We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, reliable, nice people”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sunrock Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunrock Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Quebec
1 review
“Clean, reliable, nice people”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

You can rely on Sunrock to pick you up at the airport with their free shuttle service - the rooms have individual entrances with patio doors and they are comfortable, clean and well-equipped. Perfect for an airport layover. The staff are very kind and helpful and the included breakfast was bountiful and delicious. Even though it is close to the airport, it is very quiet for sleeping.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    814
    405
    54
    4
    7
See reviews for
302
413
236
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

I just returned from a bird watching tour/safari through out Eastern South Africa and needed a place to stay the day I arrived and the day I was to leave South Africa. The tour company I used recommended the Sunrock Guesthouse as it was close to the airport. I found the staff to be super friendly and helpful and the free breakfast was a plus. There was also free pick up and return transportation to the airport and dinner could be purchased for a nominal fee. The place is not huge (like a big hotel) so the feeling if much more laid back with a small patio where one can relax. Great for one day stopover. No problem with the two little dogs that roam the residence. They have bird feeders at the front and rear of the property and a small pool as well. I would use this place again when traveling through Johannesburg.

Room Tip: All rooms are ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We only had two nights in Johnnesburg and one stopover. Sunrock was really great in making our stay great and hassle free.

First night: arrived early evening, we took the free shuttle to the guesthouse, checked in, and immediately went out with a guide and car recommended by Sunrock so we were still able to have one night out, go see the local scene, and be in safe hands of course.

Stopover: we stopped over again in J'burg for a layover to Botswana. The Safari would only take small bags so what would we do with our luggage? Sunrock was nice enough (for a friendly fee) pick our our big luggage and store it for us until our return.

Last night: We arrived in the morning and had a full day out and evening by a local driver/ guide. (note: the second guide we got we coursed through the first guide and not through the guest house without thinking and not meaning to divert from the guesthouse and the guide was not as good, bad car and bad directions - make sure to have the guesthouse make the arrangements!) So again, we were able to go around J'berg for a day and safely go around in the evening.

All the staff we met were nice. The owners I think are a family who run the place together. They were very friendly and were very helpful in all that we needed. I would recommend the Sunrock Guest House to any of my friends who would be passing through Johannesburg and need simple yet nice accommodations.

Also knowing the reputation of J'burg I must say that we always felt safe with the recommended guide and while in the Guest house. They seem to have good security on the premises as well.

Room Tip: The first room we got was quite small and the toilet was ok - the second night we stayed there they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mlsoong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Close to airport . Friendly people. They c were very attentive. Area not one for roaming around, it seemed to me, but if you a looking for a shortish stay.
Be aware though, that they have a couple of dogs that wander in and out . If you are not into dogs, this is not for you.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank TheDiver2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arusha, Tanzania
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

We enjoyed the atmosphere of Sunrock Guest House. It is in a great location and felt that it was very friendly to families. We liked the dinner served at a reasonable price and the nice indoor and outdoor area to hang around in. Next time we travel through Jo'burg we intend to stay two nights instead of just one.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Joanna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Our stay at Sunrock guest house was one of the best I have done while on holiday. We felt very welcomed right from the airport where we were met by the guest house proprietors. They were there before time and patiently waited for our flight to arrive and us to go through the customs check. They are a wonderful couple! The staff is also professional and very kind and useful. The guest house is very well kept, excellently clean rooms, fresh linen, and beautiful grounds. The breakfasts and the dinners were exhilerating and we loved the "honesty bar" concept. The guest house is very near the aiport and also near to the Gautrain station from where one can reach many intresting places to visit. The guest house also offers drop offs at nearby malls which is very nice. I would recommend Sunrock guest house to anyone looking for a comfy, homely, and quiet stay that is worth the cost. We truly enjoyed our stay!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Wendy Achieng A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

My fault but did not realize Sunrock was not a hotel but more a B&B. Owner drove the pickup van and entire family tried hard to accomodate us well. Went through a rough area with most houses and businesses surrounded by barbed wire and security fences. A bit of a shock for us from the US. Property was quite old and like a one level older motel but had been maintained well. Room was adequate and enjoyed their home cooked dinner meal. All was okay and someone on budget or personal business would do okay staying here. Only there one night and on with our trip.
Thanks!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank William B. S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,934 reviews
1.6 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
1.6 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
0.6 mi away
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
#12 of 26 in Kempton Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
1.5 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrock Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrock Guesthouse

Property: Sunrock Guesthouse
Address: 11 Park Street, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrock Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrock Guesthouse is a highly recommended guest house in Kempton Park situated in a quiet, peaceful area north-east of Johannesburg, which offers superior comfort and service. Our Guesthouse is centrally situated and is a superb base for enjoying Gauteng and exploring the rest of South Africa. It is only 4km from O.R Tambo International Airport, and 10 minutes from either the Festival Mall in Kempton Park or East Rand Mall in Boksburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunrock Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrock Guesthouse Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing