We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sunrock Guesthouse
Nearby Hotels
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$358
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$483
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$235
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$194
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$236
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,483)
Filter reviews
1,483 results
Traveller rating
934
471
63
5
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
934
471
63
5
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclose to the airportguest houseother guestsone nightexcellent place to staynext morningtrain stationhonesty barairport pickupfelt very safenice poolan oasislong flightswimming poolbuffet dinnerjo burghome away from home
Filter
Updating list...
822 - 827 of 1,483 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at Sunrock for a 1 night layover at JNB. Their shuttle was waiting for us upon arrival, and we were in our room within minutes. The staff is incredibly friendly and attentive, and the food was tasty and plentiful. This is less of a hotel and more like staying with friends! Thank you for the wonderful introduction to South African hospitality!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

In contrast to the uninteresting and rather sketchy looking neighborhood, the B&B is a safe haven with its massive sliding metal gate and security. It is close by the airport in an industrial part of town, not walkable to anywhere. But the owners make it easy to get around by providing a driver and themselves to drive us to and fro for reasonable fees. The beautiful grounds is a mini tropical oasis around a swimming pool. The owners are in the process of rebuilding an entertaining area that will certainly add more appeal to the outdoor space. The rooms are clean and quiet, beds comfortable. The staff and owners are all very friendly. Food good - nice to have big breakfast spread and eggs cooked to order. We stayed there one night each before and after a safari at Kruger national park and it was very convenient as the tour operator picked us up there. Even though we had checked out in the morning before a day trip into Johannesburg, at the end of the day, the owner picked us up at the rail station with our bags and took us to the airport.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Homesteader1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Sunrock is a fantastic value for a short stay in Johannesburg near the airport. I arrived early in the morning after a long flight from the United Kingdom and Louis, a superb driver from Sunrock, was there to greet me immediately upon exiting the airport. The room itself was very comfortable, clean, and well-maintained. Ina was a fanstastic host, and offered plenty of guidance about making my way around Johannesburg and onward to my safari lodge in Hoedspruit. The food was also fantastic, and convenient considering I didn't have a whole lot of time to explore Johannesburg and find a restaurant. They went above and beyond their duty to assist me in every way possible and I highly recommend Sunrock for a short trip to Johannesburg.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VJ_20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We arrived after two long flights from the U.S. To Johannesberg. We were met just outside of customs by Louis, who brought us to a lovely, quiet comfortable room. The bath was clean and well stocked, the shower had great hot water and a very strong spray (we hate wimpy showers). The next morning we had a great breakfast, prepared eggs, and a buffet with sausage, bacon, beans, cereals, fruit, juices, breads and more. The staff were attentive and very pleasant. We were then shuttled back to the airport quickly and brought to the right place for us to continue our journey. I can think of nothing lacking from Sunrock- except the parrot seen in older pictures, no longer resides there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mamnnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Everyone friendly and reception efficient, felt safe even though I was travelling alone, what you got for your money was fine, rooms clean albeit small and the dining room served adequate breakfasts and dinners etc. Bar area being built while I was there so should be even better in the next few weeks. Just ten mins from airport so nice and handy. Thank you Jill, Lanzarote May 2014.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gillian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews