We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great bed, free internet, good food and a friendly host - all you want”
Review of Sunrock Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunrock Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A great bed, free internet, good food and a friendly host - all you want”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This trip was my first stay there and 6 days later, my second stay. I was very pleased. They had reservations ready, quick pick-up from JNB (5 minutes away), clean room and a very friendly staff. On the second stay, we also ate there and had an excellent braai (South African barbeque). The owners of this guesthouse were extremely helpful with any request. For an overnight stay when flying in or flying out, this is a great value.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buddy4344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    845
    416
    56
    5
    8
See reviews for
314
422
245
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed at Sunrock on May 3rd at the beginning of our holiday and at the end on May 23rd as we needed to visit elderly relatives in Pretoria both times. Ina, Heather and Ilze were really friendly and helpful especially with arranging a safe and reliable taxi driver, Rocky, to take us to Pretoria and return us safely and reliably.
When we landed at OR Tambo Intl and Sunrock were there to meet us with the board with our name up which was easy for us to find. We were taken back to a wonderful place, the room was free too so we could dump our stuff and leave. The room was large and comfortable and the beds were really lovely. The room was very clean as were the bed linen and bathroom as you would expect. We had dinner there along with drinks from the honesty bar. It felt like we were staying with family as everyone was really friendly and the food was plentiful and very good. It was all very reasonably priced too and a great idea as we did not want to venture out in Jo'burg of an evening, so it is great that they provide a dinner.
We were taken to the airport early the next morning but luckily the staff allowed us in a little earlier for breakfast which was really great of them.
On the 23rd we had booked a family room and this room was great for what we required. Again the rooms were large and comfortable and clean. The evening dinner was great. The staff were just as friendly as the first time and the place was safe. I felt theta Sunrock had a really happy and friendly vibe to it. I was worried about security before I went there, but need not have been as Sunrock was very safe and secure, with a reliable service in collecting people and taking them to/from the airport.
We booked this last minute too as we had been let down by our family, so it was the real find of the holiday, with friendly, happy and helpful staff. I would thoroughly recommend staying here and I do hope to return to see the new eating/relaxing area which was being built when we were there.
A great place and a big thank you to all the staff for making our holiday start and end with happy, smiling and curteous people which really sums up South Africa.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hooxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigfork, Montana
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My wife and I were very favorably impressed with our interactions with the people at the Sunrock Guesthouse, from the pre-arrival emails, to the complimentary transfer to our Overseas Adventure Travel meeting place. Since this was our first trip to Johannesburg, it was very reassuring for us to spot the driver from the Sunrock Guesthouse, waiting for us when we cleared the baggage claim area at the airport. The greeting at the Guesthouse was very friendly, and we enjoyed a delicious dinner before retiring to a comfortable room. Breakfast the following morning was equally satisfying, and we would definitely recommend this facility to anyone traveling to Johannesburg.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank blacksandedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at Sunrock for a 1 night layover at JNB. Their shuttle was waiting for us upon arrival, and we were in our room within minutes. The staff is incredibly friendly and attentive, and the food was tasty and plentiful. This is less of a hotel and more like staying with friends! Thank you for the wonderful introduction to South African hospitality!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

In contrast to the uninteresting and rather sketchy looking neighborhood, the B&B is a safe haven with its massive sliding metal gate and security. It is close by the airport in an industrial part of town, not walkable to anywhere. But the owners make it easy to get around by providing a driver and themselves to drive us to and fro for reasonable fees. The beautiful grounds is a mini tropical oasis around a swimming pool. The owners are in the process of rebuilding an entertaining area that will certainly add more appeal to the outdoor space. The rooms are clean and quiet, beds comfortable. The staff and owners are all very friendly. Food good - nice to have big breakfast spread and eggs cooked to order. We stayed there one night each before and after a safari at Kruger national park and it was very convenient as the tour operator picked us up there. Even though we had checked out in the morning before a day trip into Johannesburg, at the end of the day, the owner picked us up at the rail station with our bags and took us to the airport.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Homesteader1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Sunrock is a fantastic value for a short stay in Johannesburg near the airport. I arrived early in the morning after a long flight from the United Kingdom and Louis, a superb driver from Sunrock, was there to greet me immediately upon exiting the airport. The room itself was very comfortable, clean, and well-maintained. Ina was a fanstastic host, and offered plenty of guidance about making my way around Johannesburg and onward to my safari lodge in Hoedspruit. The food was also fantastic, and convenient considering I didn't have a whole lot of time to explore Johannesburg and find a restaurant. They went above and beyond their duty to assist me in every way possible and I highly recommend Sunrock for a short trip to Johannesburg.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VJ_20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We arrived after two long flights from the U.S. To Johannesberg. We were met just outside of customs by Louis, who brought us to a lovely, quiet comfortable room. The bath was clean and well stocked, the shower had great hot water and a very strong spray (we hate wimpy showers). The next morning we had a great breakfast, prepared eggs, and a buffet with sausage, bacon, beans, cereals, fruit, juices, breads and more. The staff were attentive and very pleasant. We were then shuttled back to the airport quickly and brought to the right place for us to continue our journey. I can think of nothing lacking from Sunrock- except the parrot seen in older pictures, no longer resides there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mamnnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,064 reviews
1.6 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
1.6 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
0.6 mi away
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
#11 of 26 in Kempton Park
530 reviews
1.5 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrock Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrock Guesthouse

Property: Sunrock Guesthouse
Address: 11 Park Street, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
#2 Best Value Hotel in Kempton Park
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrock Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrock Guesthouse is a highly recommended guest house in Kempton Park situated in a quiet, peaceful area north-east of Johannesburg, which offers superior comfort and service. Our Guesthouse is centrally situated and is a superb base for enjoying Gauteng and exploring the rest of South Africa. It is only 4km from O.R Tambo International Airport, and 10 minutes from either the Festival Mall in Kempton Park or East Rand Mall in Boksburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sunrock Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrock Guesthouse Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing