We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels in Johannesburg CBD”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
Ranked #21 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is by far one of the best hotels in the Johannesburg CBD. I stayed there for 3 days during a business trip and was more than satisfied by their service. The only problem that I personally faced was the breakfast was not halal but the chef was kind enough to make a separate omelette for me in a new pan. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shahzad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMapungubwe, Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Shahzad,

Thank you for staying at the Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel!

Your feedback is appreciated and we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay.

At Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel we strive to be the leading Hotel within the inner city.

When you stay with us again, please try our complimentary shuttle within a 5km radius and high speed wifi.

We look forward to seeing you soon!

Kind Regards
Wayne Ward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

144 - 150 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

I really liked where this apartment building is located, the room was a good size but the finishings and furniture didn't compliment the overall elegance of the foyer. The room service meal was a total disappointment, breakfast was an improvement. The parking is too tight and the security arrangements too old school and annoying. I feel like this place is waiting for an opportunity to shine, the building is in a good location, the staff willing but there is something GRAND and FINITE that is lacking, such a pity! What a great concept and location.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liyabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMapungubwe, General Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Liyabee,

Warmest Greetings from the Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel!

We appreciate your constuctive feedback.

We are delighted to confirm that we have improved our service and quality in Twist Restaurant by doing intensive training and improving on suppliers.

We are also happy to confirm that we offer a complimentary shuttle within a 5km radius and high speed wifi. Also try out our tailor made tours when you stay with us again.

My team and I look foward to welcoming you back to the Faircity Mapungbwe Hotel in the near future.


Kindest Regards
Wayne Ward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We stayed for 3 days in a one bedroom suit. It was just what we were looking for, room was large and had a view of the pool. Building is older but they have fixed it up to be nice enough .The area is good, we walked to the museum and around town with no problems .Mining walk is only a block away and is very well kept. Breakfast was included and was good, more than you need in fact. Dinner was also reasonable and service better than most. We would return here if staying in Johannesburg. The staff was Great they do a bang up job of making your stay feel welcoming.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vANislanderBc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMapungubwe, General Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Warmest Greetings from the Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel!

Thank you for choosing us as your preferred Hotel in the Heat of the CBD, close to all the new and exciting developments and attractions that the inner Johannesburg has to offer.

My team and I strive to offer the best possible service and quality our guests deserve.

In the near future you will be able to enjoy wifi and new linen in all guest bedrooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back and assure you of our best attention at all times.

Best Regards
Wayne Ward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Dirty and Dangerous, is how I experienced the so called 4 star hotel. To start, the 1st room that I was checked in shower did not work. I was moved to a 2nd room. This room was filthy to say the least. There was chewing gum stuck on the bedside mirror. The toilet roll holder which was broken of the wall was lying on the basin. I opened the bed to find several disgusting fluid stains on the sheets as well as on the pillows.
At breakfast we saw that somebody broke down a door from the street to the restaurant during the night and stole the tv that was on the wall.
This is scary as the restaurant is within 15 to 20 meters from the reception desk. So much for safety!
Don't get fooled by the photo's on the web. This hotel is nasty!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank Nelson M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMapungubwe, General Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Warmest Greetings from the Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel!

Thank you for your comments with regards to the hotel which as per our discussion have been dealt with.

The break-in, 1st event of this kind in the 5 and a half year history of the hotel, was an isolated opportunistic incident and I can assure you that safety and security is high priority with the hotel management and staff. By adding additional security measures, we have improved security in the area where the break-in took place by upgrading our CCTV coverage and adding an additional security staff member.

We are also in the process of installing wifi and replacing linen and pillows in all the guest bedrooms and would be pleased for you to try us out again in the near future.

We see feedback as a constructive way to keep on improving service and quality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Really an excellent Hotel for business and pleasure. The staff are friendly and the hotel is clean. Great location in the heart of Johannesburg. I will definitely be visiting Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments again in 2014.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouisBurger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMapungubwe, General Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Dear Elna,

Warmest Greetings from the Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel!

Thank you for choosing us as your preferred Hotel in the Heart of the CBD to host your company's year end function.

My team and I strive to offer the best possible service and quality our guests deserve.

In the near future you will be able to enjoy wifi and new linen in all guest bedrooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back and assure you of our best attention at all times.

Best Regards
Wayne Ward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

We had our year-end function at this hotel and also slept over at the hotel. Everything had been absolutely professional from the very start.

The team was very attentive and professional during the planning phase and on the night of the function everything was fantastic. The staff were very friendly, responsive and efficient. What a great party at a very nice venue! (The vault)

The rooms were also great and it was fun to have this experience in the middle of the city of Johannesburg.

Thank you for a great evening. Happy to recommend.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank Elna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMapungubwe, General Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Elna,

Warmest Greetings from the Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel!

We were delighted to have had the opportunity to host your Company function and that it was such a huge success.

We look forward to welcoming you and your team back in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Wayne Ward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

What a great establishment slap bang in the Johannesburg CBD. I was amazed to find this hotel situated in a part of jhb steeped in history and to realise that it is actually a tourism gem waiting to be rediscovered after the successfull re-generation of the CBD.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fanus E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMapungubwe, General Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Fanus,

Warmest Greetings from the Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel!

We appreciate your kind comments and are as excited as you are to be situated in the Vibrant City of Johannesburg with its warm Culture and History.

At Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel we strive to offer the highest quality and service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel in the near Future

Kindest Regards
Wayne Ward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
0.3 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#27 of 66 in Johannesburg
436 reviews
5.7 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 66 in Johannesburg
343 reviews
0.6 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Newtown
City Lodge Hotel Newtown
#33 of 66 in Johannesburg
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Parktonian All-Suite
5.5 mi away
Premiere Classe Suites
Premiere Classe Suites
#29 of 66 in Johannesburg
174 reviews
7.6 mi away
Westpoint Executive Suites
Westpoint Executive Suites
#19 of 66 in Johannesburg
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments

Address: Corner Marshall & Ferreira Street | Marshalltown, Johannesburg 2107, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range: £36 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4-star property is set in the Johannesburg inner city in close proximity to the business district, FNB Stadium and Ellis / Coca Cola Park. The spacious studios and apartments at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments features and African design and includes on-site parking, fitness centre, flat screen TV and a large seating areas. A 24 hour reception desk is available. The hotel features 24 hour security and CCTV cameras.A free WiFi and internet connectivity and inner city shuttle service is offered to all guests.The Marshall at Mapungubwe (on site restaurant) serves a buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner, while a variety of drinks are available at the bar.Johannesburg's OR Tambo International Airport is 24 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing