We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Motel”
Review of Safari Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Safari Club
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We had a less than positive welcome by a receptionist that had a horrible cold. Our room sucked, it was not clean, the carpet was a science project of stains & crusty spots. Our sheet were also stained. There was no remote for the TV but we were told we cold stand on a chair to change the channel. There was no soap, lotion or shampoo in the bathroom or heat in our room. The flight pattern for the airport was directly overhead so along w/the traffic from the motorway on & off ramps we had jets every so many seconds flying over. Needless to say neither my husband or I got one wink of sleep. Dinner was a joke, The menu said one thing & we got served another. Fish I could not even cut w/a knife much less a fork. Several time we voiced our concerns to the desk manager & got a shrug of her shoulders. I told her the next morning to lock that room & never ever put another person in it. I am now working on the travel agency that booked this motel in getting my money back. It was a horrible way to end a good South African trip.

Room Tip: Stay at one of the hotels "City Hotel" or "Intercontinental" at Tambo JNR Airpor...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CRGH_Stormy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (235)
There are newer reviews for Safari Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2012

We stayed at the Safari Club for one night in July 2012. This was our third visit to this property. We find it to be convenient to O R Tambo Airport. The pickup and transfers are on time, the people are always friendly and there is never a hassle. This time the minibus was in for service and they had arranged a car and driver to collect us. The rooms are well appointed, good size and comfortable. The only issues we have are (1) the location of the mirror in the bathroom (2) no individual soaps or shampoos. Howeve, these are minor points and the friendliness of the staff and the comfortable surroundings far outweigh any small negatives. We arrived in the evening after a long flight from Sydney and decided to stay in the hotel for dinner. The meal was homely, good portions and reasonably priced. Breakfast is served in a garden villa. It consists of a good buffet with hot option, once again served by friendly staff. We would definitely recommend this property as a stopover on your way to other locations in Africa.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be the same overlooking the "English" gardens.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kayw49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We stayed only one day transiting through Johannesburg but I feel strongly enough to want to write a review. Pick up and return to the airport by the hotel staff was seamless. The rooms were excellent, especially the family room that our children slept in - spacious, clean and well equipped. The lounge was comfortable for the few hours waiting to head to the airport. Dinner was reasonably priced and suited all of us. Breakfast was excellent too. A very well run establishment - highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulaX2327RT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Me and my boyfriend arrived at Johannesburg Airport late at night and stayed 1 night at the Safari Club. What a beautiful place, with a beautiful garden! The room and bathroom are nice, big and clean.

It helped a lot that we used google street maps to find the place first, because it is quite hidden from the main road.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We arrived in Johannesburg for 1 night stay on our way to a safari in Botswana. See Lagoon Camp, Vumbura Plains Camp & Chitabe Camp for the rest of our trip. All planned perfectly by Patricia from www.wildlightsafaris.com a great company to deal with.
The Safari Club was perfect for a short stopover. At a very reasonable price
They pick you up from the airport and take you back when you leave.
The club is based around 12 separate rooms in an L shape around the garden. They are clean and comfortable complete with very helpful staff. There is a small swimming pool in the grounds which is all security fenced.
In the main building they have a comfortable lounge for guests, with a great honesty bar in the mezzanine. Breakfast is included and is partaken in a separate dinning room Dinner is also available at a very reasonable price.
They looked after our heavy luggage for 10 days free of charge.
There is a great driver/tour guide on site called Memory. If you plan on some sightseeing then book Memory she has her own Taxi and minibus. You can book by the hour or day.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank exwinemaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

The driver was waiting at the airport to collect us,so happy to see him as all arrangement conducted on the internet! A short drive & we were at this delightful oasis,close to the airport,surrounded by a secutiry fence, the rooms were individual in a garden setting,spacious & airy, claen & comfortable. Breakfast was mammoth, anything you could think of to eat. Downside? Dinner the night before a set 3 course meal, we would have preferred a snack after 14 hours on a plane, so we opted for nothing. A snack would have been great!

Room Tip: All at ground level in garden setting
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank veedee36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We stayed at Safari Club while in transit. As other reviews have said, it is in an industrial area but the minute you drive through the gates, you could be staying in a lodge near a game park! It truly is an oasis in a big city! We were greeted at the airport by our lovely driver who gave us a warm welcome. We also were driven back to the airport the next day. This is a courtesy service at no extra cost.

After a long flight from Australia, this was just what we needed before heading off the next day to our final destination. The lodge set in beautiful gardens has large rooms, comfortable beds and very friendly staff. The honesty bar upstairs is fantastic, with comfortable couches giving a homely and personal touch - we even had our dinner there instead of the dining room downstairs.

Food is simple, but fresh and the self serve breakfast had fresh fruit, coffee and you can order a cooked breakfast as well. There is also free internet and computer use - a big plus on my list.

The Safari Club may be a little further than the other airport hotels, (its only a 7 minute drive to the airport) but for value for money, comfortable, friendly atmosphere and no airport noise, you cant beat it.

Room Tip: Dont leave the last minute to book as you may be disappointed!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vicstar09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
1.9 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,197 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#2 of 26 in Kempton Park
1,366 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
#11 of 26 in Kempton Park
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
2.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
3.6 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Hotel at Emperors Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safari Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Club

Address: 68 Pomona Rd, Kempton Park 0056, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range: £64 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Safari Club 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Transfers to and from Johannesburg International Airport. Luxury Accommodation, 4 minutes from Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Safari Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safari Club Hotel Kempton Park
Safari Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing