We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Terrylin Backpacker's Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This is the place to be....located near festival mall and the airport.aint nothing better....its also quiet and affordable.joy and steven are good people......also close to the gautrain bus which takes you to rodsfield gautrain station.i will always stay at terrylin.its like my 2nd home.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrylin, Owner at Terrylin Backpacker's Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you. Joseph, for your rating and review.

Steven and I always look forward to welcoming you at Terrylin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
There are newer reviews for Terrylin Backpacker's Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

Terrylin Backpackers is always our first choice when we have to come into Johannesburg for a trip. Rooms are really comfortable and has a homey feel to it. The house is kept very clean and tidy. Joy and Steven are very friendly and always willing to help with directions or whatever else you might need. If you want a good nights rest and be close to all the important transportation hubs in the Johannesburg area, then Terrylin is a very good stop over.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MilanieBekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrylin, Front Office Manager at Terrylin Backpacker's Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you, Milanie, for your lovely review and rating.

Steven and I always look forward to you welcoming you at Terrylin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Nothing better than finding a place that reminds you of home. Not once did I feel like I was in a stiff ennvironment generally associated with hotels and BnBs. Joy and Steven are awesome company and extremely friendly. Always willing to help out if and when the need arises.

Thanks for an amazing night. You gave me exactly what I needed. A nice cosy place to rest my head and charge my beloved cellphone.

Until I visit again

Azhar

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Azhar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrylin, Owner at Terrylin Backpacker's Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you, Azhar, for your wonderful review. Steven and I are very pleased that you enjoyed your overnight stay at Terrylin.

We wish you all the best for your audition - you will be a winner.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I spent a night here with my young son before going to the airport the next morning. It is very convenient. The accommodation is very basic, but clean and comfortable in a quiet situation. The people were very friendly. A good overnight stop at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrylin, Owner at Terrylin Backpacker's Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you Alan for your lovely review - It was really a pleasure having you here.

All the best to you and Sihle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

This is the best accommodation experience in SA. We are pax of four from China who stay in backpackers mostly. Terrylin is like home. It's clean, cozily decorated, with beautiful garden and even a pool. The common shower rooms are so big and clean that we use comfortably. The host will arrange anything nice and neat as long as you request. It's located in neibourhood only 10 min drive from the airport, we think it's a best location to stay for Johannesberg.Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T0nywj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrylin, Owner at Terrylin Backpacker's Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you, Tony, for your excellent review and rating.

It was a pleasure to have you here and we are happy you enjoyed your stay.

All the best,
Steven and Joy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

After a long trip I got to Terrylin and felt completely at home!
I was pleasantly surprised! Very comfortable place, Fully equipped, quiet and great facilities!
I stayed in the Double room with private ensuite, the room was very clean, nice and warm
Almost did not want to leave it! :)
The staff was very welcoming and helpful at all issues food, tours and transfers.
Loved it!
Not expensive, suitable for families, couples and backpackers!
Def will come back on my next stay in Jo'burg :)

(The room is very neat, just on the picture my stuff is laying around everywhere)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evelyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrylin, Owner at Terrylin Backpacker's Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you, Evelyn, for your wonderful review and rating.

I hope we see you again if you return to South Africa to study.

All the very best.

Steven and Joy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I stayed here on my own once s well as with 5 members of my family onan other. We were all very happy. The place is undoubtedly clean, Joyce and steeve are very helpful. Arrangements can be made easily for a taxi which, beeing this close to the airport, is quite convenient. I definitely recommend this guesthouse! !

Room Tip: All rooms are good. There are no dorms for individual travellers i think but the twin room is cheap!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alain j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrylin, Owner at Terrylin Backpacker's Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Thank you, Alain, for your great review. It was really a pleasure having you and your family here.

Also, thank you for the Belgian chocolate you gave me. I really enjoyed this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,197 reviews
0.9 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
0.9 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
0.7 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#2 of 26 in Kempton Park
1,366 reviews
1.1 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terrylin Backpacker's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrylin Backpacker's Hostel

Address: 2 Halifax Street | Rhodesfield, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Kempton Park
Price Range: £27 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Terrylin Backpacker's Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terrylin for Travellers has a three star rating and is a mere 10 minutes drive from O R Tambo (Johannesburg) Airport, and within walking distance to the Gautrain station. There is a bus stop around the corner on weekdays. A supermarket is nearby, and two upmarket hotels are in the next street. Located in a quiet and peaceful neighbourhood, Terrylin offers dorm, twin, double and family room accommodation.The dorm and twin rooms have communal bathrooms and showers. The dorm room has 3 bunk beds with night lights above each bed. All linen, including towels, is provided.The double room has a double bed, TV and en-suite shower. The family room has a queen-size bed and a bunk bed, with a TV and en-suite bathroom with a shower over the bath. All the rooms have heaters and fans and the twin, double and main bed in the family room have electric blankets. Children over the ages of 14 years are welcome. There is a communal lounge, kitchen, laundry and dining area. A sparkling swimming pool is in the large, well-established garden. Spanish bars and security gates offer added protection, although the area is very safe and secure. Visa, Master and Amex cards are accepted. A bedroom key deposit of R150 is fully refundable on your departure. Tours of Johannesburg, Soweto and Pretoria can be arranged.Please note that Terrylin is open from 14h00 and closes at midnight. The check-out time is 10h00. Steven and Joy will do all they can to make your stay a memorable one in a homely environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Terrylin Backpacker's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing