We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay”
Review of Sunrock Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunrock Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Super friendly, family atmosphere. Very close to the airport. Hotel set up a pick and drop off from airport. Gave suggestions on easiest way to check out Johannesburg and had driver take us to the train station. Definitely would recommend for quick stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Iris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,449)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

893 - 899 of 1,449 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2013

Spent one night at Sunrock for its convenience to the airport. The room was clean and comfortable for a short overnight stay. Arrived late and left early. Included a wonderful breakfast. Nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Catherine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I stayed at Sunrock for 1 night on my way through Johannesburg. The facilities were very nice and clean. The owner, Ina, was so friendly and helpful, she even helped me figure out how to navigate the metro for my travel out of town the next day. I would recommend this place to anyone. The price is reasonable and included free pickup from the airport, dinner and breakfast and free wifi. Hard to beat that.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I was part of the group that flew in from America and we appreciated the quick check-in and hot meal waiting for us. The room we stayed in was lovely. The nicest thing was that the owner himself took us back to the airport at 4am the next morning. Not many people will do that. Thank you for the personal touch!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Very nice stay and breakfast for 4 people in 2 bedrooms.Would definitely stay there again. I read a couple a bad reviews that made me wonder if we should stay there but selected it anyways. Ignore the bad reviews.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Douglas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Our group of 10 stayed here for one night on a layover between two international flights. The free shuttle was waiting at the airport for us when we arrived in the evening and we received our keys immediately upon arrival, avoiding a long check-in process. The vans even delivered us back to the airport for our next flight at 4:30 the next morning! The owners greeted all of us and asked our names and were genuinely interested in making our stay the best possible. Dinner was lovely, and the hotel was comfortable, safe, and well-maintained. I would absolutely recommend it to anyone who wants accommodations near the airport with a personal touch!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank christys03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Comfortable rooms, helpful staff, good food, close to the airport -- what more could we have asked?

We came by Gautrain, got off at Rhodesfield and called the Sunrock Guest House. They sent someone to pick us up. It wasn’t very far, but it would have been a nasty walk with all the luggage. It was well after 4 pm when we got there. Free internet, TV if you wanted it. It made a great place to chill out.

Dinner was R120 with an honesty bar. Good buffet, but I’m not sure how they’d cope with a vegetarian. We had a two room suite. They’ve won several Trip Advisor awards. For something near the airport, I think the awards are well deserved.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Russell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 27 in Kempton Park
2,492 reviews
1.6 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
0.6 mi away
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
#11 of 27 in Kempton Park
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
1.7 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrock Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrock Guesthouse

Address: 11 Park Street, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range: £56 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrock Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrock Guesthouse is a highly recommended guest house in Kempton Park situated in a quiet, peaceful area north-east of Johannesburg, which offers superior comfort and service. Our Guesthouse is centrally situated and is a superb base for enjoying Gauteng and exploring the rest of South Africa. It is only 4km from O.R Tambo International Airport, and 10 minutes from either the Festival Mall in Kempton Park or East Rand Mall in Boksburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sunrock Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrock Guesthouse Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing