We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just What We Needed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just What We Needed”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We booked into this hotel for 1st and last leg of a recent trip abroad and they were for just one night each way so what we needed was: a clean comfortable bed with decent linen, tea/coffee making facilities, decent ablutions with toiletries, wake-up call, breakfast box for very early departures to airport, free shuttle to and from O R Tambo airport, especially "to" which was outside of normal hours i.e. 4h30 in the morning, and a decent place to eat dinner. Garden Court provided all that and dinner was at Rosie O' Gradys, on the premises. The beds were especially comfortable with very clean crisp linen. Best part of all, the rate was GREAT and included breakfast.

Room Tip: Any are good, either facing into the pool/garden or facing the car park, they are all quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Churashamba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ulrich k, General Manager at Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Churashamba, thank you for your positive rating on tripadvisor regarding your recent stay with us, your comments are highly appreciated. I am delighted to read about the positive aspects of your stay, and in particular that you found the beds so comfortable. We hope that you will continue visiting us and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit, kind regards Ulrich Kleer - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    228
    110
    22
    12
See reviews for
113
142
23
218
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Very excellent service from all staff members... Room was neat and cleaned daily. The highlight was the 1 gig received everyday to make life easy as today's business is about communication. It is value


  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Nandyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ulrich k, General Manager at Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Nandyt, thank you for your positive rating on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay with us. It is indeed a pleasure to receive such positive comments and am pleased you received such high levels of service from all the staff. We look forward to \welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future, kind regards - Ulrich Kleer , General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

It's very difficult to forget good and professional service. The stuff at reception and Kitchen were very polite and looked very presentable. The rooms and the hall ways were also very clean. There was nothing broken in the room. I enjoyed my dinner and breakfast. The close proximity to the airport is not a problem at all in terms of noise.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Lungelo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ulrich k, General Manager at Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Lungelo, thank for your recent posting on tripadvisor in respect of your stay with us. Your positive feedback is highly appreciated and am delighted to note that our service was of such a high standard and that the staff were very professional and polite. We woulg gladly welcome you back on your next visit, kind regards, Ulrich Kleer - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

At the Garden Court on conference with a night stay -over. The following observations:
- The power outtages are clearly related to work at the hotel as not all of it is losing power
- Only the absolute basics in the rooms - no bottled water, cotton rounds, or any of the "standards" at this price
- Buffet dinner: food was average, the carver's attitude stinks. Good service on the floor.
- Conference room Wi-Fi useless. Had to switch to my 3G modem.
- Breakfast starts at 06:30 - a little late for an airport hotel

At least the night was quiet.

Not great...

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamesixo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ulrich k, General Manager at Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Nico , thank you for your recent posting of our Hotel on tripadvisor. It is most dissappointing to note that not everything was to your satisfaction during your stay with us, and for this I sincerely apologise. The power outage was an unfortunate an unforseen circumstance and trust you were not too inconvenienced because of this. The attitude of the carver is certainly not indicative of our high levels of service we strive to achieve, and appreciate you bringing this to our attention. Our amenities provided in the rooms are in line with our 3 star offering, but do have additional items available on request, should this be required. The issue of the Wi-Fi will be investigated to ensure that a seamless delivery of this service is available at all times. Once again thank you for you constructive feedback and look forward to your next visit so we can redeem ourselves. kind regards, Ulrich Kleer - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Centrally situated and close to the airport. Choice of 2 restaurant. good pub, friendly staff .Close to main highways. just 10 minutes away from Southway mall. Stayed there for 4 weeks during a contract 5 minutes away with international quests. They were also satisfied with rooms and service provided.

Room Tip: Rooms on west and north facing quit, and a better view than east.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanBotha312595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ulrich k, General Manager at Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear JanBotha312595, thank you for your recent posting on tripadvisor regarding your stay at the Garden Court OR Tambo, it is highly appreciated. It gives me great delight to receive such positive comments about our property, especially in light of the fact they you stayed with us for such a long time. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future, warm regards - Ulrich Kleer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East London, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I enjoyed my stay at the Garden Court, OR Tambo. It was my first time staying with them. I will definitely use them every time I visit GP. It was more value for money when I had to use my points to pay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Mqwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ulrich k, General Manager at Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Mqwa, thank you for your recent posting on tripadvisor regarding your stay at the Garden Court OR Tambo. I am pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially this being your first visit to us. We hope to see you on many more visits in future so that we are able to welcome you back, warm regards - Ulrich Kleer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witbank, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Good place to meet friends and stay over. Efficient shuttle service to ORTambo no matter what time of day or night

Staff polite, efficient and helpful
Excellent breakfast. Very enjoyable stay. Rooms adequately furnished comfortable beds!


Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ulrich k, General Manager at Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Margaret H, thank you for your positive posting on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay with us. I am pleased to note that you were satisfied with the service received and am particularly pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast. I am also pleased to note that you made use of our convenient complimentary shuttle service. We hope to see you soon again, kind regards, Ulrich Kleer - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,971 reviews
0.5 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
0.5 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
1.5 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#2 of 26 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport

Property: Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
Address: 2 Hulley Road | Johannesburg Airport, Kempton Park 1601, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy ultimate convenience and comfort at Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport. Located within a few minutes from the Johannesburg Airport, this hotel is the ideal for travellers needing somewhere to rest during a stopover. Comfortably appointed rooms offer spacious living, private bathrooms and amenities that appeal to the business and leisure traveller alike. Several conference venues on the premises cater for business meetings of up to 250 persons, making it the perfect business destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing