We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem - the best”
Review of African Rock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
African Rock Hotel
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

I spent 10 days at the African Rock on a business trip based at the airport, and it was just the best place to come back to after a hard day. Relaxing, quiet - the gardens are full of birds. The service is second to none, the food is superb, the rooms spotless and modern.
The attention to detail and the way you are treated so personally marks the Rock as above the others though. Details like the fire outside in the hearth every evening, offering to get in alternate dishes for the evening meal - any number of things which show they are thinking of you, and how to make you comfortable. Nothing is too much trouble.
It was a lovely stay and I can't recommend the Rock highly enough.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank BryceM61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OttiM, Owner at African Rock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Bryce, thank you for your review! I hope you had a pleasant journey back home!
It was an absolute pleasure having you here! I miss our chats in the car en-route to and from the airport and of course the jeweler in town! I hope to see you again when in Johannesburg, next time maybe with partner if not for work. Kind regards, also from Zelda, Otti.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 333 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

The last night before returning to Australia I stayed at this beautiful small Hotel with my sister, we arrived quite late from Windhoek and were met with big smiles from Otti and his wife Zelda. We had a great big room with large bathroom and everything was there./ We had a 5 course meal fantastic from Christine and great wine, we were allowed to stay a late check out as our flights were not leaving for Oz at 10 and Amsterdam at 11pm. More snacks a swim in the pool and a perfect ending to a 3 week trip to Namibia and SA. Would like to return to African Rock Hotels just for the friendliness and food alone, Thank you Otti and Thank You Zelda. I ran out of room in my suitcase otherwise I would Have bought your zebra.s

Room Tip: All rooms are brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wytske C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OttiM, Owner at African Rock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear Wytske, It was a pleasure!! having you both here!!
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we all do appreciate it very much!!
We hope to see you both again sometime.....Warm regards and go well!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Our group of 11 stayed here for one night in September. It was ideal, comfortable and close to the airport. The pick ups and transfers back to the airport the next day were well managed and we felt safe and respected. The rooms were well appointed and comfortable. The food was enjoyable and they went to trouble making sure that all our dietary needs were catered for.
Thank you to all the staff at Africa Rock.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meredith95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OttiM, Owner at African Rock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thank you for the review, you had a nice group of people you where leading through our part of the World.
It is always a great pleasure and honor for us to meet and accommodate guests that come from so far away to visit us and show appreciation and respect towards the team. Thank you again and we hope to be able to host you again the next time you visit Johannesburg! Happy travels, Otti Meijer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We were looking for a place to stay overnight whilst transferring between cities. Surrounding hotels either came in way to expensive or felt under priced and unsafe. We chose African Rock Hotel for these reasons:
* Free transfers to and from the airport - an easy 20 min drive. Otti picked us up and gave us a warm greeting and welcome to SA.
* Amazingly comfortable accommodation and friendly staff.
* Presentation of the hotel is fantastic - this hotel was previously a house which has been converted into a 5 star hotel. The plus side is it isn't a large hotel, so your needs are catered to without waiting, no queues, just quiet.
* The dining experience was delicious, one of the best steaks we have ever had - highly recommend the fillet. Chefs are very familiar with their cuisine and also wines to match.

Overall a fantastic stay, one that we would gladly do again. Thank you Otti and team for a great visit. Ryan & Tahns.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Rhinotown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OttiM, Owner at African Rock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear Ryan & Tahns,
Thank you very much for your review, much appreciated by all here at ARH.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We had a wonderful, relaxing stay on our last day flying out of Joburg. It was no problem at all to do a very late checkout (20pm). They even offered to wash our car (very dirty after 3weeks of camping). The only hard thing is to find the hotel. We drove around for 30min and only found it after calling and asking for directions.
The chef cook Christina was very passionate and made us an excellent dinner.
Thanks for making our last day in this wonderful country so special.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Thanks to African Adventure Company, we had a two night stay in the African Rock Hotel near the airport in Johannesburg. This little gem is in a gated residential community and would be nearly impossible for a tourist to find. Fortunately, they come to the airport to greet you and pick you up. The property is only 9 rooms. The rooms are large, clean and well furnished. The staff, to a person, was friendly, helpful and interested in your welfare. The restaurant was superb, complimentary breakfast cooked to order. Dinner was a 5 course affair with gourmet cooking and service. The wine selection was good and inexpensive. The owner and his wife were around and very involved in everything. All in all, I would rate this 9 of 10, the location being the only reason I did not do 10 of 10.

Room Tip: Any room is good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We planned to stay at the Afican Rock Hotel just a a place to be after our long flights between Chicago and Johannesburg. A place to rest and recover, but we found much more. We were greeted at the airport by a very friendly driver, who provided a nice conversation about the local area as we drove to the hotel. After a warm welcome, we were shown to our room, a beautifully decorated place to begin to unwind. The service was attentive and extremely helpful, and each room of the hotel was perfectly decorated with South African stones and other artwork.
A special treat was sitting at a chef's table, near the kitchen, and watching chef Christine Agumba and her staff prepared beautiful and tasty dishes. We chose to have her 5 course tasting menu, paired with wines. What a treat.
The next day, after a delicious breakfast, we planned for a day of touring. We asked if a box lunch could be prepared for us and in no time a delicious lunch box appeared with just the things we needed to help us through the day. That evening we chose to stay at the hotel for dinner again and were rewarded with another delicious meal, and attentive service. We finished the evening on the patio near the pool in front a very friendly fire.

The next day we had to leave, but wished we could stay. We will make this a stop on all future trips to Johannesburg, both coming and leaving.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kempton Park
3.6 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,261 reviews
4.3 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
2.9 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#2 of 26 in Kempton Park
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace
10.9 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Johannesburg
766 reviews
4.2 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Rock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Rock Hotel

Address: 48 De Villiers Avenue | Van Riebeeck Estates, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Price Range: £193 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — African Rock Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exclusive 5 star boutique hotel is located 10 km from the Johannesburg International Airport, O.R. Tambo in a quiet suburb of Kempton Park away from the flight path of arriving and departing planes. It has quick and easy high way access to Johannesburg, the Sandton area as well as Pretoria. A well established lush tropical garden, a swimming pool and large patio ensures relaxing outdoor living. The interior "look and feel" boosts a successful fusion of African, Western and Oriental design trends and offers a warm, welcoming and relaxing atmosphere. The architecture is contemporary, includes all modern day technologies is practical and comfortable. The hotel offers a complimentary meet and greet and a return airport transfer. The on site restaurant, The Blue Hippo, offers a fusion cuisine. All meals are prepared by a top chef with fresh ingredients and served in a fine dining manner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your African Rock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing