We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of African Rock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
African Rock Hotel
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Fabulous setting, warm hospitality, fantastic service and excellent cuisine prepared by a delightful chef. Ottie and Zelda are wonderful hosts and made me feel so welcome and so at home. All the staff are so friendly and go the extra mile to make sure you have an unforgettable stay.

The Hotel and the rooms are beautifully decorated and have every amenity you need.

I highly recommend a few nights here to explore the sights and sounds of Jo'burg. I can't wait to go back...but for longer next time :-)

Thank you Ottie, Zelda and Team for a wonderful evening.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonsussens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OttiM, Owner at African Rock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Hi there Sonsussens, Thank you for spending the night here with us! It was a pleasure having you here for a short while. Zelda really enjoyed the time with you around the fire place outside and it seems you two got to know each other pretty well in such a short time. Having the same love and passion for the remote outdoors and animals and secondly interior design. We wish you good luck with the building and designing of your new home!! We will most certainly try to come and see you soon!! Otti & Zelda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 340 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

Welcomed at the airport by Calvin. Warm welcome at arrival. Clear orientation from beginning to end. Recommended by South African tour agent Allison Oosthuisen. Rooms spacious and comfortable. Everything worked! Each room has own personality ...named after jades. Art work by Otti and Zelda...owners. Breakfast and dinners delicious and scrumptious...served hot. Chef Christine explained five course dinners and wines to match. Service above and beyond anything experienced anywhere else or other countries. We were welcomed to stay until our planes departed at night. Cannot say enough good praise and appreciation for staff's hospitality and calming, comfortable environment. When I asked for two slices of their freshly baked breakfast bread to take back to my husband, they prepared a freshly backed loaf, sliced it and placed it in a tupperware container. WOW ! We will be returning. JudyO from Indiana USA

Room Tip: Four rooms were excellent in decor, comfort and quiet. Room 2 is a large suite...more than comforta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lifetimlernr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OttiM, Owner at African Rock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dearest Judy, It was a delight for all of us, having you here with us for a couple of days while visiting Johannesburg with your friends. I am glad that we could add value to your Africa experiences also through the many add hoc tours you embarked on with Petra from Firelight Tours. It just shows your huge and genuine interest in the history, the people and the areas you visit, we really appreciate that very much! I hope your husband enjoyed the home baked bread and maybe he will let you wander off to Africa once again to get some more... :) We wish you both only the best in whatever project you embark on.... and of course happy travels!! from all of here! Otti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

For an intimate, cosy and pampered experience, you've just got to try African Rock Hotel! Christine, the amazing chef, will delight you with her character, delicious cuisine and wonderful charm! The waiter, Jimmy, has a smile that'll warm your heart and the owners, Otti & Zelda, who have ensured perfection in every area of their boutique hotel, will make you feel like part of the family! The rooms are stunning and comfy and you'll definitely find it a struggle to leave! LOVE the fireplace for outdoor dining! Try it .. you won't be disappointed! Lorinda & Clyde

Room Tip: All rooms are ideally situated and the quiet environment allows for privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L0rinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OttiM, Owner at African Rock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Lorinda, Thank you for writing this review. It was an absolute pleasure having you and your new husband here with us. Your comments mean a lot to us all, especially if one considers the huge amount amount of travelling you two do and the number of nights you have to spend away from home! Thank you very much, save travels! .... and we hope to see you again in the not too distant future! Yours, Otti & Zelda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We had a wonderful time at the African Rock Hotel. After our amazing dinner we sat outside by the fire talking with the owners and some of their friends. It was a very cozy atmosphere with fire and lanterns lit along the walk way.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OttiM, Owner at African Rock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Hi there Cindy, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, much appreciated! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here and our company. It was great meeting you 2 as well and getting a glimpse of the good work you two do!! We wish you good luck and success with your endeavors!!
Happy Travels, Zelda & Otti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

At least twice a year we are staying in this wonderfull, warm hotel. Every time it feels like coming home. The staff is great.
And the chef already knows what we like to drink. Rooms always in top condition and the loopdop beside the open fire is much appreciated.
Otti and Zelda be proud of your wonderfull hotel.
We hope to return many times. Greetings to all of the staff members

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank AenH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OttiM, Owner at African Rock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Hi there AenH, Thank you for taking the time out of you busy schedules to write a review. You should know, It is always a great pleasure to have you here with us. As soon as your name shows in the reservation system, the word goes out, everybody knows within minutes and they look forward to welcoming you here again!! Enjoy your time at home during summer time and we will see you here again in our summer later this year!! Warm regards Otti & Zelda and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Great place, great chef, great people. Gracious and helpful when we had some problems with our travel plans. The grounds are beautiful as well as the common area and rooms. Felt like home. We will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peloha1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OttiM, Owner at African Rock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Hi there, Thank you very much for your short and sweet review! We will be here for you when you come back!! Save Travels!! Otti & The team at ARH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

The African Rock was a great stopover hotel for us. We had just flown in from the UK and were due to fly out to Sabi Sands the next day. From picking us up at the airport until they dropped us off the staff and owner couldn't have done more for us. It is a boutique hotel and the quality of the decor matches this. A highlight for us was the evening meal, excellent food cooked by a chef who comes to the table to explain the menu to you and how she can adapt it to your personal preferences. Service doesn't get much better.
One other bonus is that you are close to the airport but no aircraft noise so I assume they are off the flight paths.
Would thoroughly recommend it, gives you a really good feeling about South Africa and your holiday to come if it is your first night there.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OttiM, Owner at African Rock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you kindly for your review, Your comments are much appreciated by all here at African Rock. They motivate us all to keep on doing what we are doing and improving where we can and where necessary. We hope you enjoyed your holiday here in our part of the world, and had a great time and brilliant game sightings while on safari at Sabi Sabi! We wish you many happy travels and maybe we will see again here in Johannesburg! Warm regards Otti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kempton Park
3.6 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,334 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#2 of 26 in Kempton Park
1,409 reviews
4.3 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Johannesburg
777 reviews
5.0 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Hotel at Emperors Palace
4.8 mi away
Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Rock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Rock Hotel

Address: 48 De Villiers Avenue | Van Riebeeck Estates, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Price Range: £184 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — African Rock Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exclusive 5 star boutique hotel is located 10 km from the Johannesburg International Airport, O.R. Tambo in a quiet suburb of Kempton Park away from the flight path of arriving and departing planes. It has quick and easy high way access to Johannesburg, the Sandton area as well as Pretoria. A well established lush tropical garden, a swimming pool and large patio ensures relaxing outdoor living. The interior "look and feel" boosts a successful fusion of African, Western and Oriental design trends and offers a warm, welcoming and relaxing atmosphere. The architecture is contemporary, includes all modern day technologies is practical and comfortable. The hotel offers a complimentary meet and greet and a return airport transfer. The on site restaurant, The Blue Hippo, offers a fusion cuisine. All meals are prepared by a top chef with fresh ingredients and served in a fine dining manner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your African Rock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing