We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A cold night!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Emerald Guest House
Ranked #11 of 62 Kempton Park B&B and Inns
Washington DC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A cold night!”
Reviewed 12 August 2009

We spent 2 nights at this hotel-- or shall we say dungeon-- one night on the way to our safari and one night after the safari. We all felt more dirty after our showers than before, plus we almost froze ourselves into icicles! There was one measly "wall heater" that didn't even WORK so even after adding 3 extra blankets (which were kept in an old closet and we suspected that they had never been washed) we were shivering under the covers. "Breakfast" was adequate, but they kept running out of food. Dinner was like elementary school cafeteria food, but without seasoning. We were slightly put off by the note accompanying the food, reading: "U MAY TIP THE CHEF! :) " Some of the staff were not so welcoming; others were okay. To be fair, some of them really did try to be helpful. On the bright side, they did call a cab for us to go to the mall for dinner the 2nd night (we couldn't bear a 2nd dinner at Emerald), and the airport shuttle was free. If you REALLY need a cheap stay after a night flight (after dinner time) and you have a VERY early flight (before breakfast time), then you might be okay if you bring warm pajamas and extra blankets.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trippinfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    180
    138
    42
    43
See reviews for
108
94
140
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2009

We thought we had found a comfortable, moderately priced B&B in Joburg that was near the airport. The Emerald Guest House sounded ideal. Unfortunately, our experience at this guest house was a disaster. Don’t be fooled by the website photos and description. Do not consider staying at the Emerald Guest House in S. Africa winter months. The rooms have no heat. Nightime and morning temperatures can easily drop to near freezing. There was also no heat in the reception area and dining areas. For breakfasts there in July, we had to eat wearing warm coats and hats. One morning, our room had no electricity and it was not restored before we checked out hours later. Another in our party had no hot water in the morning. Despite what may seem as attractive rates and rooms at the Emerald Guest House, this accommodation did not provide the bare minimums of heat, hot water, and electricity. A campground would have been much less costly and offered the same lack of amenities. Besides breakfast, the food available for sale onsite was terrible, mostly prepackaged microwaved stuff. There were no nearby accessible restaurants for dining without taking a taxi or using the guest house van to the mall. That van service was not free of charge—it cost 100 Rand for the van transportation to the mall. There was one pay phone on the premises, but it was outside and completely unlit at night. The staff were not particularly helpful. This was the worst accommodation we had the misfortune of using in our 3 week South Africa trip.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mikelfry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2009

We found Emerald Guest House via sa-venues.com.
We chose the self-catering, 2 bedroom, sleeps 6 option for our family of 5 (three kids aged 7 to 8 years).
Our rooms were definitely very dated and in need of sprucing up. We're not precious and do not mind staying in cheap digs - but this place was definitely not cheap (R1400 per night).
As for the self-catering part - there was the bare minimum utensils, etc supplied. In fact - there was a sign on the wall requesting that no food be prepared or consumed in the rooms due to ant problems. This was never mentioned at the time of booking.
The rooms were freezing! We requested a heater and were promptly given an oil-filled radiator. However, this was not enough to make much of a difference. We ended up turning on the stove too. Still freezing!
All rooms smelled quite musty.
Breakfast was okay. The surly cook could do with some happy pills though.
The close proximity to the OR Tambo is definitely a big bonus - and in fact was the major reason we chose to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwiPaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2009

Three of us stayed overnight prior to flying out the next day. This was the cheapest accommodation we could find close to the airport (5 mins) and was worth every cent - helpful staff, comfortable and spacious unit with lounge and kitchen, free shuttle to and from airport (we took our rental car back the evening before flying out and took the shuttle back to the guest house), and very reasonable breakfast. On the downsideour unit did not have airconditioning but fortunately we didn't need it.
It would have cost us an extra R1500 to stay in an airport hotel - not worth it.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnaitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2009

I stayed here twice for one night on each end of a trip to the Kruger area. It started with a rep from the guesthouse meeting us at the airport for the included transfer. The guesthouse is located in a suburb of Johannesburg called Kempton Park with close access both to JNB and the area's major highways. Reception was helpful and accomodating and the restaurant, while basic, was convenient after the grueling flight from the eastern US.

The grounds are clean and well-manicured and the rooms were simple, clean and spacious enough for its intended purpose, namely a place to stay near the airport. They had a bit of an ant problem but this was something pervasive throughout my entire stay in Africa so I can't fault them for that. All in all it was reasonably priced with a good breakfast and free airport transfers that made our lives much simpler. I would highly recommend this establishment for anyone needing a place to lay their head either before or after the long flight home.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SirVerity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Fl
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2008

Close to J'berg airport; great price; clean room; free airport pick up and drop. No frills but very solid and very nice.

  • Liked — value
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank peakbagger3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2007

My partner and I arrived in Jo'burg late afternoon and stayed one night at the Emerald Guest House in Kempton Park. We were met at the airport by a driver and ten minutes later we arrived at a lovely guest house complex with many rooms, swimming pool, small bar and restaurant. Owner Nico and his wife were most friendly and helpful, and we enjoyed a beer with them. We ate at their small cafe, which was very basic but good, and then relaxed. We left the next day for Mpumalanga, so it was an ideal stop over, and very reasonably priced at about $60 for two. The room was very comfortable. You do hear the airport noise, but it stops in late evening and begins around 5:30am. So, for location, ease, comfort and a brief stay, this guest house was terrific. [--]

Helpful?
2 Thank Blondesteven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
1,922 reviews
0.7 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
0.9 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#2 of 26 in Kempton Park
1,283 reviews
0.8 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Guest House

Property: Emerald Guest House
Address: 19 Halifax Street | Rhodesfield, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Emerald Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Emerald Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing