We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mini oasis just five minutes from the airport!”
Review of Sunrock Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunrock Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Very convenient for O R Tambo Airport with transfers included in the price. Room was spotless, well furnished & equipped with all facilities you would expect from a hotel. Breakfast was delicious too!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank abbouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,409)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

868 - 874 of 1,409 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2013

Very helpful staff, free transfers on time, good clean room with all facilities needed and at a bargain price. Great communications about pickup and local banking. Would stay again any time I travel to Johannesburg.



  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

I spent one night and it was exactly what I wanted: very clean, close to the airport and with great service! I highly recommend this guesthouse. Everything was well organized and easy, ideal when you're traveling!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Marion B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We were staying in Sunrock Guesthouse for one night at the beginning and one night at the end of our travels.
We travel a lot and stay in many different guesthouses, Sunrock was one of the best we went to. The credit belongs to the very very nice owners. We felt welcome and the atmosphere was extremely familiar.
The rooms (we had two different ones) were very clean and quiet even though the airport is pretty close. Comfortable beds, nice TV program.
We joined for dinner which was very good, the price reasonable. Best chocolate-cake for dessert! (Thanks for the recipe :-) ) You can help yourself with drinks on a confidence base.
The perfect guesthouse to stay at if you look for a place with cozy atmosphere.
All transfers worked well and their driver also a really friendly one.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueSanne r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Hi we stayed at the sunrock in Nov 2013,got picked up from the airport as promised,there was a problem getting off the plane ie a 20 minute delay plus baggage time so we were 45 mins late at our meeting point,the guesthouse driver waited for us'the guest house was in the process of adding a large extension to the premises,this didn't have any problems with our stay it was exactly as described on trip advisor very friendly lovely overnight stay

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed at Sunrock GH only one night when passing through Jo’burg, but we will definitely stay there the next time we’re in the vicinity. Their driver Louis was waiting to pick us up, and he had to get up early the next morning to take us back to the airport ¬– perhaps a 10-minute drive. When we first arrived at Sunrock, I had some misgivings, because it appears to be a midrange-quality American motel from the outside. However, the room was clean, quite spacious, pleasantly decorated, and had many useful amenities. The proprietors were also very pleasant and cheerful, although they were quite busy apparently with a full house. The optional dinner buffet was also worthwhile. While it could not be described as “fine dining”, it was good, and there was an enormous amount of food (should you have teenaged boys needing to go back for additional helpings).

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelin_tommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Sunrock is very well located to the airport. Our flight was leaving very early in the morning so we needed a place close to the airport. Very convenient location. Guesthouse had driver pick us up and return to the airport included in cost of room. Rooms very clean and comfortable....great for short stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SashaChloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,325 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
#11 of 26 in Kempton Park
605 reviews
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
1.7 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
1.6 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrock Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrock Guesthouse

Address: 11 Park Street, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range: £57 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrock Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrock Guesthouse is a highly recommended guest house in Kempton Park situated in a quiet, peaceful area north-east of Johannesburg, which offers superior comfort and service. Our Guesthouse is centrally situated and is a superb base for enjoying Gauteng and exploring the rest of South Africa. It is only 4km from O.R Tambo International Airport, and 10 minutes from either the Festival Mall in Kempton Park or East Rand Mall in Boksburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sunrock Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrock Guesthouse Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing