We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Close to Airport”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

For an airport hotel, Protea Hotel OR Tambo fared well in my book. I was pleasantly surprised with the hotel and service. For the amount of money paid for the room, I felt it was worth every cent. It might be a 5 mins drive away from work, but it is definitely not a problem with the shuttle bus provided between 6am to 11pm.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faizalsamsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gawieortambo, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear faizalsamsi

Thank you for posting such a favourable review on TripAdvisor.

It is wonderful to hear that you had a lovely time at Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport. We have an incredible TEAM, who do their best to pay attention to every detail, from preparing delicious meals to ensuring that the rooms are fresh

Our complimentary shuttle is perfect for the traveller passing through and we make it even easier with our scheduled times.

Thank you so much for the review and be sure to visit us again when next in Johannesburg.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    470
    177
    82
    25
See reviews for
86
398
124
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tinley Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
303 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We had a one night stopover here before heading to Zimbabwe for safari. The hotel was pretty basic with close proximity to the airport. I did not particularly care for the shower arrangement in the room. We ate a couple meals there and the food was good. A grandson ran into a friend from his hometown at this hotel. Neither knew the other would be there, just coincidence. The staff was very friendly, pleasant and helpful and picked us up at the Gautrain station after we had gone sightseeing. Shuttle service to and from the airport.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gawieortambo, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Colleen B

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such favourable feedback on TripAdvisor

Although you do not like the Shower arrangement we are glad you had a wonderful stay otherwise. It is always good to hear that ones’ STAFF is helpful, pleasant and friendly.

We have an incredible TEAM, who do their best to pay attention to every detail, from preparing delicious meals to ensuring that the rooms are fresh.

We look forward to hosting your again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walvis Bay, Namibia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The hotel is in good nick, staff friendly and helpful, roomservice was excellent and did not take hours to arrive. A friendly welcoming note (as a regular) always adds a bit of a personal touch. The bedding is some of the best I encountered in hotels of similar rating (4 star). No complaints, all well. The shower takes some getting used to as it comes from straight overhead (found in many Protea Hotels), personally I don't like that. And they could add a toilet brush to the room, I hate leaving brakemarks. Breakfast is a bit pricy.

Room Tip: If you like watching aircraft, get a room with a view of the airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankNamibia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gawieortambo, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear FrankNamibia

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such favourable feedback on TripAdvisor

It is wonderful to hear you had a good experience here at Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport. We try our best to ensure that not only our regular GUEST but as well as our new arrivals get the attention and care they deserve.

We strive to give the best possible service to all our GUESTs, our amazing TEAM here at Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport takes car to ensure this happens.

Once again thank you so much for the review and be sure to visit us again when next in Johannesburg.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I stayed over on business for 1 night.
Location 10 min drive from OR Tambo International Airport (shuttle service included).
Easy & quick check in, stayed in suite no 509, which is stunning, facing the highway and airport, noise level minimal and excelent sleep quality.
Hotel has a warehouse theme and you do not have that typical 'airport hotel' feel which I loved.
Service throughout superb including room service, check out, shuttle organisation.
Breakfast is buffet style with open kitchen. Huge variety and many healthy options as well.
Can recommend to anybody and will return when I am in the area again.

Room Tip: suite 509 (stunning free standing bathtub). Facing the highway, however, barely any noise, so had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miriam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gawieortambo, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Miriam C

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such favourable feedback on TripAdvisor

It seems that you had an all-round wonderful time at Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport. We also have an incredible TEAM, who do their best to pay attention to every detail, from preparing delicious meals to ensuring that the rooms are fresh.

We are continuously searching for excellence and it is great to know that we achieved this on your stay with us. Consistency is the name of the game and I will congratulate the TEAM on their efforts.

The designers were very creative with the décor and truly wanted to capture the essence of what an Airport Hotel could be. Be sure to try out the flight simulator next time you stay with us.

We look forward to hosting your again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover Plains, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Can be hard to find if you are driving on your own, but all the cabbies know where it is. Found the staff very pleasant and the facility very clean, appealing in a chrome-and-glass modern sort of way. A good standard airport hotel, no surprises.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gawieortambo, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Josh S

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such favourable feedback on TripAdvisor

It seems that you had an all-round wonderful time at Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport. We have an incredible TEAM, who do their best to pay attention to every detail, from preparing delicious meals to ensuring that the rooms are fresh.

We look forward to hosting your again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Had to stopover in Johannesburg at the airport, and booked one night room at Protea hotel. The room is just the ordinary, room service the ordinary as well. Fish and chips as you might expect it, though not much food for the hungry. Nevermind, have to watch my weigth anyway. But next morning, I had some rush to get to the airport again. WHAT a shame. The breakfast is delicious, you have a broad choice! Fruits, cereals, the whole warm breakfast, sausages, bacon, scrambled eggs, pototoes, not my cup of tea. I am going for the continental breakfast, again enough to choose from. The only thing was the bread, not much there. But should I look for my own choice only, or look behind the bush... I was running out of the time to catch my plane. I would have liked to spend some more time at their breakfast! And finally, the COFFEE, the capucinno was superb. Do not miss their capucinno, tasteful, delicious with the milk as a decoration. I quickly had my dosage of two capucinno's in the morning. And then jumped off to off to the airport. But would have preferred to stay and enjoy their breakfast a bit longer. Makes up for everything.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gawieortambo, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Harry P

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on TripAdvisor.

I am very glad that our Breakfast buffet and our Cappuccinos were to your liking, our chefs and waiters work hard to ensure that they serve only the best.

I have to say that I am disappointed that we only met the basic requirement as we always strive for more. However In light of what you have mentioned, I trust that relaying this information back to my TEAM we are able to next time exceed your expectations.

Once again thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, we look forward to hosting your again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

After 3 weeks of almost no power or running water, this was a great contrast. Clean room, well-maintained, shower was of interesting design architecturally (was in the room ... rather than in its own room), no noise from neighbors, good, working television and remote, in short - no complaints. Well worth the money and the shuttle trip. Better than City Hotel. The views are not great, but this hotel is mostly just for short stays between flights.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bit_jaundiced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gawieortambo, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear bit_jaundiced

Thank you for posting such a favourable review on TripAdvisor.

The designers were very creative with the décor and truly wanted to capture the essence of what an Airport Hotel could be. Be sure to try out the flight simulator next time you stay with us.

We are firm believers in getting the basics right and reading your comments will motivate the STAFF to continue achieving these high standards.

We look forward to hosting your again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,018 reviews
0.5 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
0.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Transit
Protea Hotel by Marriott Transit
#15 of 26 in Kempton Park
258 reviews
0.7 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
Address: Corner of York & Gladiator Streets | Rhodesfield, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport)
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport - Best Location, Ultimate Convenience. The pristine four-star Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport is set in the heart of Kempton Park, minutes from OR Tambo International Airport, South Africa's largest airport. An aviation enthusiast's paradise, the hotel is themed around an aircraft hangar. The industrial ambiance of the hotel is felt in the polished concrete floors, steel finishes, chrome lighting and top to bottom windows. Order a cocktail at the long, steel aircraft wing that is the bar, sink into a comfortable couch and relax as you watch the aero planes cruise to the landing strip. The lounge provides a peaceful setting with WiFi access where business travellers can conduct informal meetings. Time-conscious local and international business travellers can enjoy a convenient location 35 minutes from Sandton and Pretoria and is situated 800m from the Rhodesfield Gautrain Station. Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport offers complimentary shuttles to and from OR Tambo International Airport between 06h15 and 22h45 daily, as well as a shuttle to and from Rhodesfield Gautrain station on request. Whether you're stopping over or have an extended business stay ahead, Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport has it all - trendy pool area, funky bar and The Warehouse restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Marriott, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing