We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great rooms”
Review of Safari Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Safari Club Hotel
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great rooms”
Reviewed 18 April 2013

The bungalow rooms are great. Quite clean and very spacious! The staff is very accommodating! May not be overly friendly and willing to chat, but very helpful. There were a few that were extremely nice though. The bar is stocked with drinks and based on a honesty policy where you just mark off the things you take. That's always nice to see. The breakfast is quite good. Cute garden area as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CStyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    73
    42
    14
    9
See reviews for
42
86
25
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2013

So relaxing - needed some time-out from my busy family and just needed to relax. Thank you for you friendliness Berlize, really felt like home. Will definately stay over here again !! (Love the gardens !!)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2013

My husband and I with our two small kiddies had to fly to JHB for a wedding. We stayed at the Safariclub Lodge. What a fantastic place!!

The rooms were unbelievably spacious and all four of us could fit into the room with so much extra space.

The staff where very welcoming, friendly and accommodating! Ant, the manager, is incredibly helpful and organised anything we required at the drop of a hat. Really excellent service.

There's a beautiful, tranquil outside area with plenty of trees, places to sit and relax, a sparkling pool and a great big lawn that was just perfect for the kiddies to happily run around in.

We had a good old South African braai on the first night and the food was just delicious!! Infact all the food was great!!

We'll definitely be using Safariclub again whenever we are in Jhb!

I would highly recommend Safariclub to anyone! Was such a fantastic stay!! Thanks so much to Ant and the team. We'll be back very soon.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BMGJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Safariclub is nestled away from the busy buzz of Jhb. Once you enter the gates and view the beautifully landscaped gardens, it truly feels like a well manicured escape.

I was up on business and the very spacious rooms makes one feel comfortable with all the luxuries expected from a quality 4 star establishment. The 40inch screens in the room just prove bigger is better and safariclub delivers this each time.

Will see you guys soon. No more cluttered generic hotel rooms for me again.

Thanks Ant and the team at safariclub.

M Miller

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeseanrex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Rooms are spacious, breakfast and dinner are tasty and delicious, staff is smiling and extremely helpful .... WHAT MORE CAN YOU ASK FOR (Y) we really loved our stay there ..they also arrange Kruger, Soweto, and Sun City

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OmarFakhry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
159 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Stayed at Safari Club for 1 night. Shuttle and breakfast incl. Shuttle was waiting at airport on arrival. Rooms are big, clean. Friendly staff. Nice garden with pool. Honesty bar. Dinner selection small, but ok and fair priced. Has a homely feel. Convient place if you need to be close to airport.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frogy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Stayed here twice in late September and early October each end of our southern African adventure. Rooms are OK, clean and have what you need - comfortable beds, showers (no baths) and plentiful hot water. The free transfers to and from airport are useful but take the phone number of the lodge to chase them up if late. Staff are friendly and welcoming but lack supervison and direction which is a shame because this place could be very good. Meals are OK, very limited set menu which you have to order by 6pm - lots of starch and few vegetables but huge portions (far too big for us).

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Thornm100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
1.9 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,981 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#2 of 26 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
3.6 mi away
African Rock Hotel
African Rock Hotel
#3 of 26 in Kempton Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
3.6 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Hotel at Emperors Palace
2.6 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safari Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Club Hotel

Property: Safari Club Hotel
Address: 68 Pomona Rd | O.R Tambo Airport, Kempton Park 0056, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Safari Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Transfers to and from Johannesburg International Airport. Luxury Accommodation, 4 minutes from Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Safari Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safari Club Hotel Kempton Park
Safari Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing