We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
African Tribes Guest Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$159
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$392
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$348
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$194
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$332
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$224
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$157
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sunrock Guesthouse(Kempton Park)
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveller rating
5
11
2
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
5
11
2
3
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 26 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We stayed at African Tribes twice, two nights on our arrival in Joburg and two nights prior to our departure. Pieter and his entire staff (just too many really great folks to name here) were most gracious and made us feel at home immediately. The lodge is charming and wonderfully furnished. The meals were excellent and the rooms were very comfortable and nicely done. Transport and care to and from the airport was seamless and most appreciated. Pieter arranged a memorable trip for us to the Cradle of Humankind and we thoroughly enjoyed it. We felt right at home at African Tribes and if we are fortunate enough to be able to return to their beautiful country, we will most definitely stay with them again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank harneycountytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

the african tribe guest lodge,me and a work mate stopped there for 5 days and were made to feel at home ,very friendly staff my room as of a high standard and cleaned daily,it was winter time but the beds have electric blankets which done the job,we were driven anywhere we wanted to go dropped off and picked up,we were given free train tickets ,taken to he station and picked up on our return,,overall we were made welcome when far away from home,oh and fee internet was available,,woudl like to thank pieter and his staff for a great stay in south africa keep up the good work and hope to see you all soon

Room Tip: internal rooms in the winter are alot warmer
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrtsilivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2011

A friend and I stayed one night at African Beat and then a few weeks later at African Tribe. Found they are owned by the same family, so sometimes you may get transferred from one facility to another. Louise was the manager at both places - she's superb! She went out of her way to be sure we had all our needs met.

African Beat is a smaller place - more like a converted home. Beds were comfortable; bathroom somewhat small and beat-up in appearance, but everything was clean.

African Tribes is more like a small hotel/motel. Has a small indoor swimming pool and conference center. Room we had was more luxurious, but needed some minor maintenance (heater didn't work; phone cord pulled out from wall). Again, overall room and bathroom were clean and beds very comfortable.

If you're in Jo'burg in winter months during a cold spell, don't expect much heat in such guesthouses. Dining room was unheated and quite cold in the morning. Everyone ate breakfast in their coats (but no hats and gloves!).

Overall would recommend either place as a reasonably priced place to stay, especially if you want someplace close to airport. All staff (not just Louise) were very cheerful and helpful. Would definitely stay there again if ever in Jo'burg.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lss077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

This was an overnight stay between flights. It was our first time in South Africa, and this was our first accomodation. I had been concerned about some of the "mold" comments. However, we found the the hotel very clean, no mold. Bathroom was modern. The best feature is definately the staff. They function almost as a family unit, and we felt like very welcome guests. They were at the airport waiting for us when we arrived, and took us back in t he morning. We had supper and breakfast there and found it very tasty. We loved the "South African decor, and definately would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2011

My stay at African Tribes was in one word - excellant! With all the friendly and welcoming assistance from the staff I easily managed to survive the hustle and bustle of Gauteng! I enjoyed my stay and will certainly promote African Triibes to all my colleagues and friends!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YourGuest_111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews