We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect party and fantastic service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
Ranked #22 of 67 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Perfect place to be in JHB CBD. We hosted a party for my friend's 30th and I must say we had a good time. The manager and staff were friendly. The food was divine. Thanks to Carlien Croukamp for the booking and the staff of Twist restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank vuyonobula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMapungubwe, General Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2014

Dear Vuyonobula,

Warmest Greetings from the Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel!

We are delighted that you chose us to host your 30th birthday party!

Thank you for your kind review and complimenting Carlien and the staff!

At Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel we strive to exceed guests expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel.


Kindest Regards
Wayne Ward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

143 - 149 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

What a fantastic service, the management was excellent. Mapungubwe is a perfect city hotel hosted brilliantly by an awesome staff and its manager. Twist Restaurant was great and scrumptious. Thanks Bruce Medway for being the best host and manager.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shazi73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMapungubwe, General Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2014

Dear Shazi,

Warmest Greetings from the Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel!

Thank you for your kind review!

We are delighted to hear about your awesome experience!

Twist is a restaurant with an extensive menu, professional staff and great ambiance.

Did you know that Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel is close to the Market Theater? Why not book a show, come for dinner in Twist, use the complimentary hotel shuttle to and from the theater and stay overnight. I hope I have managed to temp you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel in the near future.


Kindest Regards
Wayne Ward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Loved the rooms as they have a small kitchen area as well as a lounge area. Great for self catering should you not want to go out for meals. Should anyone need accommodation in JHB Central, this hotel is the best! Dinner was great and breakfast really scrumptious! Didn't know about this jewel in the CBD. Thank you for the hospitality. Serena.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank serenajvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMapungubwe, General Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2014

Dear Serena,

Warmest Greetings from the Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel!

Thank you for your kind review!

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your spacious studio apartment offering a full kitchen, lounge area, bedroom and large bathroom. It does make for the perfect stay!

Twist Restaurant offers the perfect dinning experience with its trendy decor and menu catering for all your taste buds.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Wayne Ward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Probably the most perfect venue for a wedding in the Johannesburg CBD.. It was just the feel that were looking for. Not over the top, simple, to the point and served its purpose precisely.

Twist restaurant for the reception was outstanding. The food was immaculately presented, the venue was well set out, the attention to detail was great. The food was excellent value for money. Thank you for the special exception meals prepared as well.

The Vault as the after reception venue served its purpose well. Everything was set out exactly as we imagined and your staff of waiters and barmen on all fronts need to be commended on the outstanding service on the evening.

The Penthouse Suite accommodated our requirements for the evening perfectly.

A special thank you to Carlien for the outstanding work in coordinating the various aspects of our special day and making it such a memorable one not only for ourselves, but for our guests as well. Until today, both family and friends cannot stop praising the function, in large part to Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel and your extraordinary staff.

Room Tip: The Penthouse is outstanding
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbrmjoburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMapungubwe, General Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2014

Dear Wedding couple,

Warmest Greetings from the Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel!

Thank you for your lovely review!

We are delighted that we could host your wedding reception! Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel is well know as the perfect wedding venue in the trendy fashion district.

The Penthouse with its breath taking views is the perfect way to celebrate your wedding night.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to the Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Wayne Ward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Mapungubwe hotel is beautiful all i can say is that, i love!!!!!!!!,its classy ,stylish and loads of fun;-) , alos very convenient interms of a free shuttle .from idol asanda ngcephe @Rennies Travel Baclays

Room Tip: rooms on 5th floor, BEST
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Asanda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMapungubwe, Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Asanda,

Warmest Greetings from the Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel!

We are delighted to hear enjoyed your stay and the complimentary shuttle within a 5km radius.

Next time, please try our new complimentary high speed wifi. We also offer tours that are specifically designed to your needs.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel and assure you of our best attention at all times.

Regards Wayne Ward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I spent 5 nights here in June 2014 in room 417. Large space, relatively clean, good gym, great breakfast, and helpful staff with super useful free shuttle. Internet is very fast. The room was a bit noisy with old water pipes banging in the ceiling. The area is safe at day but not at night - avoid walking after dark. Recommended and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave1q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMapungubwe, Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Dave,

Warmest Greetings from the Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel!

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay.

Your feedback is appreciated and will be conveyed to the team.

We are happy to inform you that we offer complimentary wifi, shuttle within a 5km radius and tour packages designed to your needs?

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Wayne Ward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is by far one of the best hotels in the Johannesburg CBD. I stayed there for 3 days during a business trip and was more than satisfied by their service. The only problem that I personally faced was the breakfast was not halal but the chef was kind enough to make a separate omelette for me in a new pan. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shahzad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMapungubwe, Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Shahzad,

Thank you for staying at the Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel!

Your feedback is appreciated and we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay.

At Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel we strive to be the leading Hotel within the inner city.

When you stay with us again, please try our complimentary shuttle within a 5km radius and high speed wifi.

We look forward to seeing you soon!

Kind Regards
Wayne Ward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
0.3 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#26 of 67 in Johannesburg
460 reviews
0.7 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Newtown
City Lodge Hotel Newtown
#33 of 67 in Johannesburg
19 reviews
1.8 mi away
Palm Continental Hotel - Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Premiere Classe Suites
Premiere Classe Suites
#30 of 67 in Johannesburg
186 reviews
7.6 mi away
Westpoint Executive Suites
Westpoint Executive Suites
#18 of 67 in Johannesburg
208 reviews
1 mi away
Protea Hotel Johannesburg Parktonian All-Suite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments

Address: Corner Marshall & Ferreira Street | Marshalltown, Johannesburg 2107, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 67 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range: £47 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4-star property is set in the Johannesburg inner city in close proximity to the business district, FNB Stadium and Ellis / Coca Cola Park. The spacious studios and apartments at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments features and African design and includes on-site parking, fitness centre, flat screen TV and a large seating areas. A 24 hour reception desk is available. The hotel features 24 hour security and CCTV cameras.A free WiFi and internet connectivity and inner city shuttle service is offered to all guests.The Marshall at Mapungubwe (on site restaurant) serves a buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner, while a variety of drinks are available at the bar.Johannesburg's OR Tambo International Airport is 24 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing