We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Ok ”
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

It is convenient after a long flight rooms are ok. However bar could be better and atmosphere as well.

Stayed here a couple of times only due to the location as all other except intercontinentel need taxi and shuttle hassle.

Checking in part is still taking long for an airport hotel where almost everybody has a pre booking

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank guidoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gawieortambo, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear guidoven

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on TripAdvisor

Our location and complimentary shuttle is perfect for the traveller passing through and we make it even easier with our scheduled times.

The feedback that you have provided regarding the slow check in process and bar area has been most helpful in our continuous search for excellence.

Thank you so much for the review and be sure to visit us again when next in Johannesburg.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    469
    177
    82
    25
See reviews for
86
397
124
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater Beach, FL
Level Contributor
266 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Strange rooms with the shower in the middle (see picture). Worked fine, just a little different. Good internet. Good airport pickup every half-hour. Mediocre restaurant - both the buffet and the limited dinner menu. Buffet decidedly average. Problems with their bookkeeping with one of my prepaid reservations. Overall, this hotel is OK for an airport stopover.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler5548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gawieortambo, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Traveler5548

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on TripAdvisor

Firstly, we would like to sincerely apologise for the disappointment you encountered on your recent visit to us. Your feedback is very valuable to us as it provides us with a true reflection of our service delivery and by no means echoes the high standard that The Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport is usually proud to offer.

Please be assured that we have addressed these concerns with my TEAM. We are very positive that with our continuous training and the mentoring structure that we have in place, that this will only yield great results.

We look forward to hearing from you and trust that you will allow us this future occasion to host you and prove to you that we are very proud and passionate of both our service and product.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tadley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
305 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Some will like the airport theme but our two couples found it cold and unwelcoming. Restaurant is pretty basic, as is the food, but breakfasts were good. Staff were a lot less attentive than Protea Fire & Ice in Melrose but I suppose it's the nature of the beast as most of the guests are probably only there for a night. It's a lot cheaper than the transit hotel though.

Rooms were smallish and, like a previous reviewer, we did not like the shower in the smaller room with no where for a towel!

The shuttle bus is a really good thing though so I would still say this hotel is still ok for a stopover.

Room Tip: See if you can get a larger room for the standard price, it's worth it. Views are not an issue!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gawieortambo, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear GrahamP

Thank you for your feedback and for staying with Protea Hotels.

Consistency is very important throughout our hotels and I am extremely sorry that we did not achieve this with you. We aim to provide the best GUEST service and your comment does not reflect this. Please accept my apologies for your experience.

Our complimentary shuttle is perfect for the traveller passing through and we make it even easier with our scheduled times.

Your feedback is valuable and I would like to assure you that I have sat with the entire TEAM to discuss your comments and we will be liaising with all relevant parties to ensure that this does not occur again.

Once again, please accept our apologies for your disappointing experience at Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I really liked the design of the hotel, everything is themed around air travel. There is a shuttle to take you to and from the airport and a guatrain stop is nearby. Check in was busy as a tour group had arrived just before us. It was a bit chaotic but it was quick enough. The room was small but perfectly fine. I do not like the shower being directly in the room and they should think about where you are supposed to hang and dry out you towels. The food in the restaurant was OK but not spectacular. The buffet puddings were nice. The chairs are really uncomfortably in the restaurant. Sometimes the way things look is not the most important thing.

I would definitely stay here again and recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Doonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gawieortambo, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Doonton

Thank you for your lovely review on TripAdvisor.

Protea Hotel has a strong service culture and we aim to offer only the best service available.

The designers were very creative with the décor and truly wanted to capture the essence of what an Airport Hotel could be. Be sure to try out the flight simulator next time you stay with us.

Our complimentary shuttle is perfect for the traveller passing through and we make it even easier with our scheduled times.

With regards to your feedback on our reataurant, please be assured that I will bring this to the attention of my TEAM and together we can work on a way to imporve in this area.

Thank you once again for the feedback and I hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to show you true Protea Hospitality.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Level Contributor
259 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

My booking was pre paid. On my arrival I was advised that there was still a payment outstanding? I informed that - It was pre paid with my Co Card. It cost me to go in on my e-mails to prove payment. I had also requested that they include Breakfast in my bill to be pre paid - This was not done?
Breakfasts are very expensive - I enjoyed my Breakfast - But got agitated with the chef that saw it fit to pile my two fried eggs on top of each other and basically dropped it into my plate and was oily and brown from the muck on the griddle from previous eggs had made - I gave him my plate and requested he dump them and fry up new one's for me after cleaning the Griddle.Rooms are a tad small - Overall Staff very friendly

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trevor312564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gawieortambo, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear trevor312564

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on TripAdvisor

Firstly, we would like to sincerely apologise for the disappointment you encountered on your recent visit to us. Your feedback is very valuable to us as it provides us with a true reflection of our service delivery and by no means echoes the high standard that The Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport is usually proud to offer.

Despite our STAFF being friendly it is disappointing to hear about what you had encountered.

Please be assured that we have addressed these concerns with my TEAM. We are very positive that with our continuous training and the mentoring structure that we have in place, that this will only yield great results.

Your feedback is providing us with the opportunity to strive for service excellence and your assistance in this regard is greatly appreciated.

We look forward to hearing from you and trust that you will allow us this future occasion to host you and prove to you that we are very proud and passionate of both our service and product.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colts Neck, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The architect of the hotel was unique. The food was great and reasonable. The staff was willing to keep my insulin in the refrigerator when we did not have a refrigerator in the room. We stayed there on 2 different occacions. The first time we had a large room with a refrigerator, but when the room was included in an OAT tour we had a small room with no refrigerator. The staff was also willing to keep our suitcases for 2 weeks while on safari. They couldn't have been more accomadating

Room Tip: If you need a refrigerator for medication, ask for a room with one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaasma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gawieortambo, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Jaasma

Thank you for posting such a favourable review on TripAdvisor.

I am happy to hear you had an all-round wonderful time at Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport. We also have an incredible TEAM, who do their best to pay attention to every detail.

The designers were very creative with the décor and truly wanted to capture the essence of what an Airport Hotel could be. Be sure to try out the flight simulator next time you stay with us.

Thank you once again for the feedback and I hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to show you true Protea Hospitality.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Rooms are small, but clean. View to the airport is preferable, however small window.
Style of the hotel is cool, food is good and big buffet, both in the morning and for dinner!
Pool are very clean.
Free shuttle service from and to the airport, every 30 min.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gawieortambo, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Chasi

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay.

We are continuously searching for excellence and it is great to know that we achieved this on your stay with us. Consistency is the name of the game and I will congratulate the TEAM on their efforts.

Thank you so much once again for the review and be sure to visit us again when next in Johannesburg.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,014 reviews
0.5 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
0.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Transit
Protea Hotel by Marriott Transit
#15 of 26 in Kempton Park
258 reviews
0.7 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
Address: Corner of York & Gladiator Streets | Rhodesfield, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport)
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport - Best Location, Ultimate Convenience. The pristine four-star Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport is set in the heart of Kempton Park, minutes from OR Tambo International Airport, South Africa's largest airport. An aviation enthusiast's paradise, the hotel is themed around an aircraft hangar. The industrial ambiance of the hotel is felt in the polished concrete floors, steel finishes, chrome lighting and top to bottom windows. Order a cocktail at the long, steel aircraft wing that is the bar, sink into a comfortable couch and relax as you watch the aero planes cruise to the landing strip. The lounge provides a peaceful setting with WiFi access where business travellers can conduct informal meetings. Time-conscious local and international business travellers can enjoy a convenient location 35 minutes from Sandton and Pretoria and is situated 800m from the Rhodesfield Gautrain Station. Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport offers complimentary shuttles to and from OR Tambo International Airport between 06h15 and 22h45 daily, as well as a shuttle to and from Rhodesfield Gautrain station on request. Whether you're stopping over or have an extended business stay ahead, Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport has it all - trendy pool area, funky bar and The Warehouse restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing