We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B ever!”
Review of Sunrock Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunrock Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We have stayed in the sunrock guesthouse many times and service just keeps getting better! They have dinner for an aditional price but it is fairloy cheap. The rooms are clean and tidy and neat. Very comfortable!

Room Tip: Any is good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miksa223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,450)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

750 - 756 of 1,450 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Amazingly nice people running a clean and comfortable guest house. Arthur and Ina were extremely accommodating to our requests, doing anything they can to make sure everything was perfect. Other highlights include a bed that was as comfortable as home and playing with the little dogs. Highly recommended.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank garyaY9476BH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We had a long layover so needed lodging for the night. The hotel driver was at the airport when we landed and took us directly to the clean, comfortable, well priced hotel. The staff is especially kind and helpful - I had to make a sudden trip to the ER and the owner drive me to the hospital and waited for my release. That alone is quite exceptional. They offer a home cooked dinner which is good and also reasonably priced.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Becky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Was very happy with Sunrock as a respite during my overnight layover between Washington DC and Lilongwe Malawi. Service was incredible - from the shuttle driver to the front desk. Lamb curry dinner was tasty!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bex201122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Very convenient to the airport. Enjoyed a lovely and reasonably priced dinner and a really delicious breakfast that was included in the price. The Bed and Breakfast is located in a compound with locked gates. We four ladies felt very safe.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Penelope042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed here for two nights in July and found it completely satisfactory and reasonably priced. Was driving so didn't make use of the airport pick-up service. Breakfast was hearty and dinner is offered. The dining and lounge area make you feel that you're staying at an Afrikaner home, with Biblical quotes in Afrikaans hanging on the walls and a large stuffed porcupine on the top of a bookcase. The girls who handled us were friendly and very competent, and the same goes for meal staff. It can get a bit chilly at night in July in J'burg, but the combination of an energy-efficient electrical heater or two in the room, warm covers, and a hot shower should satisfy all but the fussiest of guests.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank knickherboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

On the only previous occasion that we had to stay at Oliver Tambo airport for an early morning flight we stayed at the Intercontinental and paid a fortune. After finding the Sunrock guesthouse we won't be doing that again.

We had driven nearly all day from the Kruger NP area and arrived at dusk after driving through a very rough industrial area near the airport. A large gate opened when we announced ourselves outside and after entering we were immediately welcomed by one of the 3 young ladies who were running the guesthouse.

Inside the gate was an informal, extremely friendly haven.with secure parking, nice rooms, an "honesty" bar and a dining room where all the guests eat together at the same time. For dog lovers who are missing their pets there is Sissi, a small terrier who jumps up on laps at the first invitation and the somewhat larger Fatty whose jumping days are probably over but who still likes being petted.

This guesthouse was so nice that we now know that we can plan future trips to South Africa with late night arrivals or early morning departures from Oliver Tambo and not have to worry about where we are going to stay.

Room Tip: The guesthouse is very close to the airport and there is occasional noise from evening and morning t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chris_R_Bath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 27 in Kempton Park
2,498 reviews
1.6 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
0.6 mi away
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
#11 of 27 in Kempton Park
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
1.7 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrock Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrock Guesthouse

Address: 11 Park Street, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range: £56 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrock Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrock Guesthouse is a highly recommended guest house in Kempton Park situated in a quiet, peaceful area north-east of Johannesburg, which offers superior comfort and service. Our Guesthouse is centrally situated and is a superb base for enjoying Gauteng and exploring the rest of South Africa. It is only 4km from O.R Tambo International Airport, and 10 minutes from either the Festival Mall in Kempton Park or East Rand Mall in Boksburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sunrock Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrock Guesthouse Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing