #21 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

We had our year-end function at this hotel and also slept over at the hotel. Everything had been absolutely professional from the very start.

The team was very attentive and professional during the planning phase and on the night of the function everything was fantastic. The staff were very friendly, responsive and efficient. What a great party at a very nice venue! (The vault)

The rooms were also great and it was fun to have this experience in the middle of the city of Johannesburg.

Thank you for a great evening. Happy to recommend.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank Elna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMapungubwe, General Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Elna,

Warmest Greetings from the Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel!

We were delighted to have had the opportunity to host your Company function and that it was such a huge success.

We look forward to welcoming you and your team back in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Wayne Ward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
There are newer reviews for Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

146 - 152 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2013

What a great establishment slap bang in the Johannesburg CBD. I was amazed to find this hotel situated in a part of jhb steeped in history and to realise that it is actually a tourism gem waiting to be rediscovered after the successfull re-generation of the CBD.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fanus E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMapungubwe, General Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Fanus,

Warmest Greetings from the Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel!

We appreciate your kind comments and are as excited as you are to be situated in the Vibrant City of Johannesburg with its warm Culture and History.

At Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel we strive to offer the highest quality and service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel in the near Future

Kindest Regards
Wayne Ward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The hotel has large spacious studio apartment style rooms that include a kitchenette. The hotel is located in a key business area and safe for the single woman traveler. However , it is far from the shopping district and stepping out in the evening is absolutely avoidable.The hotel has free internet but no wifi in the rooms only a lan wire so if you have a mobile device you just have internet in the lobby.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shriyanka H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMapungubwe, General Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Dear Shriyanka,

Warmest Greetings from the Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel!

Thank you for choosing us as your preferred Hotel in the Heat of the CBD, close to all the new and exciting developments and attractions that the inner Johannesburg has to offer.

Thank you for your sincere remark as security is of utmost importance to us here at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel.

My team and I strive to offer the best possible service and quality our guests deserve.

In the near future you will be able to enjoy wifi and new linen in all guest bedrooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back and assure you of our best attention at all times.

Best Regards
Wayne Ward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stayed in Mapungubwe for 2 'stopover'-nights. We aprreciated the spacious rooms and their facilities, the friendly staff and fine restaurant. It's also a very good location to explore Johannesburg.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martens I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMapungubwe, Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Martens I,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. We are very pleased you had a great stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

It is a rare find to locate a hotel as splendid as this one. First of all, it is extremely stylish and well designed. The rooms are chic and spacious. The whole hotel is shines with cleanliness and the staff exemplify quality service. The buffet breakfast is a very high end with a great selection of hot and cold food. I would totally recommend this gem of a hotel to anyone looking for a first class experience for a very reasonable rate.

Room Tip: Inside rooms look over an interior courtyard and pool. Security is present in all areas of the hote...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyle_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monique C, Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear Lyle_WA,
Thank you once again for your feedback on Tripadvisor. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the comfort and cleanliness of our rooms as well as our great food. We are looking forward to welcome you back to our hotel soon. Yours in hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Stayed there for three weeks (without the weekend).
It a nice hotel w/ very large rooms. Nice personal with good service. They are always willing to help you. The gym was ok. If you have to work in the neighborhood, this is a good choise.

Room Tip: Rooms on the inside are probably much more quite, however the view will be limited. Hotel taxi servi...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kees v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMapungubwe, General Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Good afternoon Kees, V,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel. You are right in that the inward facing rooms are quieter. We also offer patio units, security conscious rooms (CCTV in the hallways) and one bed execs should you require more space for a longer stay.

Looking forward to welcome you back !

Many regards,

Carel Pienaar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We had a great weekend exploring Johannesburg with Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartmens as our base camp! I will definitely recommend Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments hotel to anybody who is looking for stylish place to stay in Johannesburg CBD.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouisBurger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMapungubwe, General Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

Good morning Mr Burger,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel. I will convey your positive comments to our team.

Looking forward to welcome you back in the near future !

Regards,

Carel Pienaar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
0.3 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#27 of 66 in Johannesburg
410 reviews
0.6 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Newtown
City Lodge Hotel Newtown
#33 of 66 in Johannesburg
19 reviews
5.7 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 66 in Johannesburg
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Parktonian All-Suite
5.5 mi away
Premiere Classe Suites
Premiere Classe Suites
#29 of 66 in Johannesburg
170 reviews
4.4 mi away
Valverde Country Hotel
Valverde Country Hotel
#23 of 66 in Johannesburg
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments

Address: Corner Marshall & Ferreira Street | Marshalltown, Johannesburg 2107, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range: £38 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4-star property is set in the Johannesburg inner city in close proximity to the business district, FNB Stadium and Ellis / Coca Cola Park. The spacious studios and apartments at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments features and African design and includes on-site parking, fitness centre, flat screen TV and a large seating areas. A 24 hour reception desk is available. The hotel features 24 hour security and CCTV cameras.A free WiFi and internet connectivity and inner city shuttle service is offered to all guests.The Marshall at Mapungubwe (on site restaurant) serves a buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner, while a variety of drinks are available at the bar.Johannesburg's OR Tambo International Airport is 24 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing