We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”
Review of African Rock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
African Rock Hotel
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Great place, great chef, great people. Gracious and helpful when we had some problems with our travel plans. The grounds are beautiful as well as the common area and rooms. Felt like home. We will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peloha1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OttiM, Owner at African Rock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Hi there, Thank you very much for your short and sweet review! We will be here for you when you come back!! Save Travels!! Otti & The team at ARH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (326)
There are newer reviews for African Rock Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 326 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2014

The African Rock was a great stopover hotel for us. We had just flown in from the UK and were due to fly out to Sabi Sands the next day. From picking us up at the airport until they dropped us off the staff and owner couldn't have done more for us. It is a boutique hotel and the quality of the decor matches this. A highlight for us was the evening meal, excellent food cooked by a chef who comes to the table to explain the menu to you and how she can adapt it to your personal preferences. Service doesn't get much better.
One other bonus is that you are close to the airport but no aircraft noise so I assume they are off the flight paths.
Would thoroughly recommend it, gives you a really good feeling about South Africa and your holiday to come if it is your first night there.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OttiM, Owner at African Rock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you kindly for your review, Your comments are much appreciated by all here at African Rock. They motivate us all to keep on doing what we are doing and improving where we can and where necessary. We hope you enjoyed your holiday here in our part of the world, and had a great time and brilliant game sightings while on safari at Sabi Sabi! We wish you many happy travels and maybe we will see again here in Johannesburg! Warm regards Otti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Perfect for us in just about every way. We thoroughly enjoyed staying here. The Staff are fantastic, willing to accommodate our needs and always with a smile. The atmosphere is relaxing, secure and secluded, everything is beautiful to the eye. The food was exquisite, the outdoor log fire a home from home. Artwork and cosy spaces dotted around the place for pure pleasure. Great facilities for a boutique hotel.

Our room was stunning and the only slight niggle was low level of natural light. Everything else first class.

Thank you Otti and Zelda and the Team for creating a special experience. We would love to return one day.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OttiM, Owner at African Rock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you Sara, for your wonderful review, much appreciated!! We are glad you enjoyed your stay here with us! Yes, some of our rooms have large trees close by, blocking out the sun, which is great in summer when it is hot but it filters the natural light at the same time. A bit of a compromise unfortunately but the trees are staying though :) ... We wish you many happy travels wherever you go and hope to see you here again in our part of the World! Otti & Zelda and team....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

After an overnight flight from the UK, this was the perfect boutique hotel to recover in before flying on to Sabi Sand.
Convenient to Joburg airport, we had a good sized room with all amenities. Small pool with sun loungers to relax on in a lovely leafy garden. The chef came to describe the evening meal which was delicious – our first taste of food in S Africa.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Salisburyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OttiM, Owner at African Rock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to write a review! It is much appreciated by all here at the hotel! I love the photo of you in our special the hanging chair!! :) Happy Travels!! Otti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

15 minutes from the Tambo International airport via friendly hotel-supplied driver. Room was spacious and host was friendly. Garden with swimming pool was a relaxing place to be for either drinks or dinner. Dinner was served inside as well (not included). Dinner was a choice of appetizer and main course. In our case, we split one meal. The chef was happy to do so. Food was very good. Highly recommended place to stay.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Chuck E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OttiM, Owner at African Rock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Hi there Chuck, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review! It is much appreciated. Yes, we offer complimentary Airport return transfers, we are located in a quiet residential neighborhood where it is possible to go for walks or go jogging, or just relax under the palm trees in our tropical garden. Happy travels!! Otti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Although not on the airport complex, the African Rock Hotel is the perfect place to stay between flights.

For us it started with Musa waiting for us at the airport at 7am. During the 10minute transfer to the hotel he told us about some of his amusing experiences. The hotel is located in a gated community and has 8 comfortable rooms.

Outside there is a lovely garden with a small pool an ideal area to relax and recover from a long overnight flight.

The hotel provided an excellent lunch which later on in the day was surpassed by Chef Christine's excellent 5 course dinner with matching wines.

Finally Musa was there again to take us back to the airport for our safari flight.

African Rock Hotel will be a must stay on our next visit to Johannesburg Airport.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank reded46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OttiM, Owner at African Rock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you for your kind review, Yes, we are outside the noise zone of the Airport. Our property is perfect to spend some time in a calm and relaxing atmosphere. Wellness treatments are also available as well as city site seeing tours if you have more time on hand on you next stay with us.
Happy Travels from all of us here at ARH. Otti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The rooms were well decorated and quiet hence, the sleep experience was perfect.

We most enjoyed our time with the onsite team - Chef Christine is truly a treasure, turning out fabulous meal after meal. Gloria and her front staff colleagues were truly fabulous, we felt truly pampered and thoroughly spoiled. The length the team would go to assist us - from helping to arrange last minute tours and even to organising a visit to get the required African braids! Our only regret was that we could not tip as much as we would have wished, by then already running low on funds :( They really are a wonderful team and we thank them sincerely.

We also enjoyed the interactions with other guests and discussing travel plans and tips. We found out most guests were either heading to or returning from the same places.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AwesomeThings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OttiM, Owner at African Rock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Thank you very much for your review, it was a pleasure having you all here and being able to assist with your requests. We hope to see you here again soon! We wish you happy travels!! Otti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kempton Park
3.6 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,187 reviews
4.3 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
2.9 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#2 of 26 in Kempton Park
1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Johannesburg
760 reviews
4.2 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
4.8 mi away
Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Rock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Rock Hotel

Address: 48 De Villiers Avenue | Van Riebeeck Estates, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Price Range: £178 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — African Rock Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exclusive 5 star boutique hotel is located 10 km from the Johannesburg International Airport, O.R. Tambo in a quiet suburb of Kempton Park away from the flight path of arriving and departing planes. It has quick and easy high way access to Johannesburg, the Sandton area as well as Pretoria. A well established lush tropical garden, a swimming pool and large patio ensures relaxing outdoor living. The interior "look and feel" boosts a successful fusion of African, Western and Oriental design trends and offers a warm, welcoming and relaxing atmosphere. The architecture is contemporary, includes all modern day technologies is practical and comfortable. The hotel offers a complimentary meet and greet and a return airport transfer. The on site restaurant, The Blue Hippo, offers a fusion cuisine. All meals are prepared by a top chef with fresh ingredients and served in a fine dining manner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your African Rock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing