We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sunrock Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunrock Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, Michigan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed at the guesthouse between flights out of Tambo. The owners are very friendly and accomodating. The dinner was delicious. The atmosphere is very homelike making conversation with the other guests natural and enjoyable. The pool and gardens are lovely.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    814
    405
    54
    4
    7
See reviews for
302
413
236
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

Great hospitality 5 minutes from the airport. After a 14 hour flight we arrived at 10pm to be greeted after customs and whisked to the guest house. No check-in, just a quick orientation and straight to the room, just what we needed. We woke to a lovely breakfast and the owners could not have been friendlier or more helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank engelmarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

This is a basic B&B designed for overnight stay by guests to/from JNB and meets that need perfectly. It is in what looks like a residential/semi-industrial neighborhood so not much to do around. Rooms are relatively small but efficiently designed. Internet was reliable and 'free' for the room price. Dinner was semi-buffet, with steak made to order, and excellent at a very reasonable price. Breakfast was decent and plentiful (included in room price). Free shuttle to/from airport capped the deal. The staff/owners are extremely friendly and efficient, and thus easily made up for any minor shortcomings (like a dated, ugly CRT tv in room).
This may be my go to airport accommodation in Jo'Burg from now on.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsafiriTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

Spent the night in Sunrock between Mbombela and Zambia. Near the airport, with free pick up, and solid rooms for the price.

The staff were very friendly and accommodating, and their fair priced dinner (and free breakfast) were simple but hearty.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Willbur B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Vernon Wa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

Very friendly staff and the pick-up at the airport was great. Location was okay, close to the airport. Nice hot breakfast. Rooms were average. Good for an overnight but wouldn't want to stay longer. :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank trainerhotline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

A wonderful,Guesthouse which is very conviently located near the airport at a great price. The host are extremely welcoming and offer a very tasty breakfast. Thanks for a very comfortable stay at a great price.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Zach M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

Our group of 10 stayed overnight here in November 2013 upon our arrival in JoBurg from Canada. Only 10 minutes from the airport, the hosts will pick you up at the airport and return you in time for your flight the next day. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Pool aea is lovely. We enjoyed the Braai very much in the evening. Wonderful place for a stop over in JoBurg. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank visitxcda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,934 reviews
1.6 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
1.6 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
0.6 mi away
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
#12 of 26 in Kempton Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
1.5 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrock Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrock Guesthouse

Property: Sunrock Guesthouse
Address: 11 Park Street, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrock Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrock Guesthouse is a highly recommended guest house in Kempton Park situated in a quiet, peaceful area north-east of Johannesburg, which offers superior comfort and service. Our Guesthouse is centrally situated and is a superb base for enjoying Gauteng and exploring the rest of South Africa. It is only 4km from O.R Tambo International Airport, and 10 minutes from either the Festival Mall in Kempton Park or East Rand Mall in Boksburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunrock Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrock Guesthouse Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing