We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel Near Airport”
Review of Safari Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Safari Club
Ranked #13 of 27 Hotels in Kempton Park
Reviewed 4 June 2012

This was a good hotel near the airport. They have computers that you can use and a nice breakfast. Rooms were clean and hotel staff was friendly. We only stayed one night, as we were between flights. The grounds were also well kept and appeared to be very safe.

Room Tip: Make sure you make plans for dinner if your flight comes in late. We checked in when dinner time wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hoffm123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2012

Great value, especially with free transfers to and from the airport. Rooms are great, breakfast mammoth (except for the little birds that fly in to try and steal some bread), and the staff very helpful. Rooms have everything you could require, including internet. The location isn't great if you are wanting to explore Johanessburg

Room Tip: The better rooms are in the courtyard, the rooms in the main building seem to only be used if they a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank harshbutfair1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We enjoyed our stay although it was only for one night as a stopover before flying home from SA. The accomodation is not too spacious but very comfortable and the gardens, especially lit by large candles at night are quite stunning. We also dined there and had an excellent meal with great service and then enjoyed a relaxing evening upstairs in the honesty bar. There is also a large sitting room with internet access and a selection of books and magazines.
The free tranfer to the airport is a huge bonus-no looking for taxis or worrying about returning the hired car. We arrived at the safari club and then dropped off our car at the airport accompanied by the club driver who took us back and then took us once more to the airport the following morning at no cost!!! Wonderful service.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bridie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

This is a hidden gem in the area. The setting is peaceful with outside rooms at the edge of a large garden with beautiful lawns. The rooms are smallish but nothing really to complain about. We had coffee / tea in the rooms and the bathroom had a proper shower with good water pressure. The establishment has a very nice and warmly lounge and bar room under thatch. It is not well signposted (apparently for security reasons) but a map or a phone call get you there quite easily. Pity we couldn't stay longer!

Room Tip: They have rooms in the main building as well as rooms outside - I preferred the outside rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christiaang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

If you need to stay near the OR Tambo Airport, this is the place! The staff will collect you or if driving yourself, it is really easy to find. It is only about a 10 minute drive from the airport along the motorway to Pretoria. Behind the security fence is another world - thatched cottages, the main lodge with restaurant, bar, lounge area complete with internet, outside are beautiful gardens and a pool.
We initially stayed one night on our arrival in South Africa in a family room. It was huge as was the bathroom and all extremely comfortable. There are tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms.The food in the restaurant was tasty and served with a smile. Breakfast next morning was equally impressive with a large range to choose from, cereals, fruit, hot and cold dishes, croissants, muffins, tea, coffee etc.
On our return to Johannesburg we decided to stay again and this time had a room in the main lodge. It was a massive room, with two double beds, lounge chairs, desk, the bathroom had double sinks, bath and shower.
Not only is the accommodation fantastic, but the staff are too - always smiling, friendly and helpful. Safari Club is a much better option than the sterile environment of a hotel and great value for money. Well done to the the owners and staff.... keep doing what you're doing.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GLJtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

My friend and I had to stay here for one night in transit just getting back from a safari and then a 6:30am flight the next day. Tired and hungry, this place was perfect! Beautiful and relaxing grounds, very safe, clean room, internet in main lounge and friendly staff. Due to the early flight, we missed the breakfast that was included so upon leaving it was packed up for us. Thanks Precious! The airport was super close and if need be, we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hittinthecities
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

I cannot think of a better place to make a transfer in Johannesburg. Nice rooms, beautiful garden and main lodge and good dinner. They pick you up and take you to the airport, included in the price. I liked very much the honesty bar!! Will repeat next time, no doubt about it. Ah! and good price!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IngridfromMadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
1.9 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 27 in Kempton Park
2,445 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#2 of 27 in Kempton Park
1,441 reviews
2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
3.6 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Hotel at Emperors Palace
0.9 mi away
African Dreams Lodge
African Dreams Lodge
#15 of 27 in Kempton Park
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safari Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Club

Address: 68 Pomona Rd, Kempton Park 0056, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range: £71 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Safari Club 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Transfers to and from Johannesburg International Airport. Luxury Accommodation, 4 minutes from Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Safari Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safari Club Hotel Kempton Park
Safari Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing