We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Convenient location”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed here as we needed a one night stop over between Cape Town and our next location, the rooms are lovely and cleans well equipped with a lovely double bath so perfect for relaxing in after a hard day. the restaurant staff seem quite short tempered which was a shame and really the only let down when it came to this hotel. Front of house staff however were very courteous and helpful and even gave us a muffin on check out.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToriaEmily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    616
    158
    31
    18
See reviews for
143
335
132
368
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint-Denis, Reunion Island
Level Contributor
87 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

If you need a hotel close to the airport you can't do better than this - it's just a short walk from the terminals - you can walk right to the lift (elevator) with your luggage trolley. Considering how close it is to the airport there's surprising little aircraft noise. We only stayed one night. The room was comfortable, service was fairly efficient. Unfortunately wifi is not free for more than 15 minutes.
The only thing that I was really not happy about was the chambermaid who knocked at our door at 7:45am asking when she could clean our room while holding the list on which it very likely said that we were checking out later that morning. Admittedly we hadn't put the "do not disturb" sign on the door, but we hadn't put the "please clean our room" sign on the door either. We were already awake, but if we'd been more jet-lagged we would very likely have been still fast asleep at that time of day.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank champac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel - sorry about the "chamber maid."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
55 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

A perfect overnighter. The hotel was easy to get to and relatively quiet. The room was clean and the bed/ pillows were comfortable. The check in was very efficient at 2 minutes. The breakfast was good with variety, and fresh fruit and a hot meal if wanted all served in a nice quiet area.
They do charge for WiFi!
You can use the airport luggage carrier to take your bags to the hotel elevator.

All these things make it ideal to stay overnight.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Thank you for your kind review of our hotel - we hope to welcome you as a guest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, MI
Level Contributor
150 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

If you are looking for a luxury hotel, don't stay here. If you are looking for a clean hotel to crash at between flights, this is the hotel for you! This hotel is roughly a 10 minute walk through the airport terminal. You never have to go outside! The rooms are spartan - no frills, but not terrible. Our bed was comfortable and the shower, although small, had adequate pressure and hot water. We got free wifi for the first 30 minutes. After that, it was available for a small charge. We didn't eat at the hotel, but there was a restaurant. The room had a kettle and tea/coffee. My only complaint was that the room didn't have a blow dryer. I believe the room was even equipped with european and american plugs. Not a bad option for those with a late evening/early morning flight! Book online for even cheaper rates!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lhaganmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Thank you so much for your review - we hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
156 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

An ideal stopover to catch an early am flight - if you don't trust the Gautrain 2 days ago passengers were such for an hour and a half en route to OR Tambo Airport. Ideally situated between the international and domestic terminals. A comfortable clean room for a 1 nighter.Simple Restuaran for a light supper and a buffet breakfast. Good value at R1000 for a single.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, 12 May 2013
Thank you for your comments - we hope to sse again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly Hills, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

After visiting Cape Town, we had a mid-morning flight from Johannesburg to Europe. Instead of taking a very early flight from Cape Town and risking a missed connection, we decided to fly to Joburg the night before, especially when we saw that City Lodge is at the airport. And what a great decision it was! The hotel was very easy to find from the domestic terminal – just look up and follow the signs. After a five minute walk and elevator ride, you arrive in the lobby. We booked and pre paid in advance to get a better rate. The room was average size, but had everything needed for an overnight stay – comfortable bed, roomy bathroom and good shower, coffee/tea pot. At check out, there were little bags with complimentary muffins to go – they were yummy. The only thing we didn’t like was the charge for Internet – only the first 15 minutes are free. For a quick overnight at the Johannesburg airport, City Lodge is the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoriBarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Thanks for your comments about our hotel - alas, broadband is still an issue in South Africa, but wifi will become cheaper and more accessible over time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

I've stayed at the City Lodge at O.R. Tambo several times, usually to overnight to catch an early morning connecting flight, or before beginning some work in Johannesburg. This City Lodge is a bit more expensive than some of the other City Lodge properties close by, but the convenience to the airport makes it worth it. There is 15 minutes free internet access, and additional access is reasonable. The connection is steady and good. The rooms are always very clean, excellent and very friendly service. Booking is easy through the City Lodge website. Restaurant is ok, nothing spectacular, but there's always a nice variety of food just over at the airport. I'd definitely recommend this to others, and will also stay here again in the future. The hotel has a small exercise room/gym. It's not much but able to get in a brief workout.

Room Tip: I usually get a room on the upper floors, I just enjoy the view of the airport. Despite being so cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, 5 May 2013
Thank you for your comments - we hope to welcome you again soon as a guest at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.7 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,983 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Transit
Protea Hotel by Marriott Transit
#15 of 26 in Kempton Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.5 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Property: City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Address: Above Multi-Storey Parkade 2, Level 5 | OR Tambo International Airport, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kempton Park
#6 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
#6 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based at Africa’s busiest airport, City Lodge at OR Tambo Airport will provide business and leisure travellers with “home away from home” accommodation that is ideal for those commuting to and from Johannesburg and perfect for those who require immediate access to the airport. OR Tambo Airport offers a number of services from banking to a wide range of retailers, so whether it’s a good book or a scrumptious meal, the airport’s facilities have everything you need. The hotel boasts boardroom and conference facilities, a fitness room as well as a deck with a pool and a large commercial area with a coffee shop. Rooms • Spacious air-conditioned room with queen or twin beds • Flat screen Television (MNet and DSTV) – Satellite channels offering exciting sport, breaking news and great movies. • En-Suite Bathroom with bath and separate shower. • Tea and coffee making facilities • Wireless Internet Access available in all rooms • Electronic safe large enough to accommodate a laptop • Desk with great lighting and plugs for easy connectivity • Telephone Breakfast: At City Lodge our breakfasts are legendary. Choose between a scrumptious Full English or Continental breakfast (buffet style) in the hotel’s spacious breakfast area. Coffee Shop: City Lodge at OR Tambo Airport will have a coffee shop offering guests a comprehensive menu with hot and cold food choices ranging from salads, to wraps, to tremazzinis all the way to hearty soups. Bar: The hotel boasts a comfortable bar to enjoy the evening or wait for your next flight. Facilities • Boardroom Facilities – Roadlodge, our 8 Seater Meeting Room and Townlodge, our 12 seater Boardroom - includes flat screen television with laptop connectivity and wireless internet access. • Conference Facility – Courtyard A, seats 22 people. Courtyard B seats 24 people, combined with the option to be shared to create one room – seats up to 46 people. • Safe and secure underground parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, South African Hotels, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge Or Tambo Airport Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing