We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of African Rock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
African Rock Hotel
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
Kruger National Park, South Africa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I had a wonderful stay at the African Rock Hotel. It started with a warm and friendly greeting accompanied by a welcome drink. My room was beautifully decorated and the attention to detail was amazing. The garden was lovely and very tranquil. The food was excellent as was the service. It was in a quiet location and because it is in a gated estate I felt very safe. I thought that my overall experience was excellent and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Archie9898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OttiM, Owner at African Rock Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review!! We are looking forward to welcoming you here with us again later this year. Happy travels Otti & Zelda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    46
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
35
206
13
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new orleans
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We have been coming to Johannesburg for several years, usually staying at one of the more well-known hotels. This past trip, Because of the recommendations of our safari outfitter, we and our group stayed at the Africa rock. it was absolutely perfect. Contemporary, well-designed and maintained rooms and grounds. The owners ,Otti and Zelda , are a builder and an artist and it shows in the meticulous and creative design and operation of this wonderful sanctuary. They are wonderful hosts and can help you with any tours or activities you may be interested in. Because they are in a quiet, off the beaten path area, they offer incredible meals served in an intimate, comfortable setting only a few yards from your room. on top of everything else, this hotel also maintains a flavor of modern Africa without the use of plastic or artificial façades. I would not think of staying anywhere else in Johannesburg.

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seascience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OttiM, Owner at African Rock Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Hi Seasience, Sorry I missed your review. Thank you for taking the time to write it. It was an absolute pleasure having you here, both Zelda and I enjoyed our outing together in the city!
We are looking forward to your next stay with us later this year! Happy travels, Otti & Zelda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diablo CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

The African Rock is a wonderful boutique hotel hidden away in a very quiet gated neighborhood. I can recommend this property to anyone looking for peace and quiet in JNB. The dinner was excellent. The service attentive. The rooms clean. The atmosphere friendly.

Mike Maloon

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OttiM, Owner at African Rock Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Mike,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we all do appreciate it very much! Yes, the hotel is the only business within a quiet gated residential community. Although convenient stores are very close by and a decent shopping center only 10km down the road. On a walk or jog in the neighborhood you are bound to meet some of the residents doing the same. Happy Travels, Otti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Take just 15-20 minutes to check in to this great boutique hotel. A private shuttle will pick you up and drop you off. Really nice decorated rooms and general areas, very releaxed garden with small swimming pool (day) and fire place (evening), personal and cosy atmosphere and a good restaurant. All in all excellent facilities for both private as well as business travellers. I would recommend African Rock over any hotel located directly at the airport. The 15 minutes drive is more than worth it!

Room Tip: Do not take the room next to the reception. Although convenient, we found the other rooms even nicer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joopie14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OttiM, Owner at African Rock Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Google Translation
Hi Joopie14, Dank voor de beoordeling, Ja, we zijn er voor de mensen die liever niet in een groot city of airport hotel overnachten. De kleinschaligheid maakt het niet alleen exclusief maar maakt het ook mogenlijk om een meer persoonlijke service te bieden. Het is belangrijk voor ons om onze gasten en hun wensen te begrijpen en daarvolgens te handelen. Aan de locatie en de infrastructuur kunnen we niet meer veranderen maar aan de rest word constant gewerkt om bij te blijven met de wensen van de gast! Vriendelijke groeten Otti.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

This hotel is truly a surprise. The hotel is only 20 minutes from the airport of Jo'burg, but has all the facilities you can be looking for. Rooms are spacious, but a bit dark. A great garden with swimming-pool. An outside fireplace in front of which you can enjoy drinks and dinner. A bar and restaurant and even a wonderful shop. Gloria's smile in the morning makes you happy for the rest of the day. Christina's cooking is very tasty and the prices of three course dinners (5 if you count the in between sorbets) are very, very reasonable. We wanted to leave part of our luggage because we brought diving equipment but first went to Botswana for safari. This was not a problem at all for them and very comfortable for us. I can only state: if your looking for a place to stay in the neighbourhood of Jo'burg don't look further: book African Rock Hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bredero5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OttiM, Owner at African Rock Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Google Translation
Hallo, Bedankt voor de beoordeling en fijn dat jullie het hier bij ons naar jullie zijn gehad hebben!
Groetjes en tot de volgende keer!! Otti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We always spend a night in Johannesburg before or after our long haul Australian flights and usually overnight at one of the airport 5 star hotels....they were fully booked this time so we decided to try the African Rock Hotel....Wow...what a wonderful surprise.

Our airport pick up and drop off was very punctual and the driver very pleasant and entertaining.

The B&B Hotel is stunning with very tasteful decor. Our room was spacious with a lovely large free standing bath. We enjoyed lazing around the pool in the landscaped garden and in the evenings the candles are lit giving the whole place a wonderful ambience. Dinner that evening was delicious as was breakfast the next day.....we hung around all day not wanting to leave to catch our flight! But very reluctantly said goodbye to the friendly staff and Otti the delightful owner who we thoroughly enjoyed meeting. We can't recommend them highly enough to any overseas visitors needing a close and utterly indulgent stopover in Johannesburg with an authentic African flavour.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzyDimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OttiM, Owner at African Rock Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Hi there, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We hope to be able to welcome you here with us again! Happy Travels and warm regards Otti.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pender island
Level Contributor
71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

African Rock is great because it is close to Jo'berg international airport yet far enough away that it is quiet and comfortable. Rooms are very modern, reasonably spacious and well equipped. Food is o.k. (it appears to be cooked by cooking school trainees) but there is a little lack of truth in advertising. The "five course meal" is really three courses with two servings of sherbet to clear the palate between them. Also, there were a few electrical problems as rooms seem to share circuitry but they were readily repaired when occupants complained. The airport pick up and drop off is great. Even though we had booked weeks before, they met us right on time and also had us booked to meet our outgoing flights without us giving them the details. If you get Musa (sp?) as your driver, you will get a quick humorous lesson on South African arts, culture, sports, religion and politics as you travel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bucketlistmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OttiM, Owner at African Rock Hotel, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear Mrs P, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is much appreciated by all of us. We share reviews with the relevant staff. This motivates, stimulates and where required assists with adjusting procedures and duties. Our in-house restaurant, the Blue Hippo, it got its name from the huge painting, hanging in the double volume area of the restaurant, is run by Head Chef Christine with the assistance of Chef TK. Both professionally trained and duly qualified chefs.
Head Chef Christine with her 11 years + experience in top end restaurants and regarded by most of our valued guests as a “food authority” on her own, designs most dishes and sets the menu of the day.
The younger Chef, TK, the chef on dinner service on the day you were here, is a young passionate chef, born and raised in rural KwaZulu Natal and a proud Zulu lady. Under the guidance of Christine, she gets the opportunity to also hone her communication skills with guests when explaining the different menu courses and pairing the wine at the guest’s dinner table.
We offer in general a “relaxed fine dining experience” which consists of a starter, a sorbet as palette cleanser, choice of 3 mains, a palette cleanser, and a desert. The palette cleansers can be a sorbet or a salad or another suitable dish to cleanse the palette, this depends on the menu choice of the day. Hence the 5 courses she must have mentioned when at your table.
We do not advertise any number of courses anywhere, only the dinner chef on the day might mention it while explaining the menu and pairing the different wines with the starter the main and the desert.
November is the time of year when we have our fair share of electrical storms here on the Highveld and these storms sometimes cause outages.
The design of the electricity cable layout in the hotel is such that it is divided into 3 sections and each section has its own protection in the form of a search protector and an Earth Leakage trip switch which will cut the power before any damage can be done to equipment or infrastructure.
It can happen that the power trips in one section of the hotel without the duty manager being aware of this unless a guest or somebody else mentions this.
As a back-up power system we have a powerful battery pack and inverter system which kicks in automatically by a power cut and it supplies clean power to all outside lights, all guest rooms and other key operational areas such as the kitchen.
Musa is becoming an institution of his own, he, together with the duty manger of the day is responsible for the planning of all daily transfers and other day trips we offer. Musa, like all others here, loves his job and enjoys to communicate and tell his stories and when in the right frame of mind he will sing for you his songs…..
Thank you for making our part of the World a part of your Bucket List, we hope to see you here again on your next visit to this part of Africa. Happy Travels, Otti.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kempton Park
3.6 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,015 reviews
4.2 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
2.9 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#2 of 26 in Kempton Park
1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 68 in Johannesburg
715 reviews
4.2 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
11.1 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 68 in Johannesburg
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Rock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Rock Hotel

Property: African Rock Hotel
Address: 48 De Villiers Avenue | Van Riebeeck Estates, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — African Rock Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exclusive 5 star boutique hotel is located 10 km from the Johannesburg International Airport, O.R. Tambo in a quiet suburb of Kempton Park away from the flight path of arriving and departing planes. It has quick and easy high way access to Johannesburg, the Sandton area as well as Pretoria. A well established lush tropical garden, a swimming pool and large patio ensures relaxing outdoor living. The interior "look and feel" boosts a successful fusion of African, Western and Oriental design trends and offers a warm, welcoming and relaxing atmosphere. The architecture is contemporary, includes all modern day technologies is practical and comfortable. The hotel offers a complimentary meet and greet and a return airport transfer. The on site restaurant, The Blue Hippo, offers a fusion cuisine. All meals are prepared by a top chef with fresh ingredients and served in a fine dining manner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your African Rock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing