We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stop over”
Review of African Rock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
African Rock Hotel
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“stop over”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Welcoming, friendly and helpful. We had to suddenly change plans and they fitted us in and fed us quite late in the day.

On our 2 nd stay we had an amazing meal of 5 courses and selected wines for £25/head. The chef presented the menu and really made an effort. Thoroughly recommend!

Room Tip: Ask for what you want. We wanted a double and a twin which they provded
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2031lizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OttiM, Owner at African Rock Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your comment Lizzy. I am glad we could assist. You are right we are flexible with regards to the bed configuration.All our rooms can be twinned from a double king size bed to 2 single beds. Room 1 and 2 can be converted to a family room by using the sleeper couch as an extra bed for children not older then 12 years of age. We wish you happy travels and hope to see you here again. Otti.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    46
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
35
207
13
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Wow!! What a delicious morsel of a hotel. WE have traveled the world and have not found a hotel as unique and as different as the Africa Rock Hotel. The owners are on site and have designed this boutique hotel to match their eclectic taste. Each room is unique!! The dinning room is fabulous - the chef comes to each table to discuss the menu and take your selection. Wine selection is very good. Staff is warm and friendly. If you have to pick one hotel in all of Africa to spend a few days or so, plus close to the airport, this is the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OttiM, Owner at African Rock Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you Tim, for your kind comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us, it was a pleasure having you here with us for a short while. It is so rewarding for us all here to get comments like these! I promise, we will keep on doing what we doing and improve where it is required. We wish you many more happy travels!!! Otti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naarden, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Never wanted to go to Jo'burg, let alone stay overnight. But this time we had to because of our combined trip to Botswana, Zimbabwe and South Africa. Our travel agency, Gemsbokreizen from the Netherlands adviced us this place. And omg, what was I wrong all these years for not wanting to go to Jo'burg. First and absolutely because of this small and initimite hotel in a very (if not the safest) part of Jo'burg. Really nice decorated and very and I mean very well run by Otti (Dutch from origin) and his wife Zelda. Otti helped us out really good by lending a travelbag to us because one of our suitcases didn't arrive (long story...).
Exceptional friendly and helpful staff! Thanks to you all for making our stay special. We have to mention 2 of them: first Calvin, the driver who will bring you back and forth to the airport. He will look after you very well. And second Christine. As many more mentioned here in the reviews, her cooking was really lovely! We gained weight!
Originally we would stay for 2 seperate nights. But we loved our stay at this hotel that much that we decided to come back for our last night before taking off to The Netherlands. We'd fly out very late at night, so they could give us a late check-out (but now high season begun, so maybe not possible now). We could leave our luggage in the room and decided to do a day trip to Jo'burg with a guide. The hotel arranged it. We got Petra as our guide. She really knows her way around and could tell us a lot about the city. We visited several places in town, but Apartheidsmuseum, house of Mandela in Soweto and a drive around Soweto you should do!! And next time we like to see and experience more of Jo'burg. And stay at this highly recommended hotel again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OttiM, Owner at African Rock Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Hallo Gaos. Thank you so much for this wonderful review. We are happy we could add value to your stay in Johannesburg. I am sorry I missed you..... by about a minute,.... to say goodbye, Calvin was to quick. :) . I am sure you will be back here in South Africa not to long from now and we will be here to welcome you again. Yes, thank you, we have a great and dedicated team, all of them share our vision and values, which make running the hotel an absolute pleasure! We wish you many more happy travels!! Until next time here in Johannesburg, Otti Meijer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Hi we stayed @ African Rock Hotel from June 3 to June 5. The service was excellent. We are a family of three and we had a wonderful stay in this hotel. The food was very good. We had left our camera at the bus that brought us from our Safari to Johannesburg and they help us call the company and Calvin went and pick up the camera for us. Thanks for a wonderful service.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luzo_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OttiM, Owner at African Rock Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Luzo, It was an absolute pleasure having you here with us for a couple of days. I am glad we could assist in getting your camera back, only a pleasure! Happy Travels!! Otti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed over one night on business. Hotel is located in gated residential area about 15 min drive from JNB OR Tambo airport & has the feel of a real home more than a hotel. Very at tentative & warm hearted staff. Dinner is 5 course menu & chef Christin served the best herb butter crusted beef fillet I have tasted in many years! Stayed in luxury room no 8, turquoise color theme. Stunning free standing bathtub next to bed & shower. Loved the rain shower. The hotel pays tribute to the ROCK theme with attention to detail everywhere. They even lit a fire outside to warm up post dinner in the middle of winter. Can definetly recommend!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Miriam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OttiM, Owner at African Rock Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Hi Miriam, Thank you for your review, much appreciated coming from an industry professional! Yes the outside fire is roaring every night, that way one can enjoy the crisp winter evenings more. I am glad we could make you feel at home during your stay, it is our intention! I wish you happy travels where ever you go!! Warm regards Otti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
333 reviews
264 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We had to overnight 2 x in Johannesburg and we debated whether we should just go for ease and "known quality" and stay right at the airport or drive the 11 Km (20 - 30 Min) and stay at a smaller more discrete and intimate place - we choice African Rock and it was the best decision we made. The pick up and drop offs at the airport were fast and painless. The hotel itself which was in a quiet residential area and in what seemed to be a converted residential house. The rooms were large, clean and comfortable. The showers great and the service phenomenal. The absolute best part though was Christine the cook. After the first night's dinner we could not wait to get back to have Christine cook for us again. The breakfast was also tasty. Would recommend African Rock to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CDNTRAVELLERS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OttiM, Owner at African Rock Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. These reviews motivate all of us to keep on doing what we do but at the same time we always look where we can adapt in order to improve our services. I see you have already written 74 reviews which makes your review carry a lot of weight! Thank you again and we wish you many more happy travels and wonderful experiences!! Otti Meijer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

A small intimate hotel in a quiet area close to the airport; this is a lovely comfortable place to stay after a long flight. The food in the restaurant was delicious, both dinner and breakfast. We flew out the next morning. For a comfortable good nights sleep with good food and excellent service I highly recommend African Rock.

Room Tip: The room close to the office was very comfortable & quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Casey4545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OttiM, Owner at African Rock Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Casey, Your review is appreciated , thank you very much! I am glad we could add more value to your Africa experience!! I wish you many more beautiful days in Africa, also on you next visit to our part of the World. Happy Travels, Otti Meijer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kempton Park
3.6 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,062 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#2 of 26 in Kempton Park
1,330 reviews
4.2 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 68 in Johannesburg
727 reviews
4.2 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
11.1 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 68 in Johannesburg
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Rock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Rock Hotel

Property: African Rock Hotel
Address: 48 De Villiers Avenue | Van Riebeeck Estates, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — African Rock Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exclusive 5 star boutique hotel is located 10 km from the Johannesburg International Airport, O.R. Tambo in a quiet suburb of Kempton Park away from the flight path of arriving and departing planes. It has quick and easy high way access to Johannesburg, the Sandton area as well as Pretoria. A well established lush tropical garden, a swimming pool and large patio ensures relaxing outdoor living. The interior "look and feel" boosts a successful fusion of African, Western and Oriental design trends and offers a warm, welcoming and relaxing atmosphere. The architecture is contemporary, includes all modern day technologies is practical and comfortable. The hotel offers a complimentary meet and greet and a return airport transfer. The on site restaurant, The Blue Hippo, offers a fusion cuisine. All meals are prepared by a top chef with fresh ingredients and served in a fine dining manner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your African Rock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing