We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Sunrock Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunrock Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
Lexington, Kentucky, Usa
1 review
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I stayed at Sunrock for 1 night on my way through Johannesburg. The facilities were very nice and clean. The owner, Ina, was so friendly and helpful, she even helped me figure out how to navigate the metro for my travel out of town the next day. I would recommend this place to anyone. The price is reasonable and included free pickup from the airport, dinner and breakfast and free wifi. Hard to beat that.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    855
    420
    57
    5
    9
See reviews for
318
424
250
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I was part of the group that flew in from America and we appreciated the quick check-in and hot meal waiting for us. The room we stayed in was lovely. The nicest thing was that the owner himself took us back to the airport at 4am the next morning. Not many people will do that. Thank you for the personal touch!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Very nice stay and breakfast for 4 people in 2 bedrooms.Would definitely stay there again. I read a couple a bad reviews that made me wonder if we should stay there but selected it anyways. Ignore the bad reviews.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Douglas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Our group of 10 stayed here for one night on a layover between two international flights. The free shuttle was waiting at the airport for us when we arrived in the evening and we received our keys immediately upon arrival, avoiding a long check-in process. The vans even delivered us back to the airport for our next flight at 4:30 the next morning! The owners greeted all of us and asked our names and were genuinely interested in making our stay the best possible. Dinner was lovely, and the hotel was comfortable, safe, and well-maintained. I would absolutely recommend it to anyone who wants accommodations near the airport with a personal touch!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christys03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Comfortable rooms, helpful staff, good food, close to the airport -- what more could we have asked?

We came by Gautrain, got off at Rhodesfield and called the Sunrock Guest House. They sent someone to pick us up. It wasn’t very far, but it would have been a nasty walk with all the luggage. It was well after 4 pm when we got there. Free internet, TV if you wanted it. It made a great place to chill out.

Dinner was R120 with an honesty bar. Good buffet, but I’m not sure how they’d cope with a vegetarian. We had a two room suite. They’ve won several Trip Advisor awards. For something near the airport, I think the awards are well deserved.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Russell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, In
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed here on our first night in Joberg. Nice people. Nice room.
Provided transportation to and from Gauberg train for a small charge.
Great breakfast. Selected based on internet comments; were not disappointed.


  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catterick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Very convenient for O R Tambo Airport with transfers included in the price. Room was spotless, well furnished & equipped with all facilities you would expect from a hotel. Breakfast was delicious too!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank abbouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,118 reviews
1.6 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
0.6 mi away
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
#11 of 26 in Kempton Park
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
1.5 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
1.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrock Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrock Guesthouse

Property: Sunrock Guesthouse
Address: 11 Park Street, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
#2 Best Value Hotel in Kempton Park
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrock Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrock Guesthouse is a highly recommended guest house in Kempton Park situated in a quiet, peaceful area north-east of Johannesburg, which offers superior comfort and service. Our Guesthouse is centrally situated and is a superb base for enjoying Gauteng and exploring the rest of South Africa. It is only 4km from O.R Tambo International Airport, and 10 minutes from either the Festival Mall in Kempton Park or East Rand Mall in Boksburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunrock Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrock Guesthouse Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing