We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The freshest sea and seafood product in a pleasant environment”
Review of Fishmonger

Fishmonger
Ranked #74 of 1,212 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations, Takeout
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The freshest sea and seafood product in a pleasant environment”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I like everything from the food, service and environment , I'm talking about fishmonger in rosebank mall (JHB). Refined clientele and classy, from the" petit bourgeois " to the big one.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    61
    12
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our favourite restaurant!”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Not sure whether this is the Rosebank Fishmonger (as it says Johannesburg), but if it is, it is our favourite restaurant and we eat out a lot. Good food, good service, good venue.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nell and Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Delicious Lunch”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Met friends here for lunch. I had a fillet as not in the mood for fish. Lovely piece of steak. The fish looked fresh and delicious as well as the Greek salad. Fresh tasty Portuguese rolls and fairly good service. I will be coming back for fish.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank InspiredParenting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Too rushed”
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

I'm referring to the restaurant in The Firs Mall.
Was there on a business dinner, in early December , on a very rainy evening.
Food was OK. A bit too expensive for the quality but not over the top.
Seating was awkward , although we asked for a quiet corner they gave us a table right in the middle . Took a bit of persuasion to get were we thought would be quiet. Apparently the acoustic setting isn't too good here.
Service was too rushed. As if they wanted us out within 45 minutes.
Fish and seafood platters were good and big.
Wine in the glass: we had 2 rounds. The 1st , we returned , as the wine was too warm and too off . There was an attempt to " convince" us that the wine was ok. Nonetheless , as soon as we spoke with a senior host , it was sorted out. Will come back if we stay nearby.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ZvikaGl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Our regular fish restuarant”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Best fish restaurant in Johannesburg. When ever we get the craving for fish. This is the place we go. Great fish, prepared just how we like it. Its always crowded but it you go early, you can always get a seat. A must visit restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aclaughan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fishmonger also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Fishmonger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing