We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Safari Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Safari Club
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

We were only there one night. Maybe if we hadn't just come from a 5-star Private Game Lodge we would have enjoyed it more. Unfortunately, the air-conditioner in our room did not work and it was cold in there. The staff were very helpful, no complaints there, and they brought us over some extra bedding. One of our lamps also didn't work, but by that stage, we didn't wish to complain more. We were disappointed that our room wasn't fully operational and obviously hadn't been checked. The staff did say that the air-conditioner was going to be fixed the next day, but that wasn't much good to us. Bathroom toiletries were also very minimal. We found the food to be adequate, certainly not good, and also reasonably expensive compared to what we had been paying in other restaurants around South Africa. But, once there, you really don't want to go out as the surrounding neighbourhood is not enticing.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    73
    41
    14
    9
See reviews for
42
85
25
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

We spent two nights at the Safari Club in June. When we first pulled up to the gate I was a little hesitant about its proximity to the freeway but all my apprehensions disappeared once we got out at the hotel. In a lovely garden setting, this small 16 room boutique hotel was just charming. The main building had a beautiful lounge area with computers and a library where you could sit and read, a sun filled dining room and an upstairs full bar area that was self serve and worked on an honour system where you marked down what you drank. The room was comfy with everything you would need including tea and coffee making facilities and it also had a nice sunny bathroom. We were very happy with our choice. It is a little out of the way if you are staying in Johannesberg for any length of time but as an option before or after a tour, its great. My only minor bugbear was the price we were charged for the inhouse driver to take us to a local shopping centre (it would be hard to get a regular taxi from there) - US$50 for a return trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

We stayed here for an overnight layover in Johannesburg - our flight landed late in the evening and left first thing the next morning. We chose it because we wanted to stay at a place with a free shuttle from the airport, and Safari Club had been recommended to us.
Our room was enormous and comfortable. The grounds, pool and gardens were really lovely, but we didn’t really get to enjoy them during our short stay. I would recommend this place particularly for a longer layover, which would allow you to really take advantage of its attractive setting.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Denise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

We stayed overnight at the Safari Club both on our way to & from Kruger Park in March'13.It is very convenient when flying in or out of Johannesburg with the complimentary transfers. It is a private oasis in a semi industrial area with a nice friendly feel . Great if you are happy to stay in once there & enjoy the surroundings . We found the food to be good , our room spacious and looking out onto the expansive gardens, the honesty bar area & lounge very comfortable and the staff friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2_Not_So_Grey_Nomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

The bungalow rooms are great. Quite clean and very spacious! The staff is very accommodating! May not be overly friendly and willing to chat, but very helpful. There were a few that were extremely nice though. The bar is stocked with drinks and based on a honesty policy where you just mark off the things you take. That's always nice to see. The breakfast is quite good. Cute garden area as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CStyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

So relaxing - needed some time-out from my busy family and just needed to relax. Thank you for you friendliness Berlize, really felt like home. Will definately stay over here again !! (Love the gardens !!)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

My husband and I with our two small kiddies had to fly to JHB for a wedding. We stayed at the Safariclub Lodge. What a fantastic place!!

The rooms were unbelievably spacious and all four of us could fit into the room with so much extra space.

The staff where very welcoming, friendly and accommodating! Ant, the manager, is incredibly helpful and organised anything we required at the drop of a hat. Really excellent service.

There's a beautiful, tranquil outside area with plenty of trees, places to sit and relax, a sparkling pool and a great big lawn that was just perfect for the kiddies to happily run around in.

We had a good old South African braai on the first night and the food was just delicious!! Infact all the food was great!!

We'll definitely be using Safariclub again whenever we are in Jhb!

I would highly recommend Safariclub to anyone! Was such a fantastic stay!! Thanks so much to Ant and the team. We'll be back very soon.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BMGJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
1.9 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,926 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#2 of 26 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
3.6 mi away
African Rock Hotel
African Rock Hotel
#3 of 26 in Kempton Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
3.6 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Hotel at Emperors Palace
2.6 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safari Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Club

Property: Safari Club
Address: 68 Pomona Rd | OR Tambo International Airport, Kempton Park 0056, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Safari Club 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Transfers to and from Johannesburg International Airport. Luxury Accommodation, 4 minutes from Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Safari Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safari Club Hotel Kempton Park
Safari Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing