We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel. Friendly & clean. Easy transport to hotel from airport every half hour. Decor in hotel us stunning & food lovely . Will definitely return . All shower & soap available is top class . Will recommended to any person wanting a good night away from the airport

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank les s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gawieortambo, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear 56lesley

Thank you for posting such a favourable review on TripAdvisor.

It seems that you had an all-round wonderful time at Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport. We have an incredible TEAM, who do their best to pay attention to every detail, from preparing delicious meals to ensuring that the rooms are fresh.

The designers were very creative with the décor and truly wanted to capture the essence of what an Airport Hotel could be. Be sure to try out the flight simulator next time you stay with us.

We look forward to hosting your again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,089)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

551 - 557 of 1,089 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

This was a nice hotel, right at the airport with very good service to and from the airport. the rooms were nice and the very thick windows kept out most of the noise. The breakfast we adequate. Nice garden to sit and good view from the garden of the airport.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank DaiWeiShi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gawieortambo, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear DaiWeiShi

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

We are very happy that you found our Hotel to your liking. As a Hotel it is always good to hear positive feedback regarding our Hotel.

Our shuttle makes it very easy for our GUESTS just passing by and even more to with the scheduled times.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Definitely recommend this hotel if you need to stopover between flights. Shuttle bus easy to find and punctual, check in fast and staff exceptionally friendly and helpful. Loved the aircraft hanger design, right down to toolboxes for the cutlery. Nice clean and comfortable room. Toilet didn't flush but maintenance was super quick and replaced a part in minutes! Dinner, a glass of wine and a quiet night's sleep - what else do you need between flights! Will stay again.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank GlasgowBilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gawieortambo, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear GlasgowBilly

Thank you for posting such a favourable review on TripAdvisor.

It seems that you had an all-round wonderful time at Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport. We also have an incredible TEAM, who do their best to pay attention to every detail, from preparing delicious meals to ensuring that the rooms are fresh.

We are continuously searching for excellence and it is great to know that we achieved this on your recent visit to our hotel.

I am sure we will see again and we wish you safe travels.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed here for one night on my way to Kruger. A shuttle from the hotel picked me up at the airport. The walk through the alley from the airport to the shuttle area is scary (sure, not a fault of Protea). It seemed that the hotel was at least 2 miles drive from the airport, not walkable in any way.

I came from Cape Town after staying at Protea at North Wharf, which was pleasant place. This Protea was, in comparison, a disappointment. The room was small. A shower, basically inside the room, was a poor design choice. I did not hear the aircrafts, which was good. Breakfast was OK, but expensive. At Cape Town Protea, breakfast was complimentary. At OR Tambo, the breakfast was 165 rands. I gave the waiter 200 rands, expecting that he will return the change, for me to decide how much to tip. He was around but never came back with the change. The breakfast was not worth 200 rands (20 USD). For the room, I paid around US$145, which was too high for this kind of a room. The towels were yellowish, had seen better days. Room was too small. Good sized for a single person.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ShOs_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gawieortambo, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear ShOs_13

Thank you for taking your time to provide us with your feedback.

Firstly, we would like to sincerely apologise for the disappointment you encountered on your recent visit to us. Your feedback is very valuable to us as it provides us with a true reflection of our service delivery and by no means echoes the high standard that The Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport is usually proud to offer.

Please be assured that we have addressed these concerns with my TEAM. We are very positive that with our continuous training and the mentoring structure that we have in place, that this will only yield great results.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we hope we would be able to host you again in the near future to show you the true Protea Hospitality that we are so proud of.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Stayed 2 nights, one beginning of June & one end of June. Hotel allowed me to leave extra luggage in their storage - very helpful to lessen 2 very different trips - luggage was safe and untouched upon both pickups. I wasn't staying at the hotel when I picked up last batch of luggage but needed to consolidate suitcases - a messy job. Staff remembered me and were kind enough to let me use a room for a couple of hours (at no charge) so I could repack - I really appreciated this courtesy as otherwise it would have been embarrassing doing it at the airport. During both my stays staff were always kind, efficient and friendly - the rooms are spotless, comfortable and well appointed and the shuttle service timely and reliable. Highly recommend the Protea O.R. Tambo when flying in and out of Joberg.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank edieh8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gawieortambo, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear edieh8

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such favourable feedback on TripAdvisor

It seems that you had an all-round wonderful time at Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport. We also have an incredible TEAM, who do their best to pay attention to every detail, from preparing delicious meals to ensuring that the rooms are fresh.

Our shuttle makes it very easy for our GUESTS just passing by and even more to with the scheduled times.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

An affordable hotel with airport shuttle, quality restaurant/bar, and a decent room. Fellow North Americans will find the rooms a bit smallish but very clean, quiet (I was on the 3rd floor, airport side and didn't have issues with noise), with quality televisions and wifi. A nice variety of teas and coffees were complimentary in the room. Shuttle service was dependable and started in the early morning...about a 5 min ride from the OR Tambo Airport and visible from the airport as well. Would use this hotel again with family on a return trip.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HardtoPlease85741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gawieortambo, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear HardtoPlease85741

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such favourable feedback on TripAdvisor

It seems that you had an all-round wonderful time at Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport. We also have an incredible TEAM, who do their best to pay attention to every detail, from preparing delicious meals to ensuring that the rooms are fresh.

We are continuously searching for excellence and it is great to know that we achieved this on your stay with us. Consistency is the name of the game and I will congratulate the TEAM on their efforts.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope that we will be welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Stayed here for 1 night in June 2014 as part of an OAT trip to 3 other countries in Southern Africa. Hotel provides a complementary shuttle to/from airport/hotel every 30 minutes. The bus center/pick up location at airport is a little difficult to find (it's behind the Intercontinental Hotel), so ask at an info counter inside the airport. The hotel has several counters, one just after passport control.When you exit the ground level of JNB airport, you will be bombarded with locals offering/trying to carry your luggage (even if you have it on a free cart) to the bus center. Don't let them near your luggage, they will most probably run off with it and you'll never see it again.Keep and eye on luggage at all times.

Check-in was quick, complementary tea/coffee/lemon water available in lobby 24/7. Hotel has free wifi. Rooms are very clean and quiet considering hotel is only 5 minutes from JNB airport. They offer a buffet lunch and dinner at about US$17pp (depending on number of check-ins) that offer a good selection of fresh salads, meats/fish/pasta/soup and deserts. I would definitely stay here again. Staff was very friendly and courteous. Shower area in room is tricky as it is in the bedroom, not in the bathroom.

Room Tip: Found rooms on first floor very comfortable and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chuckinNaples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gawieortambo, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear chuckinNaples

Thank you for providing us with such favourable feedback.

It seems that you had an all-round wonderful time at Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport. We also have an incredible TEAM, who do their best to pay attention to every detail, from preparing delicious meals to ensuring that the rooms are fresh.

I am sure we will see again and we wish you safe travels.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,325 reviews
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
0.6 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Transit O.R. Tambo Airport
1.0 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#2 of 26 in Kempton Park
1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport

Address: Corner of York & Gladiator Streets | Rhodesfield, Johannesburg, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport)
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Price Range: £61 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport - Best Location, Ultimate Convenience. The pristine four-star airport hotel in Johannesburg, South Africa is set in the heart of Kempton Park, minutes from OR Tambo International Airport, South Africa's largest airport. The industrial aviation ambiance of the hotel is felt in the polished concrete floors, steel finishes, chrome lighting and top to bottom windows. Order a cocktail at the long, steel aircraft wing that is the bar, sink into a comfortable couch and relax as you watch the aero planes cruise to the landing strip. Time-conscious local and international business travellers can enjoy a convenient location 35 minutes from Sandton and Pretoria and is situated 800m from the Rhodesfield Gautrain Station. Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport offers complimentary shuttles to and from OR Tambo International Airport between 06h15 and 22h45 daily, as well as a shuttle to and from Rhodesfield Gautrain station on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing