We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, calming oasis.”
Review of Sunrock Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunrock Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
New York City
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely, calming oasis.”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

this is an absolutely charming guest house. the rooms will make you sigh with delight when you open the door. The beds are enormous, the room is lovely and immaculate. Nicely, tastefully decorated. We only had one meal but it was fabulous (breakfast) with a big assortment of hot and cold food, great coffee, juices, hot meats and eggs and breads. However, as others have mentioned, the best thing is the host, Chris and wife. (and parrot). My friends and I were there for only one night - we were picked up at the airport arriving late and leaving early. Johannesburg seems to be totally gated for security, and the Guesthouse is no exception so be prepared for that. You won't be wandering around outside. But I believe this is how all the motels/hotels/guesthouses are? Anyway, it is a great place to stay, and if I go back to Jburg, that's where I would go.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank dcvdickens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    845
    416
    56
    5
    8
See reviews for
314
422
245
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Missouri, Usa
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Picked up promptly at the airport and the staff friendly and helpful. Dining area a little cramped because of fire last May but they are building a larger dining area and gym that should be done in the next few months.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jirecarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Highly recommended for travelers travelling the following day on connecting flights. The owners, Ina and Arthur Johnson, are available for any assistance and advice. Thumbs up also to Lewis, the airport pick-up and drop-off driver who was on time.
Large clean rooms with shower/bathtub and free breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

very close to the airport (10 drive by car)
very large room, comfortable bed
clean and nice environemt.

Hosts are very friendly and very good value for the price.
picture shows the old building which was burnt down recently. they are trying very hard to rebuild everything but currently it is kind of a building yard, which is not disturbing too much.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whale w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2013

The owners were very friendly owners and the service was excellent. The airport drop off and pick up was very much appreciated. Breakfast was very good. Room was very nice with very good bathroom facilities and very clean


  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Wendy255114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, Usa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stopped at this place before and after our trip to Kruger. It is a wonderful stay-over place. The room are clean and nice, the people are amicable. They did everything that they promised, including airport pick-up and drop-off for free, free wifi, wonderful free breakfast, and delicious dinner at a reasonable charge.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Yingnan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2013

My husband and I stayed twice for a number of days at this comfortable and most friendly house during September and October. Ina and Arthur our hosts are spectacular in many ways. We were picked up from the airport several times, delivered to our rental vehicle locations several times when we were leaving for other parts of the country, delivered to the train station as we wanted to explore Jburg (Josie) by ourselves one day and even picked up at night after our explorations of the city at the train station (not so far from the guest house). But again... taxi driven as guests for free all the time! And always welcome and expected for dinner as no guests goes hungry in this wonderful place. Any question? You will get guidance and answers quickly. We saw guests using their computers as they did not have a tablet. Free Wi-Fi. Wonderful breakfasts. Staff so gentle and friendly. Rooms so comfy. Close to the airport as well. What else would you wish for? Well, ask the owners and they may find a solution to your request. Ask Lewis the professional driver and he will guide you as well.
The pool was under renovations when we were there. The gardens will be more spectacular in a few weeks as they were working diligently to create a wonderful little paradise just a few steps from the entrance, with a spectacular housing for braai, bar, etc. Do not forget to see the interior with their friendly dogs and parrot.

We enjoyed our time there to no end. Next time in Josie, we will stay at Sunrock! A step away to walk Josie during the day, and come back at night in a comfy place. We loved the discussions and the sense of humour.
Many thanks to Sunrock for wonderful memories with you.

Francine & Jim, Canada

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,064 reviews
1.6 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
1.6 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
#11 of 26 in Kempton Park
530 reviews
1.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
1.5 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrock Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrock Guesthouse

Property: Sunrock Guesthouse
Address: 11 Park Street, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
#2 Best Value Hotel in Kempton Park
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrock Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrock Guesthouse is a highly recommended guest house in Kempton Park situated in a quiet, peaceful area north-east of Johannesburg, which offers superior comfort and service. Our Guesthouse is centrally situated and is a superb base for enjoying Gauteng and exploring the rest of South Africa. It is only 4km from O.R Tambo International Airport, and 10 minutes from either the Festival Mall in Kempton Park or East Rand Mall in Boksburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sunrock Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrock Guesthouse Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing