We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and great staff”

Casalinga Ristorante Italiano
Ranked #28 of 1,204 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Excellent food and great staff”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We had a family 21st recently at Casalinga, the food was delicious and beautifully presented, and the staff were amazing

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lee-Annabelle109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    108
    42
    20
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
110 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Superb relaxing lunch”
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

An excellent way to spend Sunday lunch. Great atmosphere - very welcoming and relaxed. The food was terrific and the staff very attentive.
We had our first two courses and then went for a walk around the grounds. A beautiful property with views as far as you could see.
A great place do families and friends.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Russell G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Felt so at home!”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I would just like to thank the staff and managment from Casalinga. This has been the second time round where they all made us feel so at home. We honestly feel like we have been going to Casalinga for years. Well we will be going there for years to come, that is a fact.
From the beautiful flowers on the table, amazing Lindt Chocolate cake for my mothers birthday, rich and tasteful food, o my word and more then generous portions to the beautiful outside area where my kids cant wait to get to, we love it!
My husband surprised me with a lovely romantic dinner for just the two of us for my birthday and it was so special we just had to go again! Lloyd (management) even remembered what wine we loved and our waiter Klaas was just the most funniest guy around yet very charming.
So this sunday was absolutely the best, yet again and we have booked for the Jazz lunch in September and cannot wait!
If only there were more Restaurants like Casalinga around.
Thank You so much!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 25Jolene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Over rated!”
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

I have been to Casalinga on numerous occasions and it is probably one of the best restaurants in the area. But over time, they seemed to have lost their touch. The restaurant is a great venue, but for the price I expect more. Take last night for example, the oxtail was offered as a special: 4 of us tried to order it, but it was finished (this happens). Then the lamb shanks arrived cold (there is no excuse for that). Service was mediocre but not up to scratch for a restaurant of this caliper.
I hope that they will get their act together and turn this around to recreate the excellence we expect from Casalinga.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Markus J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Joburg”
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

We returned to Casalinga for our Wedding Anniversary, nine years after we were married there in 2004. It was just as good then as it is now. The steak was superb, and possibly the best I have ever eaten. The Kingklip was sublime and the coffees were excellent. The staff were attentative and friendly and the grounds as beautiful as ever.

Thanks for a fabulous meal and the chance to return to a beautiful place for our anniversary.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hellonearth1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casalinga Ristorante Italiano also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Casalinga Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing