We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay in Johannesburg”
Review of Sunrock Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunrock Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect stay in Johannesburg”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

My son and I stayed at the Sunrock Guest House 4th to 8th January 2014. We had a great time - the staff are very very helpful - special thanks to Heather for being a fantastic host and also to Lewis who chauffeured us around (not just the airport) and to Lloyd who cooked some fabulous meals - Both breakfast and Dinner. My Son will be studying in SA for 12 months and this guesthouse proved to be a great place to chill out and become acclimatised to the SA weather before he headed north to the bush. Facilities include well stocked bar, heated swimming pool and a menagerie of wildlife to keep you occupied (a parrot and a few very friendly dogs (small, medium & fat)). The other guests were all extremely friendly too - all in all a perfect Oasis - so to Heather, Lewis and Lloyd I hope this finds you all well and we will see you all again- William & Charles

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    845
    416
    56
    5
    8
See reviews for
314
422
245
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Our family stayed at Sunrock GuestHouse on Friday 3/1/2014- prior to our flight back to the UK on Saturday. Heather was superb - so very helpful and friendly, our dinner delicious- the steak the best we've had for a long time, the room comfortable and adequate and breakfast nicely prepared.
The garden is beautiful, serene and peaceful, the dogs and parrot make it a home from home.
We highly recommend this guest house as it is around the corner from the airport and down the road from some good shopping malls for last minute purchases.
Thank you for your excellent service - we'll certainly be back.
Best wishes to you all for 2014

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Family765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed her twice when we had short stops at the airport. The proximity to the airport is fantastic and the airport shuttle is also great. We slept well both nights we slept here. One night we had a fantastic bathtub and dual shower. Loved it- very nice after a long safari. The food is amazing- we enjoyed having a nice, home cooked meal after traveling. The staff is very friendly. They are close to a little shopping mart that we were able to walk to grab snacks. I'd definitely stay again and pick this over other locations.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

A great start to our trip to South Africa. There is a dining room where they serve dinner which was one of the best steaks I have ever had. It was like eating in someones dining room and had a great atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Really good start to a trip to SA - driver waiting at the airport, clean rooms, pool to relax in, and great staff. Much nicer than a multi-national hotel, and great peace of mind to know that the shuttle service will be waiting.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anthea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denton, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I passed through Joburg and needed an overnight before my flight the next day, so I thought I would give Sunrock a shot. It was great! The couple who runs the place were very nice, and it was quiet with nice accommodations. The food was excellent! I tasted the best steak I have ever experienced on the continent of Africa while staying at Sunrock. [Mind you, I am from Texas... I am familiar with a good steak]. Wifi was a available for free, and was a reasonably quick speed. Oh! the free shuttle to and from the airport was a huge help as well. No complaints.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ir0nBeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Great homely guesthouse for overnight stay with clean, spacious rooms, pretty gardens and inviting pool. No fuss pickup at the airport invaluable after a long flight. The owners Arthur and Ina are very friendly and helpful, along with all their staff. Steak (huge) bbq and breakfast next morning were delicious. If you prefer to eat at a restaurant in the evening Arthur will take you and pick you up later. Ina took us back to the airport the next morning to collect our hire car. Excellent value.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jude0113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,064 reviews
1.6 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
1.6 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
#11 of 26 in Kempton Park
530 reviews
1.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
1.5 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrock Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrock Guesthouse

Property: Sunrock Guesthouse
Address: 11 Park Street, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
#2 Best Value Hotel in Kempton Park
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrock Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrock Guesthouse is a highly recommended guest house in Kempton Park situated in a quiet, peaceful area north-east of Johannesburg, which offers superior comfort and service. Our Guesthouse is centrally situated and is a superb base for enjoying Gauteng and exploring the rest of South Africa. It is only 4km from O.R Tambo International Airport, and 10 minutes from either the Festival Mall in Kempton Park or East Rand Mall in Boksburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sunrock Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrock Guesthouse Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing