We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dad's 80th Birthday in KP”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
African Moon Corporate House
Ranked #35 of 68 Kempton Park B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Just what we needed for a family gathering in Kempton Park. Close to all venues and OR Tambo Airport. The staff were very pleasant and went out of their way to help us. A few small issues which were soon sorted out. One of two rooms (with a baby in) was extremely noisy in the early morning. Water pressure in the showers was very low. By 9:00 some of the breakfast items were finished and not replenished.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tracy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanMalan, Owner at African Moon Corporate House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear Tracy, Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Guest House, I hope the travel for Dads birthday was worth it and you had a pleasant time at African Moon, please do return soon. Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stay was good and cordial in clean room. Receptionist (Neo) and kitchen lady were friendly, altho a certain cleaning lady was rude and pesky. Breakfast was very lovely. Altogether, our stay was enjoyable! And value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ajibola A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanMalan, Owner at African Moon Corporate House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear Guest, thank you for choosing our Guest House. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially for mentioning our great customer service. Our team takes great pride in offering our guests inspiring stays. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

So I decided to go two days before my Kreuger adventure with Nhongo Safaris and stayed at the African moon guesthouse in Kempton park Johannesburg as suggested by our safari tour guide. The rooms were affordable and clean and I got upgraded to an executive suite because my room did not have a safe. I love that breakfast is included and the staff are very friendly. I woke the next morning early and had a delicious breakfast before sunrise because I was fasting. The cooks at the Guest House were kind enough to make me an omelette early in the morning and it was delicious. The lovely people at the hotel also provided complimentary drop off at Rhodesfield, Gautrain station! The station is a 2 min drive from the hotel and the staff are very accommodating and offer pick up and drop off services. They also provide pick up from the airport.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kulsum k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanMalan, Owner at African Moon Corporate House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to write a review about our Guest House African Moon. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially our friendly staff and our excellent breakfast! We hope to welcome you again! Best regards from African Moon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stayed here for a few days after flying in from New Zealand on my way to Kruger National Park. The rooms are clean, and the staff friendly. On my return from the Kruger Park one of the staff members even washed my rental car for me.(I tipped him off course) On one of the days I knew I was going to be very late at night returning, they trusted me with the gate remote control to come and go as I pleased. I was scared to return to South Africa with it's high crime rate but the location is very safe. There is plenty of shopping centers and restaurants close by. The only thing I had a problem with was the tv channels and although they have a dvd selection in their library my dvd player did not work. It's no biggie to me because I was not there to watch tv but if you plan to stay in your room most of the time then make sure you get a working one. The pool and bar area is very peaceful and great. Have your breakfast at poolside! I would definitely stay here again if I have to stay close to the airport.

Room Tip: Do not drive through Kempton Park central to do shopping. There is nothing to shop for there. It is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Appleshack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanMalan, Owner at African Moon Corporate House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to post your feedback after your stay at our Guest House. We are happy to hear that you appreciated your stay, especially the very friendly staff, the clean rooms and the peaceful pool area. Thank you again for booking us. Looking forward to your soon return visit. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The Place was actually awesome for the price we paid, my family had good time. Recepetion gave us a warm welcome. I will recommend it to my friends, work mates. They can really use more parking space for the guests.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Luvuyo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanMalan, Owner at African Moon Corporate House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Dear Luvuyo, thank you for the kind review. please come back soon. We are currenty considering expansion to reduce the problem but we hope to see you soon.Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I was recommended this hotel by other traveller. Best I have found in Joburg great safe location quite and close to the Airport, Book you taxi via the Hotel as the airport taxi will charge you 50% more I will use the hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanMalan, Owner at African Moon Corporate House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Dear Robert, Thank you so much for the great review. it was wonderful to accommodate you, we hope to see you back here at african moon very soon. Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights 4 days apart in March 2014. Our flight was delayed 2 hrs but the driver duly met us and drove us to the Hotel which we really appreciated. We were allowed to check in early and settled in. To our eyes Johannesburg is fast becoming a ghetto and is not safe to be out at night. If you don't have a car the Hotel has a shuttle that will take you shopping but if you want a meal at night you have to order it from the Hotel and it will be delivered to your room albeit 1-2 hours late and mostly cold. African Moon was recommended to us by the Kruger Safari tour company we chose. Hotel office hours are supposed to be from 7am and breakfast at the same time. When our Tour transport arrived at 8am neither the breakfast room or the office were open so as we were coming back in 4 days we started to leave. Then the office girl arrived. After a quick conversation she agreed to wait till we returned to be paid.Our return 4 days later saw us in a different part of the Hotel in the next street so we had to wait for the shuttle to pick us up for breakfast. After breakfast we settled up and took the shuttle to the airport. The all African staff at this place is really lovely and very helpful but unfortunately time does not mean the same to them as it does to us and we found this "Africa Time" syndrome very widespread during our 2 weeks in South Africa. Our overall experience spoiled by little understanding nor concern for deadlines etc.

Room Tip: If you don't have a car and have deadlines don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deandownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanMalan, Owner at African Moon Corporate House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Dear Dean. Thank you for the review, I hope your visit to our Guest House was warm and welcoming. Please note, we encourage the staff in the office to assist where they can. the Guest House offers a pre-ordered dinner, if you did not order dinner I encourage them to offer to call a local restaurant selected by the guest and place the order for them, it is not,however, in their control when Mr Delivery delivers the orders. We apologise for the inconviniences caused during your stay. we hope that we will have the chance to see your family again.Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
3.4 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,323 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
#11 of 26 in Kempton Park
605 reviews
4.6 mi away
Vetho 2 Apartments OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
4.1 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
5.1 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Hotel at Emperors Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Moon Corporate House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Moon Corporate House

Address: 63 Rietfontein Road, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Kempton Park
Price Range: £35 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — African Moon Corporate House 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
African Moon Corporate Business & Guest House Accommodation African Moon Corporate Guest House & Corporate Business Accommodation offers exceptional 4 Star accommodation only ten minutes drive from the OR Tambo International Airport and is situated within walking distance from shops, restaurants and other amenities.A luxurious corporate retreat with 24 spacious bedrooms, en-suite bathrooms all equipped with the latest communication and entertainment systems. Relax at the swimming pool have a sundowner at the bar or sit down and enjoy a scrumptious business meal with colleagues. We invite you to join us for great hospitality in a stylish and modern corporate business guest house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your African Moon Corporate House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
African Moon Corporate House Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing