We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Night to remember!”
Review of African Rock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
African Rock Hotel
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Night to remember!”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Thanks Imagine Africa agents this hotel was a fantastic overnight stay for our family. En route from Botswana to Mozambique. Personal transport to & from J'berg airport. Very high standard accommodation. Modern decor with personal attentive service. Hotel a little likes private house with a kitchen like a home but with 1st class cooks in the evening & morning. Personal 'One to one' service from the Head Chef with recommendations for wine per course. So personal & World class food. Great start to our next part of the trip. Highly recommend 5 out of 5.should suit families,business or couples.

Room Tip: Each room bespoke decor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OttiM, Owner at African Rock Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Hello Russell, Thank you for taking the time to write review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay here with us although it was a short one.
It makes us all happy if we can add to your positive Africa experience.
We wish you happy travels and we hope to see you again!
Otti Meijer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    46
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
35
207
13
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

This guest house has few, but comfortable rooms. Internet is free but the voucher only gives you 50MB which is worth like 2 min on Skype, so you have to keep on asking or pay for a bigger voucher. Overall area is not ample. Looks like a house with rooms attached. But service is Grade A as well as food, very well made. You have to everything by car, but if you need a overnight stay near the airport, it's fine.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberto_MJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OttiM, Owner at African Rock Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Dear Roberto, Thank you for your valued review.
"Discreet" describes us pretty well, thank you for using that. We are indeed only open to the invited guests and guests who book in advance, either through a tour-operator, travel agent or direct with us at the hotel. Yes the hotel is not huge, we have about 700 square meter under roof for guest use. the guest rooms, bar and restaurant are all down stairs and upstairs we have a lounge area and a private function area for the use of our guests.
Our WiFi provider is currently "Always On" who are also providing the wireless connectivity at the airports and numerous other larger hotels. we are using the "free to guest' voucher system which although far from ideal, it allows us to control the use of data to a certain extend. "Always On" bills us for a fixed amount of data on a monthly basis regardless of the data actually being used or not.......
Skype, especially Video Skype, consumes huge amounts of data, for this we actually have a voucher option which is valid for a specific period with no limit on the data being used. The duty manger should have offered you to use this option rather than the data option. Apologies for that please.
For sending large files, like video footage for broadcasting purposes, we issue free to guest vouchers in line with the size of the particular file that needs sending.
All hotels in the airport area are about 15 to 30 km away from good quality shopping malls, our closest, decent, Mall is 10km away. Thus yes, you are correct in saying we have to go everywhere by car. Options available for travelling in the area are our own chauffeur drive services, or car rental, which you can book with us at the reception either on arrival or when booking your accommodation. Budget rental car delivers your vehicle to the hotel if that is convenient or required.
Hotels here in the Johannesburg area which are close or adjacent to shopping facilities would be in the central business district of Sandton and Rosebank about 30km distance from the airport.
Thank you once again for your review and comments which are important to me and our staff as well as for other travelers in order to be able to make an informed decision on where to spend the night here in Johannesburg.
Happy travels!! ......and we are looking forward to welcoming you here with us again in four year's time together with your daughter. Otti & Zelda Meijer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

This is why one employs a travel agent (thank you Paul at Real Africa) I would never have found AR hotel on my own. We had just one night in Johannesburg as a stop over en route to Botswana and this could not have been a better start to the holiday. I dislike the impersonalty of the 5 star chain hotels and this establishment has 5 star quality with the personal touch that an hotel with just nine rooms can achieve.

The rooms are comfortable, spacious, clean and modern. Indeed the bath is in the room, quite a feature!! and the shower is first class.

The dining room is small and the food outstanding. The attention to detail by Christine, the chef when we stayed, is remarkable. She has a lovely personality and her description of the menu to each table was very welcome and helpful. She was in and out of the kitchen during the meal ensuring that all was well. There were no worries on that score, the cuisine matched the rest of the hotel in its quality and the prices were very reasonable.

The other front of house staff were equally pleasant and helpful, doing all that one would expect, such as check in for onward flights and organising excursions.

A wonderful place to stay whether for a business trip (there is a conference room although I did not see this) or as a holiday base.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OttiM, Owner at African Rock Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Thank you Nigel, for taking the time to write a review.
We appreciate it very much and we use all the reviews to improve our services and facilities where is required and possible off course. We are proud to have a good kitchen with our top chef Christine at the helm of it. Although we offer as a standard a 5 course "relaxed fine dining" experience, Christine is also able to adapt to any last minute special requests as all food is prepared a la minute.
Thank you once again and we wish you happy travels!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thetford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Stayed just one night in between flights. Location is close to Jo berg Airport and about a 15 minute drive away in a quiet area of the city !
Room we stayed in was excellent, spacious and with quality fittings.
Food in the Restaurant was special and breakfast the following morning just the ticket !
All staff were very friendly and attentive !
Highly recommended

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichG65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OttiM, Owner at African Rock Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2013
Thank you for your review, it means a lot to all members of the ARH team. It was a pleasure having you here with us and we hope to see you again on you next holiday to our part of the World. Kind regards, Otti Meijer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

I was sold by the previous review which is 100% correct. I stay for two-three days business in Joburg every year as well as many cities internationally. In Africa in particular the 4-5* places are soulless and depressing - but through a last minute booking based on Trip Advisor ranking I've just discovered I can stay at ARH, still be efficient in terms of getting to/from airport and business in town, have a great room, bathroom and bed, great service, great food, laundry service, cookies by the bed at night and above all, here the attention to detail is as good as anywhere in the world. It's only 9 rooms and you are basically staying in what used to be someones home. Room 1 is down in the back garden, and for 1 night I was the only person in for dinner. But any awkwardness was totally obliterated by the personal chef service at evening meals, and the general professionalism of the staff in all areas. Chef KT was brilliant as was Jet overall, but also others whose names aren't as easy to remember. Owners Otti and Zelda contributed in chatting to me and my work colleague making everything perfect. I hate the prospect of this place becoming so popular I can't repeat this experience but they deserve all the business they get.

Room Tip: Dine in whenever possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter_Tplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OttiM, Owner at African Rock Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time in your busy schedule to write such a detailed review, Chef TK (KT) and Jet are proud to see their names mentioned on TA. TA has become a good motivational tool for the staff and for the owners too off course. It is not possible to be everything to every one but our facilities, infrastructure and services seem to be in line with the expectations of our guests, be it business or leisure traveler. Thank you for your visit here with us and off course the chats we had. Looking forward to your next stay here with us! Safe travels and best regards
Otti Meijer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

4 day business trip from UK and can only praise as a continual traveller it is such a relieve to find such an Oasis rather than the global 4 and 5 star hotels. A special mention for Christine the chef whose cuisine is superb to match her personality. This will now be my home from home in Johannesburg. Thank you for the service and hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ecosse1612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OttiM, Owner at African Rock Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2013
Thank you kindly, I am honored that you have chosen us as you home away from home. We will keep up the current services we offer and improve or amend where is required by our guests.
Looking forward to seeing you here with us again! Travel safe and kind regards Otti Meijer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013 via mobile

We had only one night here but were totally pleased. The building is beautiful, contemporary, comfortable and elegant, and the grounds are lovely. The best surprise was the availability of a marvelous dinner with a great chef who recommended wines and prepared delicious food. So nice not to have to leave the premises, especially for a short stay. We would definitely return.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank donnaso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OttiM, Owner at African Rock Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Hi there,
Thank you very much for your review and the good comments and marks you awarded us. I will forward this review to our chefs Christine and TK, who are both, together with Jet and Gloria,our duty managers, busy with a wine pairing and serving training course to keep up to speed with the latest developments. We wish you well and many more happy travels! Otti & Zelda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kempton Park
3.6 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,060 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#2 of 26 in Kempton Park
1,330 reviews
4.2 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 68 in Johannesburg
727 reviews
4.2 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
11.1 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 68 in Johannesburg
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Rock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Rock Hotel

Property: African Rock Hotel
Address: 48 De Villiers Avenue | Van Riebeeck Estates, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — African Rock Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exclusive 5 star boutique hotel is located 10 km from the Johannesburg International Airport, O.R. Tambo in a quiet suburb of Kempton Park away from the flight path of arriving and departing planes. It has quick and easy high way access to Johannesburg, the Sandton area as well as Pretoria. A well established lush tropical garden, a swimming pool and large patio ensures relaxing outdoor living. The interior "look and feel" boosts a successful fusion of African, Western and Oriental design trends and offers a warm, welcoming and relaxing atmosphere. The architecture is contemporary, includes all modern day technologies is practical and comfortable. The hotel offers a complimentary meet and greet and a return airport transfer. The on site restaurant, The Blue Hippo, offers a fusion cuisine. All meals are prepared by a top chef with fresh ingredients and served in a fine dining manner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your African Rock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing