We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Satisfactory Airport Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Newcastle, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Satisfactory Airport Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

A fine hotel for airport link re stopover, etc. The drawback however is the fact that a group of us arrived there quite late due to unforeseen circumstances, but the staff definitely did not go the extra mile to accommodate exhausted travellers - or make us feel welcome. The service was merely satisfactory. The shuttle is quite convenient and the staff thereof very pleasant. The breakfast was good, but also here I did not find the staff friendly - it seemed like merely a work. As a guest I felt as if they were doing me a favour to provide a service. This is a pity, as the housekeeping/room cleaning staff obviously do their work well. The room was very clean!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PamDeJager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gawieortambo, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear PamDeJager

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on TripAdvisor

Although we appreciate and are happy about the positive feedback, we appreciate and take the rest very seriously.

I would like to assure you that I have sat with the entire TEAM to discuss your comments and we will be liaising with all relevant parties to ensure that we improve on the service that we are usually very proud of.

Thank you once again for the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to show you once again true Protea Hospitality.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    458
    171
    76
    24
See reviews for
84
388
118
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Timika, Indonesia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Was met by an extremely older friendly Afrikaans speaking man at check-in. Was late at night, and after struggling to get to the Hotel it was really nice to be met by this friendly man at the front desk. Check-in was quick, room service and breakfast was very good. We just stayed the one night but I will stay at this Hotel in the future again if I visit SA. Close to the airport.

Room Tip: Use a GPS from Airport to Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vanderMerwe99967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gawieortambo, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear vanderMerwe99967

Thank you for posting such a favourable review on TripAdvisor.

It seems that you had an all-round wonderful time at Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport. We have an incredible TEAM, who do their best to pay attention to every detail, from preparing delicious meals to ensuring that the rooms are fresh.

We look forward to hosting your again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

As I had a very early flight I opted to stay at the hotel, rather than add an hour to my travel time from home. Regrettably the noise from the restaurant, foyer and the guests next door was so loud I would have slept more had I driven from home.
The walls and doors appear to be paper thin.
As for the rest - the service is friendly, room clean and the hotel looks good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far from reception/ restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamesixo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gawieortambo, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Nico_P_12345

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay.

It saddens me to hear that you had a less than favourable experience with our Property.
Although you mention couples of good aspects, it is the ones that are not that deeply disappoints me.

I can assure you that I have sat down with my TEAM to discuss your concerns and trust we will be able to resolve it soon.

Thank you once again for the feedback and I hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to show you true Protea Hospitality.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel is perfect for business travellers and also if you just want to escape the kid's for the weekend! The rooms are comfortable and tastefully decorated and I really liked the sexy bathroom concept. The staff from reception to housekeeping were all efficient, friendly and very professional, nothing was too much and they really make you feel welcome. The check in process was quick and easy and we were in our room in minutes. Breakfast was included in the rate but the restaurant is open the entire day, we had dinner at the restaurant and it was excellent and breakfast the next morning was in a word ....PHENOMENAL! The restaurant staff are amazing and gave us just enough attention. We will definitely go back!

Room Tip: Even though the hotel is right next to the airport the rooms are quiet and shielded from the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee-Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gawieortambo, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Lee-Ann H

Thank you for posting such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor.

It seems that you had an all-round wonderful time at Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport. We also have an incredible TEAM, who do their best to pay attention to every detail, from preparing delicious meals to ensuring that the rooms are fresh.

I am sure we will see again and we wish you safe travels.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lusaka, Zambia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

i stay in jhb one week a month, and after trying every airport vicinity hotel, insist on staying here. staff are great, they go out of their way to welcome me without any feeling of anyone looking for tips or trying to be stuffy. restaurant good quality and the rooms are quiet and comfortable.. (sure, if you close the window) ...there is an huge airport a putt away, and dont tell them but the prices are far better than all of the competition. only crit i could give them would be the internet dodgy at best of times, and surely they could manage the obvious few ladies of the night not to be lurking at the otherwise cozy bar. Oh and do miss the very very funny old aircraft O2 mask that were in the loos.

Room Tip: personal preference, but got to have a top floor view of airport .. great to see the 380's so cl...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank adrian_friend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gawieortambo, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear adrian_friend

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on TripAdvisor

It is wonderful to hear that you have had such a wonderful time during your stay with us, it is a great pleasure to be told that our STAFF go out of their way to ensure our GUEST are well looked after.

We appreciate you bringing fourth your concerns regarding the WiFi, we are currently working on ways to ensure this is sorted out, however regarding the other concerns you have raised we have ensured specificially through the evenings that the security is made aware of the situation to ensure that our GUESTS are not disturbed.

Thank you once again for the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to show you once again true Protea Hospitality.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

It is convenient after a long flight rooms are ok. However bar could be better and atmosphere as well.

Stayed here a couple of times only due to the location as all other except intercontinentel need taxi and shuttle hassle.

Checking in part is still taking long for an airport hotel where almost everybody has a pre booking

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank guidoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gawieortambo, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear guidoven

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on TripAdvisor

Our location and complimentary shuttle is perfect for the traveller passing through and we make it even easier with our scheduled times.

The feedback that you have provided regarding the slow check in process and bar area has been most helpful in our continuous search for excellence.

Thank you so much for the review and be sure to visit us again when next in Johannesburg.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater Beach, FL
Level Contributor
264 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Strange rooms with the shower in the middle (see picture). Worked fine, just a little different. Good internet. Good airport pickup every half-hour. Mediocre restaurant - both the buffet and the limited dinner menu. Buffet decidedly average. Problems with their bookkeeping with one of my prepaid reservations. Overall, this hotel is OK for an airport stopover.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler5548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gawieortambo, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Traveler5548

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on TripAdvisor

Firstly, we would like to sincerely apologise for the disappointment you encountered on your recent visit to us. Your feedback is very valuable to us as it provides us with a true reflection of our service delivery and by no means echoes the high standard that The Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport is usually proud to offer.

Please be assured that we have addressed these concerns with my TEAM. We are very positive that with our continuous training and the mentoring structure that we have in place, that this will only yield great results.

We look forward to hearing from you and trust that you will allow us this future occasion to host you and prove to you that we are very proud and passionate of both our service and product.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
0.5 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport Transit
0.7 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
0.7 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
Address: Corner of York & Gladiator Streets | Rhodesfield, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport)
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport - Best Location, Ultimate Convenience. The pristine four-star Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport is set in the heart of Kempton Park, minutes from OR Tambo International Airport, South Africa's largest airport. An aviation enthusiast's paradise, the hotel is themed around an aircraft hangar. The industrial ambiance of the hotel is felt in the polished concrete floors, steel finishes, chrome lighting and top to bottom windows. Order a cocktail at the long, steel aircraft wing that is the bar, sink into a comfortable couch and relax as you watch the aero planes cruise to the landing strip. The lounge provides a peaceful setting with WiFi access where business travellers can conduct informal meetings. Time-conscious local and international business travellers can enjoy a convenient location 35 minutes from Sandton and Pretoria and is situated 800m from the Rhodesfield Gautrain Station. Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport offers complimentary shuttles to and from OR Tambo International Airport between 06h15 and 22h45 daily, as well as a shuttle to and from Rhodesfield Gautrain station on request. Whether you're stopping over or have an extended business stay ahead, Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport has it all - trendy pool area, funky bar and The Warehouse restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing